We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Eden Roc Ascona

via Albarelle 16, Ascona 6612 Switzerland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (374)
Room & Suite (139)
Dining (50)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Updated 02/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#4 of 30 hotels in Ascona
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage chair
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
753Reviews0Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 623
  • 98
  • 17
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JonathanSwitzerland wrote a review Apr 2021
Geneva, Switzerland64 contributions64 helpful votes
I was recommended this hotel by a friend and was in desperate need of some rest and relaxation. As soon as I arrived at the Eden Roc I knew I had indeed come to the right place to recharge my batteries, the welcome was first class and the attention to detail extremely high. An example, I had forgotten my swimming goggles, within 5 minutes of informing the man in the spa he has brought me a pair which I was obviously not expecting. I should also mention the food, stunning pools, breathtaking location and friendly staff. Verena in particular was exceptionally professional, she treated me as if I was a guest in her own home. I'll be back with my family next time. Thank you for this wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the lake
See more room tips
Response from Simon Spiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jonathan, thank you very much for having taken the time to valuate our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time and that you could get new life energy during your stay at the Hotel Eden Roc. We strive at all times to do everything possible to ensure that your stay fulfills your wishes and please be assured that I have passed your kind words to the team and especially to the Spa and Verena who made this experience exceptional. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you and to meet your family in the near future. With kind regards, Simon Spiller General Manager
Read more
duduvoyage wrote a review Apr 2021
Geneva39 contributions21 helpful votes
Service is extremely good. The staff does care, from the concierge, housekeeping staff, maîtres d’hôtel ... service is top notch Location is perfect in the beautiful village of Ascona. Great lawns with sunloungers overlooking the lake. The junior suite we had was renovated : sleek with a beautiful bathroom, wooden floor. The quality of the food is phenomenal. I particularly like the ´´moving mountains ‘´ concept with an emphasis on healthy products. It is true that some parts of the hotel could need an upgrade (lobby for example) Last but not least, congratulations to the florists! I loved the intimate resort-like feeling ... booked for next month !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Simon Spiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your taking the time to share such an wonderful experience with us on Trip Advisor. What a happiness to read that you have enjoyed the renovated junior suite, our service and especially our "Mouving Mountain" concept. It is true that our florists create such beautiful flower arrangements. Be assured that your kind and encouraging words were shared with the whole team and they were keenly thanked. Looking very much forward to welcoming you back among us. Yours sincerely, Simon Spiller General Manager
Read more
GlobalNomad68 wrote a review Apr 2021
Zurich, Switzerland56 contributions57 helpful votes
Don’t get the score of 4/5 wrong. I only give 5/5 for impeccable experiences. This is a great hotel with generally friendly and well-trained staff, although opinions and tastes probably vary on the pastel-colored deco with some eclectic choices of furniture....felt very 1980s despite newly renovated areas. This may reflect the typical clientele which are to a large extent return customers of older caliber or families. A few honorary mentions for a start: Both Roberto (Concierge) and Roberto (service at dining) were excellent at what they do. Attentive, curious, professional and efficient. Tanya the physiotherapist at Spa/massage was also very skilled. In general staff was attentive, polite and friendly. Room service breakfast was a massive disappointment. A total of three items were forgotten (that were confirmed in the written order) and portions were smaller than what I am used to in five star establishments. Had to call and chase down the order and by the time it arrived my spouse was already done with her breakfast. Cappuccino cups were not covered (with eg card board or cellophane) and hence delivered cold. One would think that a hotel at this level would have a quality control/double check physical slip filled by customer before releasing ? Also, housekeeping forgot to provide extra (firm) pillows despite confirming the request in writing prior to arrival. Upon later requesting the pillows at reception (specifically asking for firm pillows) we received small soft ones. The room (a comfort suite with lake view) was spacious and recently renovated with a large and very comfortable bathroom, shower etc. The air conditioning seems to be only an “air circulator” as it doesn’t cool the room below 23C which in a hot climate beach hotel is surprising. Maybe our cooling wasn’t working properly ? It’s also worth noticing that upon arrival in the room we received a complimentary bottle of Champagne (Roederer, not a Prosecco....) and had our Nespresso capsules frequently refilled. The main bar has a great selection of drinks (although beer selection could be better at a warm destination beach hotel) and the drinks are well prepared. The lawn, grounds and facilities are in impeccable condition. However the food in the main (half-board) restaurant was a partial disappointment. Some meals were simply tasteless (even vegan meals can use spices and herbs to provide flavor...). The “orientally inspired salmon” is better at IKEA. In fact, we believe the mustard-dill sauce may be sourced from there ? On the positive side, the restaurant allows meals to be mixed and matched from the menu and multiple desserts to be enjoyed ! A very fun and generous feature. The mezze plate at the Marina restaurant was uninspiring and the hummus plain awful while the Thai Beef Salad was addictively good & healthy/light. Unfortunately the restaurants La Casetta and La Brezza were closed during our stay. I have heard they are good (La Brezza in particular). One of the reasons for picking this hotel was the large spa (with sauna and hammam) with its treatments for him and her. However, after booking the room (granted, on relatively short notice) we were essentially told that everything was sold out until the morning of our departure. This is extremely disappointing since it was a key feature for choosing hotel (off-season, during a pandemic where there is very little else to do) and the cancellation policy didn’t allow for cancellation. In such cases, I feel that the hotel should proactively offer to customer (particularly if booked directly with hotel online) a discount/voucher or an option to cancel the stay. At least the hotel agreed to a late checkout at 13.30 to allow us to return to our rooms after treatments & sauna and before check out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Simon Spiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, First and foremost I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Eden Roc and for having taken the time to share your valuable comment on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that our Concierge Roberto as Roberto from the F&B Team and Tanya from the Spa could convince you with their professional, polite and attentive way. On behalf of them I would like to thank you for your kind words. Nevertheless I am deeply sorry to read that we were not able to fulfill your expectation in view of food and beverage, that the pillows were not provided as requested prior to arrival and that our Spa was booked out on several days. I apologize for the inconveniences caused. Be assured that the opinion of our guests is very important to us in order to constantly review our actions and to improve the quality of our service to provide a wonderful and pleasant visit to our guests. I took good note of the different observations you pointed out and will share them with my team. I very much hope that – despite the described, negative remarks – we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Hotel Eden Roc. Staying at your entire disposal, I remain, Yours sincerely Simon Spiller General Manager
Read more
Elisabeth wrote a review Mar 2021
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
Eden Roc is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting, right on the lake - an oasis of calm but also just a few steps into town. On arrival it's hard to believe anything could be more special than the beautiful view of the lake that the hotel enjoys. However, we soon discovered that the most special thing about the hotel is the team of people there who made our visit very memorable with their warm welcome and many thoughtful touches. Thank you all!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Simon Spiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for having stayed at the Hotel Eden Roc and for having taken the time to valuate our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful location and that our team was able to create such a memorable stay. Rest assured that your words of praise have been passed on to our collages. With my best regards, Simon Spiller Director
Read more
Debi W wrote a review Sep 2020
Geneva, Switzerland77 contributions23 helpful votes
When you arrive at the hotel you’ll be sure you’ve been scammed..but the simple unassuming exterior hides a very different, elegant and beautiful entrance with views directly over the water. Staff are faultless and every effort was taken to makes us feel safe and welcome with Covid. The spa treatments were wonderfully relaxing (thank you Sarah and Shona) and the restaurants were outstanding (reserve in advance!). Free minibar. Wonderfully nearby to the charming fishing village of Ascona. Unfortunately I hadn’t taken the time to check ‘room tips’ beforehand, and our bedroom and outside patio was directly alongside an open car park, so bear that in mind if you are placed in the marina section, and don’t assume that not taking a lake view room will offer an otherwise pleasant town or garden view. Small bathroom with a single basin, and a separate single sized bedroom. A gem of a hotel, but choose your room wisely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 1 in the Marina section if being alongside a car park would bother you, or if you like...
See more room tips
Response from Simon Spiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback, which we have already shared with our whole team. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us despite or rather with the omnipresent security measures. Also for us, the restrictions imposed by the Covid-19 regulations were not always easy to implement. Our guests should not only feel safe, but above all comfortable with us. On the other hand, I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room. We have taken your comments to heart and have already discussed them with our whole team. Nevertheless, I am pleased that you have otherwise enjoyed an all-round pleasant stay with us and that you have felt very comfortable in all areas of the hotel. And so I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. With sunny greetings from Ascona, S. Spiller General Manager
Read more
$437 - $1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
eden roc hotel
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of TicinoLake MaggioreAscona
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Eden Roc Ascona
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Nearby attractions include Lungolago Di Ascona (0.3 miles), Piazza G. Motta (0.4 miles), and Fondazione Monte Verita (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria da Ketty & Tommy, Antico Ristorante Borromeo, and Marina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Eden Roc Ascona have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Eden Roc Ascona offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Eden Roc Ascona located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ascona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Eden Roc Ascona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.