We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cambrian

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1121)
Room & Suite (166)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Adelboden
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Hiking
Skiing
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor fireplace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
1218Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 722
  • 304
  • 113
  • 44
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adriaan R wrote a review Feb 2024
Segny, France100 contributions38 helpful votes
Excellent hotel with a beautiful outdoor pool with a spectacular view over the mountains. The rooms were cosy, spacious and clean with modern furniture. The bed was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good and the personnel very kind and attentive. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and nicely presented. The hotel is on the main street of the village and right in front of the bus station. We will surely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel can easily be reached by bus
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Cambrian Adelboden, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cambrian
Responded 2 days ago
Dear AdriaanR631, thank you so much for this great review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much. Certainly we will share this with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With best regards, Sylvain Vodermaier Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Biznouk wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California362 contributions148 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Thé location is superb in the center of ADELBODEN, you don’t need a car everything is around. The view from our 2 rooms was outstanding❤️. Top notch service by a knowledgeable, professional and very friendly team at the check in, at the breakfast, at the bar and at the dinner. The food is excellent with fresh, tasty and local products. Congratulations to the Chef for the breakfast… thé buffet is a Gem! Congratulations also to the other Chef for the dinner menu ..Superb! Do not hesitate to book a massage or any treatment… it was wonderful! We are big traveller’s and we were amaze by the level of service in a friendly atmosphere. We will not hesitate to book again this charming Hotel❤️
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fred F wrote a review Feb 2024
Switzerland2 contributions
If you plan on sleeping this is not the hotel for you. The walls are paper thin, you hear everything from the corridor e.g. yells of housekeeping and neighboring rooms. The carpet in the room is stained and furniture is damaged, see photo. The food is mediocre at best, bar is ok. The staff is unhelpful and not particularly kind. Not worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathias Wunsch, General Manager at The Cambrian
Responded 1 week ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. Our expectation and goal are to deliver the best service possible to all our guests, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to clarify the points you've raised and address them in a constructive manner. Please feel free to reach out to our management team directly at: mathias.wunsch@thecambrianadelboden.com so that we can discuss your concerns further and work towards resolving any issues you encountered. Once again, we apologize for any dissatisfaction you may have experienced, and we are committed to making things right. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to improve our guest experience. We look forward to hearing from you and hopefully restoring your trust in our hotel. Warm regards, Mathias Wunsch Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mountainjunkie wrote a review Dec 2023
Ilkley, United Kingdom65 contributions11 helpful votes
We just stayed one night at the Cambrian as a little side trip and treat, from our holiday home in Lauterbrunnen. It was the perfect spot to explore the beautiful area around Adelboden. Our dual aspect , south facing room had absolutely stunning views across the valley . Great thought has been given to the interior design of the hotel , but it in a comfortable and unpretentious way. I have rarely felt so quickly at home in a hotel, especially of this standard. From the minute we walked through the front door we received a very warm welcome from every single member of staff. Room, pool area and lounge areas are all inviting and comfortable. Excellent, quality in restaurant, and good value for Switzerland. Will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stunning views from south facing rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
boscopin wrote a review Sep 2023
Hochatown, Oklahoma11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel info - no AC, no problem - open windows & enjoy the fresh air. But it also notes free to smoke on your balcony! Worse yet, our upstairs room was directly above 2 smoke areas. One area had a fire pit full of cigarette butts . And a restaurant with late night bar. Nights were spent opening and closing windows - had to choose between a stuffy hot room or a smoky room. A disastrous stay with little sleep. Many years of hard earned Marriott rewards wasted. Management response - sorry about that, come back and try us again ! Yes we did talk to the desk, but they had no other rooms to offer. I’m a Marriott Titanium, so many Marriott stays, this was the worst. I didn’t ask for compensation, but would have been nice if they offered some token to account for the issue. Stay away from here! Not worth the expense.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. If must stay here, make sure to get a room away from the street. Also realize...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Cambrian Adelboden, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cambrian
Responded Sep 21, 2023
Dear Mr. Deslatte, We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide us with your valuable feedback. As previously communicated, we deeply regret that we were unable to accommodate an immediate room change due to our full occupancy during your stay. Our Front Desk Staff did extend an offer for a room change for the next night, which unfortunately was declined. Regarding the matter of smoking in outdoor areas, it is indeed permitted in Switzerland, and the fire pit is to contribute to the overall ambiance of our bar area. However, it is important to note that the fire pit was not operational throughout your stay. We do acknowledge that some individuals may have disposed of their cigarette butts in this area, but our dedicated bar team diligently cleans it each night. Nevertheless, considering your feedback, we have taken the decision to remove the fire pit from our premises. We would like to clarify that the invitation for a return to our hotel was extended by our management team as a gesture of goodwill and was not meant to imply any misunderstanding. Should you have any further inquiries or require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience. Best regards, Your Managment Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bobby wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom35 contributions8 helpful votes
A bit far from the central Interlaken whether you're using public transport or driving, but it's worth the trip. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful and serene. The infinity pool offers views of distant snowy mountains and slopes. An affordable luxury retreat in Switzerland with perfect service, facilities, and decor.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
roadtrip couple wrote a review Jul 2023
Phoenix, Arizona116 contributions47 helpful votes
This is a great location, hotel with excellent restaurant and good service by the staff. Accessing the hotel. My road is a little bit onerous given construction on the roads but once there it is a great location to enjoy excellent mountain views, make sure you have a room facing the mountains, we gave four stars instead of three stars because the photograph off the person in the pool with infinity views of the mountains is a little bit misleading. The pool is fairly small and located in a public area close to the open dining the angle at which the photograph was taken is misleading we don’t think the hotel deliberately was trying to mislead the people but we did hear many guests talking about how misleading the photograph was.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is valet parking. Try and arrive early and at least have one dinner at the hotel as the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Albert Ng wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We are a family of 4 and were staying at Adelboden Suite for 4 days 3 nights in June 2023. What went wrong during our stay? 1. Our door lock system failed every 24 hours. 2. Phone in the room was not working during our entire stay. Both were communicated to the front desk from the beginning. All agents we spoke to promised us that they would send a technician to fix the next day, but we didn't see the technician until when we had to show that we were really upset (on the 3rd day or by the last night), and the technician fixed only the door lock system. That also meant we had to down to the front desk every morning to replace our key cards and complain, because the phone in the room was simply not working. 3. Ill-mannered front desk. 4. Inappropriate response from GM/Hotel Manager. The front desk agents were on shift. It means that we had to repeat our complaint every single time. It was surprising to see each agent appeared to be unaware of the situation. Furthermore, when we requested to speak to the agent who we just explained the situation to 5 minutes ago, the agent was in the separate room next to the front desk but refused to come to us. We had to speak to the agent because her solution to opening our door didn't work, and we simply didn't want to explain our situation again to another agent. Only at the check-out, we were offered to meet the GM/Hotel Manager. But his response was rather disappointing. To quote, "Tell me, what's wrong?" - You should have been made aware by now. "What do you want? A discount?" - Yes, we complained about there was no effort perceived by us from the hotel team trying to recover their poor service, and we stayed long enough (3 nights) for the team to respond. But to ask us this, at the check-out, how humiliating - to make our experience sound so cheap!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Doesn't recommend for more than 1-night stay (1-night stay for the view); because you'll then...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
A A wrote a review Jun 2023
51 contributions55 helpful votes
The moment you arrive you’ll sense Romance is in the air. From the elegant furniture to the dimmed lights and choice of music Views are breathtaking so book a room with a view and spa was well designed. Breakfast perfect , good quality and service with a smile. Dinner wasn’t as tasty though The only downside is the size of the outdoor pool. It is a main attraction for anyone who’ll book this hotel, but the reality it’s significantly smaller in reality Still Overall a lovely stay for couples, conveniently there is the bus station in front of hotel and hikes in the area are spectacular.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bus station in front of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dr Adam R wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
Amazing hotel and location !! Staff were amazing. Facilities are great with infinity warm pool and jacuzzi/ steam and sauna. Have to mention Amaarah - really friendly and helpful. Coming back for sure !!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelboden area.
PRICE RANGE
$389 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cambrian adelboden hotel and spa, solis cambrian hotel, hotel solis cambrian
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandAdelboden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CAMBRIAN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Adelboden, Switzerland)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cambrian
Which popular attractions are close to The Cambrian?
Nearby attractions include Adelboden (0.1 miles), Escape Adelboden (0.1 miles), and Freizeit- und Sportarena (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cambrian?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Cambrian?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at The Cambrian?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cambrian?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cambrian?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Alpenblick Adelboden, Adler Adelboden, and Cafe Haueter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cambrian?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Cambrian located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Adelboden.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cambrian?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Cambrian?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Cambrian offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.