We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gotthardstrasse 4 6490 Andermatt, Andermatt 6490 Switzerland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$1,288
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
travelup.com
Booking.com$1,288
Expedia.com$1,290
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1519)
Room & Suite (311)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Doctors available 24/7
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Chedi Andermatt
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 12 hotels in Andermatt
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Alpine chic meets Asian zen Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Swiss Alps, The Chedi Andermatt offers an extraordinary blend of traditional local hospitality and Asian grace and elegance and sets new standards in the international luxury-hotel market. Be enchanted and inspired by this unique atmosphere. The Chedi Andermatt is both captivating and striking in its otherness - in the unusual combination of Alpine chic and Asian elements. Glossy Alpine wood, smooth leather sofas, over 200 fireplaces and numerous panorama windows offer a warm and cosy spot to linger a while. This perfect harmony bears the signature of star architect Jean-Michel Gathy and was planned and designed by renowned architecture firm Denniston International Architects & Planners Ltd. Located 1,447 metres above sea level, this five-star deluxe hotel enchants guests with its 123 elegant rooms and suites, meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology, award-winning restaurants and bars, a modern Spa and Health Club and a spa area that is probably unique in Switzerland - an oasis of calm and relaxation.
Read more
Room & Suite (311)311
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Skiing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,686Reviews14Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,321
  • 206
  • 99
  • 34
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Artusio Family wrote a review Yesterday
Nyon, Switzerland7 contributions
Tremendous hotel with stunning spa offer. The restaurant was interesting & we clearly enjoy the home office package. Great new list of cocktails (Mytology & Myxology) If i need to give a negative point.....Hum tricky! Let's say please source Swiss honey instead of LATAM one.....Eager to come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Johann wrote a review Jul 2020
Geneva, Switzerland33 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Magnificent room, great and smily service, very good Spa. A must in the region. The breakfast, adapted to Covid situation, was delicious. We did not try the restaurant though as we had other plans for dinner and lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Directeur général at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jul 6, 2020
Dear johannh690 Thank you for your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt and the compliments regarding the entire hotel facilities. I am happy to share your most charming words with my entire team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from Andermatt Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Tea
Read more
Kristina C wrote a review Nov 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was amazed at the beauty of this hotel. Huge rooms very clean with original design. The cuisine is simply amazing! We had dinner in a Japanese restaurant and the food was beyond praise. Unpleasantly surprised only by the attitude towards the guest who stays at the hotel for one night. The spa was only allowed to be used until noon, under the pretext of a pandemic. But on the website you can pay 200 francs for a day spa. I paid for a room that costs several times more, but I could not use the spa. We also asked to leave the room an hour later, this also turned out to be impossible, although the room was not busy, as we were asking if it was possible to stay one more night. Summing up, I can say that if you do not plan to leave tens of thousands of francs in this hotel, your attitude towards you will be extremely cold and erogant. The hotel prices are very high even by Swiss standards. I do not think that I will come back here again, as it is very strange to come to a spa hotel and not be able to use spa services
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 6 days ago
Dear F9454QBkristinac Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with us. As explained already on Google and several times through our Front Office Team on site, we are happy to offer a late check out upon availability. Unfortunately the room category you stayed in had been fully booked, therefore we could not offer you a late check out yesterday. The usual check out time is noon - however, even though the room was booked again for the same day, we still offered you to stay and get changed in your room until 12.30pm. Regarding the free entrance to our spa before or after check out we kindly want to point out that due to the pandemic situation strict rules for protection measurements are applying. This does include the regular control of the amount of people that are staying in the spa area, the distances between the spa chairs and beds, desinfection etc. In order to assure the security of our guest and employees at all times and to be in compliance with the protection measurements, you will surely understand the fact that we cannot offer the free entrance to our spa area before or after check out during these troubled times. We thank you again for your visit and wishing you all the best. Kind regards Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
L465 wrote a review Nov 2020
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland30 contributions3 helpful votes
Very nice hotel calm and relaxing. Our room was fabulous and we had amazing views. The room itself was very relaxing and a pleasure to sit in at night reading as we are older we like to eat early and then relax in our room. Our bathroom was amazing only complaint a little dark early evening for putting on makeup. The breakfast was fabulous everything to choose from and the staff very pleasant. We had dinner in the main restaurant which was good,a few hiccups with our food, but not really a problem as we liked what they gave us instead of what we ordered. The staff were very pleasant and very apologetic did offer to bring what we ordered but for us not a issue as we eat mostly every kind of food and what they brought was very good. We ate a few times in the bar as we like to eat early and they serve food all day. Staff in the bar were extremely friendly which is why we went back for a late lunch or early dinner. We also ate in the Japonais restaurant very disappointed. Food was good but the girl that served us was very unfriendly and didn’t know how to smile. We had to ask her 3 times to explain the menu, as to us it was complicated. Instead of trying to make it easy for us to understand she was very offhand which was the start of a bad experience. We didn’t like the atmosphere in the restaurant and certainly would not return. In our opinion the girl with the blonde hair that was our server should take lessons in how to look after and serving guests from the bar staff possibly she should be told to smile it does make a difference.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear L465 Thank you for staying with us at The Chedi Andermatt and for sharing your experience. We are delighetd to learn that you had such a relaxing time and thank you for your personal feedback. The light concept had been especially desigend for the Chedi in warm colours, however the makeup mirror does have an integrated LED light which can be switched on when needed. We are sorry to learn about your impression of the lack of friendliness in our The Japanese Restaurant. It is clearly not our philosophy and if you felt not treated in a proactive and cordially way, we are very sorry to have caused such an impression. It would be out pleasure to welcoming you back and we wishing you all the very best in the meantime. Kindest regards from Andermatt Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
Michelle wrote a review Nov 2020
Lausanne, Switzerland11 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a beautiful 5* hotel in Switzerland. The food is absolutely delicious. The room and facilities are spacious and luxurious yet homely. Really loved this hotel! The only point of improvement would be the service level- employees are friendly however they do not provide a personalized service expected at such a high end hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Michelle9955 Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your positive experience. We have shared your most charming words worth the entire team and would be happy to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards from Andermatt and all the very best in the meantime. Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$531 - $1,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of UriAndermatt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chedi Andermatt
Which popular attractions are close to The Chedi Andermatt?
Nearby attractions include Basecamp Andermatt (0.1 miles), Talmuseum Ursern (0.2 miles), and Andermatt Concert Hall (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chedi Andermatt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chedi Andermatt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toutoune, The Restaurant at The Chedi Andermatt, and Vinothek 1620.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Chedi Andermatt have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Chedi Andermatt offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Chedi Andermatt located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Andermatt.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Chedi Andermatt offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.