We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Wallawwa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wallawwa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 739: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stopped in this hotel for one night after a long plane journey from London as it is half an hour from the airport. It is a great hotel with lovely staff. Very nice rooms (nice big bathroom and bed) and nice pool so good for chill out. We had treatments in the spa. Great curry and breakfast too.

Helpful?
Thank jessicahelent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Somehow we found ourselves in the Mountbatten Suite, which was very nice indeed. Lovely pools, both the main one and our private one. Food good. Service excellent. It is rude to criticise such a sumptuous suite, but the bath is impossible to fill unless you are staying for a few days. You could swim laps in it. We had this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only a short drive from the airport, The Wallawwa made for a wonderful stop for our first 2 nights in Sri Lanka to recover from the flight. We booked the Mountbatten Suite, highly recommended for families with it's private little garden and pool, although the main pool area was really lovely too. Wonderful food, all freshly prepared so it takes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shawfamily5
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in The Wallawwa twice, at the beginning and end of a trip travelling around Sri Lanka. The room was large, beautifully furnished and very clean. The bed was also very comfortable! All of the staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly on both occasions. The restaurant was a gem - breakfast involves fresh fruit, tea/coffee, juice, toast and pastries... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A fantastic stay. A hideaway with a great 'feel' and vibe. Highly attentive staff with great service and food. A clean, well maintained property in a beautiful secluded setting. Close to the airport which is an added bonus in Sri Lanka. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenREdwards
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, attentive staff, brilliant family room with huge bathrooms and brilliant design. The main reason i havent given it 5 is because we were only here for one night and its difficult to judge any consistancy. i would recommend to stay here but i would also recommend getting a 3 hour journey out of your way and getting on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MJPR
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for one night at the Wallawwa at the end of our journey. Being able to compare it to other newer hotels in Sri Lanka, I can honestly say that this not worth its money. Rooms look like they were great 5 years ago, nice but nothing special, some details like aircondition and mosquito net look outdated. Walls... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivylicious
Teardrop_Hotels, Guest Relations & Operations at The Wallawwa, responded to this review

Dear ivylicious, Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor. We are, however, extremely disappointed to receive 2 out of 5 from yourself and your partner (in the other review) as it is always our intention to ensure no guest is ever dissatisfied. If you had voiced your concerns during your stay we would be more than happy to have... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Wallawwa for one night in August 2016. The first impression was a nice, cosy, well decorated boutique hotel with friendly staff. The room was nice and clean, but nothing special. Let's talk about the restaurant everyone is raving about: I was deeply disappointed about the food options... Reading the menu made me feel like being in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Traveller957
Teardrop_Hotels, Guest Relations & Operations at The Wallawwa, responded to this review

Dear Kiwi_Traveller957, Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor. We are, however, extremely disappointed to receive 2 out of 5 from yourself and your partner (in the other review) as it is always our intention to ensure no guest is ever dissatisfied. If you had voiced your concerns during your stay we would be more than happy to have... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to start your Sri Lankan holiday close to the airport but feels like a million miles away. This boutique hotel is peaceful & beautiful. The pool area is lovely. Rooms are spacious & well appointed. We had a great dinner & breakfast was arranged for our early departure. Highly recommend you start/finish your trip here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful hotel - and you can't help but emerge from it rested and refreshed. The gardens are lush and tranquil. The food is excellent - not trying too hard, just prepared with great care and skill..... The rooms are comfortable and calm, with a private garden and small private pool; and the staff give the impression that... More 

Helpful?
Thank alpanticipation
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

431 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (422)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
17.5 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#11 of 46 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 35 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#3 of 46 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#7 of 35 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda 11390, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Price Range: $209 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay