We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aspiring Court Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aspiring Court Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was OK, nothing to write home about. Would have been better if the TV was visable from the double bed. The message to wash up after oneself or be charged extra was not appealing. The room was looking a little tired & could have done with a makeover.

Thank Anne S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Affordable place for campervans. Kids stay for free. Has also motel rooms. The kitchen and lounge facility is nice and clean. There's a big lounge area to gather in front of a fireplace. There's also a small convenience store to get some essentials if needed. Showers are a bit challenging as they are coin operated and during winter you would... More 

Thank ewelee
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016

Haast is a small town not far from the Franz Joseph Glacier where we stopped for the night on our South Island Holiday. It isn't much to look at, but it is on nice grounds and the rooms are big and have kitchenettes. When we entered the lobby we saw that they had canned goods on a table behind the... More 

Thank yummyrib
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2016

We arrived in Haast on a grey and misty Sunday afternoon. kind of summed up what lay ahead. Reception was unmanned with a note about reopening time. We returned later to have our intial thoughts confirmed. Now this room was just acceptable. It felt like it needed updating and in need of TLC. It just didnt match any of the... More 

1 Thank Gary M

Travelers are raving about these Haast hotels

Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2016

A quiet and pleasant motel with a large room area and warm and beds, both a single and double bed. Suitable furniture and small table for meals. The room has a flat screen TV with reasonable programming, a microwave and necessary eating equipment. The room is wheel chair friendly with a very spacious bathroom. Reception was very friendly and booked... More 

1 Thank Ted D
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2016

Not much in the way of personnel service that I have found in most NZ motels pretty much here's the key get on with it. Again the bed was comfortable and the shower worked well. No free Wi-Fi or mobile signal but were offered it at a charge. Good enough for a nights stay.

1 Thank barbelbasher
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with accommodation .Faded furnishings .Damaged kitchen equipment and shower .Had booked a studio but given a 5 bedded backpackers room at the rear .No phone signal and no way of contacting receptionist an emergency .No smoke detector .

Thank Valerieanne53
haastlodge, Manager at Aspiring Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, you were given a larger one bedroom family unit with the same configuration as a studio with the exception of the extra room attached to it. It was not a backpacker room as you stated. We are located in a remote area and don't have access to all the services that cities do. Reception can... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2016

Honestly, just drive through Haast. But if you do stop, this is a serviceable motel. The suite was clean, but dingy. Great staff. Slow internet with only 200 mb and 6 channels. It's not a place in which you feel comfortable or really want to take your shoes off in. There's much more choice in Franz Josef if you can... More 

Thank Erica C
Caddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2016

Having stayed at 13 different places during our NZ holiday, most privately-owned, this was part of a chain and felt it. The staff were just 'doing their job' rather than being really welcoming. The site was also used for camping and maybe this led to it having a rather institutional feel - on the entering the apartment the first thing... More 

Thank John N
Level Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2016

Knowing that Haast is not the centre of the universe we were fearing a very basic night but the motel proved to be very acceptable. The welcome was warm, the service efficient, the room spacious and well equipped with good parking and an outside eating area It is an easy stroll to the Hard Antler restaurant

Thank voyagerSussex
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (12)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haast
1.6 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.4 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makarora Tourist Centre
Makarora Tourist Centre
#1 of 3 in Makarora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located halfway between the resort town of Queenstown to the south and the Glaciers to the north. Our motels are nestled in the Haast Township and are within easy walking distance to iconic Hard Antler bar and restaurant and shops. We offer quality 3+stars Quality Asure rated queen studio and family rooms with kitchen and ensuite. All of our unit are at ground level and located off the street facing gardens and afternoon sun. Local beach and forest walk and scenic Jackson Bay are just an easy drive from here. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aspiring Court Motel

Address: Marks Road | South Westland, Haast 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Price Range: $81 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aspiring Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay