We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Collina, Ascona 6612 Switzerland
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$156
Expedia.com$258
Hotels.com$258
Travelocity$258
eDreams$156
Orbitz.com$258
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (210)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (22)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 31 hotels in Ascona
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0

See why so many travelers make Hotel Ascona their hotel of choice when visiting Ascona. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Rooms at Hotel Ascona provide a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Ascona guests have access to a concierge, room service, and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a pool and a lounge. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hotel Ascona.

Given the close proximity to Castelo Seeschloss (0.4 mi), guests of Hotel Ascona can easily experience one of Ascona's most popular landmarks.

While staying in Ascona, you can check out a popular wine bar like Enoteca La Cambüsa, which is serving up some great dishes.

Ascona is also home to Galleria Borgo, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Hotel Ascona.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Ascona as you experience all of the things Ascona has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Table tennis
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
575Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 266
  • 205
  • 66
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
caitrionalinehan wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland11 contributions30 helpful votes
We spent three nights at the Hotel Ascona. Upon our late arrival, we were “greeted” by what appeared to be a night porter. He did an extremely poor job of checking us in. We had to pay for the stay upon arrival which is okay, but when my partners card didn’t work the first and second time he made us feel like he didn’t believe we had any money in the account! It was quite uncomfortable. My partner tried to tell him that tapping the card wouldn’t work because it was way above the limit to tap, but the young man wouldn’t listen. In the end, he rang his supervisor who advised him to input the card details manually. Of course this worked. It wasn’t exactly the warm welcome we were hoping for. The room was nice and we can’t complain about the facilities at all. The pool is beautiful and the view is spectacular. Again, breakfast was lovely. Lots of choice. But the staff there were quite unfriendly again. No one greeting you or showing you to your seat. Which I think would be expected in a hotel of this standard. On our last night, we asked reception the book us a taxi for 8am the next morning to take us to Locarno train station. The same man who checked us in was behind the desk and he confirmed that it would be there for us. At 10 past 8 the next morning the taxi was still not there. My partner went back into reception to ask could they ring the taxi company to make sure someone was on the way. The woman at reception said she didn’t know what company the night porter had rung the night before. My partner replied that neither did he. She very sarcastically replied ‘Super!’ and proceeded to storm off with the phone. Eventually a taxi came but to say she was no help was an understatement. This hotel is lovely but the staff were a big let down. It left a bad taste in our mouth and I wouldn’t recommend Hotel Ascona to anyone because of our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lynn N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at Hotel Ascona for 6 nights while my husband attended a conference. The grounds were absolutley beautiful. The room was comfortable, clean and had a really nice view of the pool, and surrounding scenery - the lake and mountains - which I could not take my eyes from. The town is easily within walking distanace - food, shopping, whatever you desire. The whole town is captivating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We met the owners - who were delightful and gracious. Thhe food was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Biasca-Caroni Andrea, Owner at Hotel Ascona
Responded May 22, 2022
Dear Q5946MJiynnn, First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to read that the guest felt comfortable with us. We value it very much. Our hotel has a beautiful view of the whole Lake Maggiore which is of course enchanting even at dinner it is beautiful. Thank you veery much and we hope to see you soon again. kind regards
Read more
John Peter C wrote a review May 2022
Moosburg, Germany8 contributions
Wonderful location with very well kept garden. Rooms very clean and well appointed. My wife needs a special diet and this proved rather difficult. Breakfast is excellent. We can recommend this hotel for a stay in Ascona
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Biasca-Caroni Andrea, Owner at Hotel Ascona
Responded May 15, 2022
Dear John, thanks for your words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take the liberty please asking our restaurant staff next time for your wife about the special diet , our chef will prepare something for her. We hope for a future review thank you Your Ascona Team
Read more
Melodian wrote a review Nov 2021
Zurich18 contributions11 helpful votes
There are two 4 star hotels next to each other on the way to Monte Verita in Ascona: Hotel Ascona and Hotel Tobler. I have visited (along with my 15 year old son) Hotel Tobler in April 2021 and because we liked Ascona a lot, we decided to go again in October. However, as Hotel Tobler was sold out, I decided to give also a chance to the slightly bigger Hotel Ascona. Below a comparison of the two hotels, based on my two stays. Executive Summary: Hotel Ascona seemed to me to be a Hotel that passed its peak. The cost of the Standard double room was 320 CHF per night including breakfast, which is a high price to pay for what we got in return. The toilet of my room (Room 105) had no window and no ventilation, something I cannot accept for a 4-star Hotel. Furthermore, the walls of the room were probalby made out of Carton, as we could hear people talking in the next room, the television playing sometimes till the early hours of the morning, not to mention that we could hear everything from the toilet next door (or the toilet above). The hotel is comprised of two buildings, so (I am assuming and I hope) my room was in the older bulding. All the rooms on the first floor of the hotel have less sun exposure during the day than the rooms in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors. However, in particurar room 105, which is at the point where the two buildings meet, gets even less sun, as it is blocked by the 2nd floor balcony of the 2nd building of the hotel. As a result, at around 15:00, when the sun is at its warmest in October, the balcony was in the shadow. Finally, apart from some bright exceptions, the ladies at the reception took their job with a sense of indifference, relatively casual and at times we felt lazyness from their part. Rarely were information offered in advace and every time I asked for more details/information, I felt I was disturbing them. From the first minute in this hotel I have not felt welcome by the Reception ladies (with one bright exception) and that theme carried till the end of the 5 days we stayed there. Because of the reasons above, Hotel Tobler is for me the better choice between these two hotels. Details: None of the 4 nights I slept in Room 105 felt relaxed and refreshed. Exactly the opposite: every noise from the corridor and the rooms next door would come into the room. Especially during night 3, the television of a room next to ours was palying till 1:10 am and after that the couple in the room had a discussion. I would manage to close my eyes and sleep for a few minutes and then wake up again hearing them talking and that till about 3am. I was debatting with myself whether to wake up and start looking for this room or try to sleep and raise it with the reception in the the next morning. I decided for the later. So, in the morning, I went to the reception and told them what I experienced. The attitude was as follows: "In the room to your right there is a 70 year old couple, so it is not them. In the room on your left there is also an elderly couple, so it is also not them. And the room above is also old people, so it is not them too". So, two conclusions: a. Obviously I must have dreamed that people were talking and listening to television till the early hours in the morning, as elderly people don't do these things, according to the reception ladies. b. Since the elderly people are by definition "quiet", that makes a 51 year old man like me and my 15 year old son something like a "rock-band-duo", responsible for every noise in the hotel, right? Interesting way to address a complain from a client, I thought. But this fits the picture I got from the reception all along, except one lady that spoke Portuguise and who was very helpful, although I could tell she was very busy. For example, a similar unsatisfactory reaction I got from the recetion ladies when I mentioned that room 105 has no sun after 3pm. "There is no room like yours availble somewhere else in the hotel" was the short response. However, there was also no alternative offer from the reception lady of a room in a different (higher) category. Furthermore, 2 days later the hotel restaurant was half empty (they reduced the number of available tables for the guests by closing area of the restaurant), so if there was no room availabe at the time I asked, maybe there would have been one the day after. But no, this option was also not offered. The reception ladies in general never gave me the impression that were concerned about the quality of my stay in the hotel. It was for them important to cash in the room as soon as possible (by check in I had to pay the full cost of the room) but when it came to satisfying my needs/complaints, their reaction was rarely satisfactory. Another example of that was my initial room request. I have reserved via the Hotel's Website and I made a comment (in German) that the room needs to by "quiet and smoke-free". An email confirmation from the Hotel never came. So, I called them up to verify that they got my reservation. The lady on the phone re-confirmed my reservation and verified that they will look for a "quiet and smokefree" room for me. How much the reception ladies respected my wishes about quietness you have already read above. What I have not mentioned however yet, is that Room 105 is exactly above the Hotel's restaurant. And although due to the cold evenings the people ate inside the restaurant, there were the odd smokers that decided to have a cigarete or two outside. Please guess whose room was exactly above the smoking table. Was that the fault of the reception ladies? No. But if a client asks you for a "Smoke-free" room, you normally assign to him a room not exactly above the restaurant, in order to avoid such events. But this was also too much to ask from the reception ladies. Just as a comparison, I had no such issues at Hotel Tobler. For about the same amount of money I got even a bigger room (a small suite). The room was quiet and smoke-free, exactly as I requested. At the reception of Hotel Tobler when I walked in was a young Gentleman, I think with the name Alessandro and he was fantastic. He was welcoming, very willing to explain everything we needed to know and also provided tipps and suggestions without being asked specifically. I felt immediatly "at Home" at Hotel Tobler, the atmosphere was relaxed but yet efficient. I also didn't have to prepay my room, like I had to do in Hotel Ascona. It is exactly this feeling of being "on holiday" that I completely missed in the behaviour of the Reception ladies at the Hotel Ascona. And the Room at Hotel Tobler had sun the whole day, from morning to the sun set. I need to mention that the room at Hotel Ascona was very clean. The cleaning team was also very flexible, when I asked them a couple of times for extra things. The one thing that was a bit disgusting was that the water drain in the shower was blocked, eventually the dirty water would collect at the feet of the second person that used the shower. Small point, I agree. But for 320 CHF per day, I would expect that addressed without me having to raise it. As a comparison, the room at Tobler was also very clean. To be fair, I also do remember that a light in the room was not working and also never replaced during my stay. But at least that was not digusting nor unhygienic. The Restaurant at the Hotel Ascona was not bad. We found the soups extremely dilluted and hence tasteless. However the main courses and the desserts were good to very good. The waiters in the Restaurant were also generally extremely fast and helpful. I should mention that once I got a hair from a waitress in my soup and that the veal that my son ordered came raw at our table, but these are small things. The waiter apologised for the hair and my son sent back the veal and then was cooked as he wanted it. Of course, they could ask him in advance how he wants his meat, but maybe I am asking for too much. The one thing I would like to comment is that the waiters at the Hotel Ascona Reastaurant suffer from the "No one understands Italian and as such we can say whatever we want in Italian in front of the Clients" virus. This is obviously not the case with all the clients, which lead to some interesting observations. I don't mind, even if sometimes their comments were reffering to me, but someone else might be offended, especially in a 4 Star hotel. As a comparison, the food at the Restaurant at Hotel Tobler was also good. I do remember however that they had an issue with the waiters at the restaurant of Hotel Tobler and the service was extremely slow. On this matter Hotel Ascona was at a different (better) level of Service altogether. Finally, we had the opportunity to meet the owner of the Hotel. She passed by during Dinner/Breakfast. She was a very personable and very pleasant lady, but at the same time very fragile and very old. I felt sorry for her, because she might be the owner, but someone else is calling the shots in Hotel Ascona and in my view the value offered in this Hotel is inferior to what the competition nearby offers. Maybe me and my son were the wrong clientele for this Hotel, as vast majority of the people I saw in the restaurant were well advanced in their age, despite the fact that we visited the Hotel during the October schooling holidays. I wanted to make my son a nice present for the hard work he put in his studying for the Gymnasium. Unfortunately, we were unlucky with the Hotel this time. Next time we want a great view of Ascona from our 4 Star Hotel room, we will be visiting Hotel Tobler.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
L'Entrecôte Bienne wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We have enjoyed a beautiful stay with great facility and very helpful and friendly staff! Enjoyable breakfast, nice welcome drink, room spacious and clean! Convenient car park. Hotel is in walking distance to the old town. Thank you very much!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
07Bigfamily wrote a review Aug 2021
Zurich, Switzerland3 contributions
great surroundings, nice garden with green and flowers so very peaceful with amazing view on the lake (which is also valid for the big balconies in the rooms). rooms are clean and very useful, ours were relatively big, staff friendly (and at the reception even more than that ! ), breakfast variety is decent , wifi is weak in some areas of the hotel (which might be also an advantage if you try to disconnect ...)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms have big balconies with view on the lake
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
readytogoSwitzerland wrote a review Jul 2021
Canton of Valais, Switzerland31 contributions10 helpful votes
A lovely hotel above Ascona. The walk from town isn’t far but it’s uphill so when it’s hot it’s a bit of an effort! Better to take the car at least when it’s hot - there’s a good-sized car park near the entrance to the pedestrian lakefront. We had a classic double room which was lovely with good air conditioning and a decent sized terrace with table, chairs and chaises longues. On arrival I was asked to pay the 9 days stay in advance - rather unusual. Otherwise everything was fine - the staff were pleasant and relaxed. On two evenings we had bad weather so we had the menu in the restaurant which was good. It’s a pity there were no bar snacks or light cold meals available if you didn’t want a full menu at lunch or dinner and cakes or ice cream at tea-time would have been appreciated! The swimming pool, chaises longues and outside areas were great. All in all a lovely stay in a beautiful area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Giuseppe Golf and Travels wrote a review Apr 2021
Maspalomas, Spain22 contributions10 helpful votes
in regards to anyone that is looking for a comfortable and service oriented Resort, this is what you are looking for. the reception is attending you friendly and fast, the food is very good and the location is just perfect. 5 min from the center or 6 minutes from the lake, the view from the hotel are spectacular. is a must for any traveller being at this area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if available then take the rooms on the top, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Biasca-Caroni, Proprietario at Hotel Ascona
Responded Apr 15, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eliana Bisi, Reception
Read more
travels94402 wrote a review Oct 2020
Nyon District, Switzerland19 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel is acceptable if you need a place to stay, but a few things happened that were disappointing: 1. The breakfast tables were not set properly and one day we were given dirty, used napkins. We never had four complete place settings on any given day. 2. We booked massages for my husband and myself and requested a female therapist. Unfortunately the hotel hired a male massage therapist and therefore my husband (who isn’t comfortable with a male therapist) didn’t have a massage. The hotel then refused to pay the therapist so I paid him for two massages we didn’t want. Unethical. I spoke with the owner about it and she said she would adjust our bill to give us a price reduction, but at checkout we were charged the full price for two massages. 3. At the buffet breakfast only a few guests wore masks when walking around. The hotel has no guidelines around mask-wearing. Or at least they are not enforced if they exist. 4. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and were charged chf25 for the children’s meal of (frozen and fried) chicken nuggets. My husband ordered the wild boar menu and the main course had two tiny pieces of meat set next to a large pile of rice. We don’t normally eat large portions so for us it was surprising that there was not enough food. There are many other hotels in Ascona, choose one of them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Biasca-Caroni, Proprietario at Hotel Ascona
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Dear Mrs. Reindel, first of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it very much, because this is a way how we can understand where we need to improve and evaluate our work. Regarding the various complaints, you have already made during your stay at the hotel, we would like to give you a fast answer. As far as the service is concerned, we apologise if there was any forgetfulness at the table. But excuse us if we cannot believe that you were offered used napkins! Especially now, at this delicate time of pandemic where we absolutely must take care to disinfect everything over and over again during the day. Regarding what you write about the massages you have booked, we would like to point out that if you had explicitly asked us for a female masseuse, we could have arranged it without any problems, as we have several contacts of masseurs with whom we have been working for years of both sexes. We have still consulted internally at the reception and none of us were able to receive this specific request from you. But we want to believe that this was the case and that there may have been an error of understanding on our part. We apologise for this as well. But since you decided to get a massage despite the fact that the masseur was a man and that you did both massages at full duration, we could obviously not offer you any discount as the service requested was certainly appreciated or else you would not have decided to do the second massage as well. She could have very well refused and we would have immediately looked for a female masseuse to come and do the massage you requested. As for the payment for the time the masseur would have lost, we would have taken care of it internally, we repeat that our masseurs have been our external collaborators for years and we could have resolved it in a peaceful way. And finally, as far as the dinner is concerned, if you were not satisfied with the meal, you should have simply pointed it out immediately to the waiter, who would of course have increased the portion without any additional costs. We are therefore sorry to say that we were unable to meet your expectations and we hope that you will find a hotel which will satisfice your hypes. We take this opportunity to wish you an excellent continuation Sincerely Reception Eliana Bisi
Read more
Barry M wrote a review Oct 2020
Stallikon, Switzerland2 contributions5 helpful votes
We paid a fair amount for 2 nights half board for 2 adults and our daughter. There were probably cheaper deals for a 4* hotel in this area, but it’s nicely located and had the amenities that we were looking for, for a family with some physical assistance needs. The reception was friendly and very helpful, the other staff were fine but not quite as client oriented (waiting staff was polite but we kept having to get their attention and we’re ignored a couple of times). It was a nice touch for the elderly owner to come to everyone’s tables one evening to speak to us. Facilities were ok. Nice (heated) pool, but the massage/spa and gym facilities were very minimal and didn’t have a professional feel at all. It’s clear that the hotel has been under some renovation. Room and bathroom were clean and looked nice (view was beautiful) and decor of the shared areas (lounge, bar, etc) was very nice, but some hallways were a tired and walkthrough areas need refreshing. With some work on developing the facilities and the still un-renovated parts of the Hotel (and possibly developing some family oriented sections/activities, it could be a high quality 4* hotel, well worth the cost, and one of the best hotels in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Biasca-Caroni, Proprietario at Hotel Ascona
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Eliana Bisi, Reception
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$166 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of TicinoLake MaggioreAscona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Ascona
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Ascona?
Nearby attractions include Fondazione Monte Verita (0.3 miles), Borgo Antico (0.2 miles), and Collegio Pontificio Papio (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Ascona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Ascona?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Ascona?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Ascona?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Ascona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monte Carlo Living, Antico Ristorante Borromeo, and Ristorante Antica Posta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Ascona?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Ascona located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Ascona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Ascona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Ascona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Ascona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.