We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tirimbina Lodge

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tirimbina Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Middlesex, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet, great location, friendly staff. We had a lap top and iPad stolen out of our room. Only options were either someone came in thru unlocked window or cleaning staff walked away with the them. Manager promised to reimburse and never followed through when we returned home.

Helpful?
Thank CEM05602
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Tirimbina is a working research station and has amazing rainforest that you can walk around without a guide. You can spend at least 3 hours looking at the beautiful scenery and the amazing wildlife. Unfortunately that was the highlight. Accommodation is basic but adequate although the rooms are now dated and in need of a little work. For example the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgie l
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the comments, it helps us improve, we are going to check the info you gave us and if there is something to fix we'll definitely do it. We're very sorry for the inconveniences. Hope you have a great trip. Greetings from Tirimbina! More 

soleil2jours
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

I wasn't expecting a lot, so fortunately wasn't too disappointed. I had read the reviews and seen the pictures, so I knew it would be a fairly basic room - and it was. The disappointment was the reserve itself. Given that it is off the well-beaten tourist path, I thought it would be bursting with wildlife. We did see several... More 

Helpful?
Thank soleil2jours
Monchengladbach, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

We went there for a visit of the plantation and it was so much more. We saw and tasted the whole process and developement of cocoa and chocolate production. It was so informative and delicious and a lot of fun. Steven the guide knew everything about it. His English is brillant and the explanation very clear

Helpful?
Thank mweyer2016
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate it. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again soon. Greetings from Tirimbina! More 

Bow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

We spent two days here with a group of high school students. The bat tour was interesting and helped people overcome their fears of bats. We were able to see bats up close and even pet one! The next day, we hiked the trails with our guide and learned so much about the flora and fauna. We also conquered our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mwestman11
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi!! Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

The accommodation is acceptable, clean, with hot showers and the self service style breakfast is good. The main attraction is the suspension bridge and forest walks beyond. Staff very helpful. Safe car parking area.

Helpful?
Thank CJL6
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
457 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

We did a chocolate educational tour which was out standing. They showed us how chocolate is made from the growing of cocoa trees to making chocolate. We tasted each step and saw how it was made. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi!! Thank you very much for sharing your awesome experience with us. We're glad you had a great time at the Chocolate Tour and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

The Tirimbina Lodge is more about location than amenities, but that's a good thing! When staying at the Hotel you have great access to the Hanging bridges and rain forest that sits at the back of the property. I would go as far as saying you have nearly private access, as the time we spent their we only saw 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smplysublime213
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi!! Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

Our guide Carolina and Theresa were lovely. We felt informed and entertained by their stories and history. Loved the tastings and nibbles of chocolate. Ab enjoyable forest walk and river crossing over a suspension bridge added to the fun. A bit expensive though at US$80 for 2 adults and I child.

Helpful?
Thank June C
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hi!! Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us. We're glad you had a great time here and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

We didn't stay here. We stayed at Selva Verde Lodge. But we did do the chocolate tour which was great and interactive and we saw a lot of wildlife on the walk including a pit viper. The bat tour was also great but didn't seem popular. The guide was very enthusiastic and we were able to see bats they caught... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
Reserva_Tirimbina, Guest Relations Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review

Hello!! Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you had a great time at the tours and hope to see you again. Greetings from Tirimbina Rainforest Center! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
6.2 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
20.7 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Tapada
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Pedacito de Cielo Eco Lodge
2.1 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiqui River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 Acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Address: La Virgen, Sarapiqui, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Price Range: $57 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirimbina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen
Tirimbina Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay