We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gotthardstrasse 4 6490 Andermatt, Andermatt 6490 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$837
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$837
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$719
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Booking.com
Priceline$859
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1899)
Room & Suite (420)
Dining (265)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Chedi Andermatt
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 12 hotels in Andermatt
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Alpine chic meets Asian zen Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Swiss Alps, The Chedi Andermatt offers an extraordinary blend of traditional local hospitality and Asian grace and elegance and sets new standards in the international luxury-hotel market. Be enchanted and inspired by this unique atmosphere. The Chedi Andermatt is both captivating and striking in its otherness - in the unusual combination of Alpine chic and Asian elements. Glossy Alpine wood, smooth leather sofas, over 200 fireplaces and numerous panorama windows offer a warm and cosy spot to linger a while. This perfect harmony bears the signature of star architect Jean-Michel Gathy and was planned and designed by renowned architecture firm Denniston International Architects & Planners Ltd. Located 1,447 metres above sea level, this five-star deluxe hotel enchants guests with its 123 elegant rooms and suites, meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology, award-winning restaurants and bars, a modern Spa and Health Club and a spa area that is probably unique in Switzerland - an oasis of calm and relaxation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Skiing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
1954Reviews17Q+A92Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,507
  • 241
  • 125
  • 42
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
65Renato wrote a review Sep 18
33 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Dear Mr.Blatt, Dear Team, The hotel is just stunning!! The architecture and the decoration are just perfect, the high ceilings in all the hotel,the lighting is very cosy and more you spend time more your discovery incredible place. The room are just sublime, you directly field at home !! The restaurant: you should definitely try the Japanese restaurant the 1 star Michelin. You should also try the Indian card just the best !! And the other food are also just so good! For the cheese you can’t believe how many different cheeses you can choose, just unbelievable!! The smoking cigar room is also an incredible experience, it’s the biggest hotel collection in the world!! The spa is also something special with all this different pool ( 8), and the different massage are just perfect you field like in Asia. The only problem ! 😀 Unfortunately we can’t stay longer in this beautiful hotel we need to go back home 🥲 Thanks a lot again to Mr. Blatt and his team definitely we will come back Best regards, Renato
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Just perfect!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 65Renato, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our staff. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime should you require any assistance in Central Switzerland. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warmest regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RC wrote a review Sep 6
14 contributions
We stayed here in the grand deluxe suite for one night. Check in was friendly, efficient and we appreciated the ice tea and hot towels - a very nice touch. Staff was amazing and showed us the room. A few things weren't working (fireplace and the telephone system and the doorbell) and with a REALLY dim living room TV (you can only watch it with all the lights switched off) but they did manage to sort it the fireplace eventually, but did waste quite a bit of our time in the back and forth since the phone wasn't working. To their credit service recovery was great. The room was very well maintained, albeit a bit too big and dark (if that could be a thing!). The Japanese restaurant had great service but appalling food, though I might be overly harsh being an Asian and expected great food due to the michelin-star and the price. Breakfast on the other hand was a lot better. Overall the service of the place was consistently excellent from reservation to check-on to check-out, and I would come back because of it and also so I could drive on the mountain passes nearby, but will avoid the Japanese restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kerenmeir, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had overall such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our staff. On the other hand we are sorry to learn, that our The Japanese Restaurant could you personally not fully convince you with it's 1 Michelin Star awarded kitchen. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime should you require any assistance in Andermatt. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warm regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bike wrote a review Aug 2022
Steamboat Springs, Colorado150 contributions124 helpful votes
Everything was almost perfect. We had the smallest room, and it was very large. The bath was large and well-appointed. The balcony was of good size and had the outdoor side of the indoor/outdoor fireplace. The hotel has a large cheese vault (which you can enter at breakfast for cheese selections), a large wine vault, and a cigar vault off the cigar lounge. The breakfast is incredible - it is hard to stop eating. The spa is incredible as well; nice indoor/outdoor pools on the main level, with three heated pools (warm, hot, and very hot) on the lower level with the sauna and steam (and cold plunge). The outdoor courtyard around a large water feature (apparently an ice rink in the winter) is a pleasant spot for snacks and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear M6581POsgd Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warmest regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerenmeir wrote a review Jul 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel208 contributions59 helpful votes
This is one of the best hotels in the world without a doubt. The rooms are AMAZING - very large, ultra comfortable and pampering yet modern. The Spa is one of the best in . the world and the good is delicious all topped with impeccable service The beds are super comfortable and everything is well thought off to the finest details
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Dear Kerenmeir, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our staff. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime should you require any assistance in Andermatt. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warmest regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SANAA TANZANIA wrote a review Jul 2022
Arusha, Tanzania6 contributions
This truly is everything a hotel should be .. and more. The best service I have ever had but in such a human and relaxed way. You simply do not want to leave the building. It is beautiful, diverse, global, and friendly. Highly recommend to anyone. Drinks amazing, food fantastic. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Dear SANAA TANZANIA, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our employees. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime should you require any assistance in Andermatt. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warmest regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nat_from_Switzerland wrote a review Jun 2022
Switzerland35 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
After 2 stays at the Chedi, WOW! Everything is fabulous, from the warm welcome with tea and hot towels, to the spectacular architecture, neat and chic. The wine cellars, the cheese tower, the restaurants, everything is perfect. And of course THE ROOM, a dream that we decided to offer ourselves once a year. The indoor pool is superb and the outdoor one is heated. Chedi, keep up your excellent service and maintenance of your facilities and we will be loyal customers for many years.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear Nat_from Switzerland Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stays at The Chedi Andermatt. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback and is already looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from Andermatt and all the best, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mayhem wrote a review Jun 2022
45 contributions28 helpful votes
The hotel architecture and decor, which includes everything (the lobby, the bar, the restaurant, the cigar lounge and last but not least the room) might be the most beautiful of any hotel that I've ever been. The Spa is nice, but not beyond meeting expectations. Dinner at the restaurant was utterly disappointing. Prices are top notch, the food is sub par. Employees at the reception seemed to be happy, restaurant staff did not. I would definitely recommend staying therey don't know what to recommend for dinner though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear mmayhemm Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are happy to learn that overall you had a very pleasant stay with us and we thank you for the compliments regarding our architecture and decor. Than you as well for pointing out the areas were you personally see still some space for improvement. We are sorry to learn that we unfortunately unlike to the majority of our guests could not fully convince you with our The Restaurant. We thank you once again for your visit and sending you our best regards from Andermatt, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
milesw wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom226 contributions631 helpful votes
Exceptional. I have stayed in almost every Leading Hotel of the World (read my other reviews) - but this place is really in a class of its own. The hotel is stunning - superb decor and design. We had a huge suite (2201) with a fire place huge lounge area and super comfy beds. The service was immaculate - from check in to the amazing spa/pools to dinner. We eat twice at the Restaurant (fantastic) and tonight we are about to eat at The Japanese. Although we are only here for three days - the staff in the lobby bar already remember my name and my drink. Breakfast is simply amazing - and the location unbeatable. I have a few very tiny suggestions that I think would make this place one of the best hotels in Europe: Air conditioning - not really cold enough on full and lowest setting - so we had to open our balcony doors Turndown Service - way to early at 5/6pm - surely this should be later as people go to dinner? Housekeeping - very good, especially on requests - like pressing a shirt (took 15 mins!) - but we found an old remote control and key card under the bed - which is really not good enough View - we were a little disappointed - to overlook the train station - again - I know it’s hard to get a great view from every room, but it meant we rarely used the massive balcony But hey - really minor issues. We loved every second and would love to come back in the Winter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear Miles W Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our staff. We are also very thankful for the hints where you still see some space for improvement. Please be kindly informed that we do not have an air-conditioning in the rooms, it is an air refreshment system. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback and is already looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from Andermatt and all the best, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hospitality86 wrote a review Apr 2022
Gstaad, Switzerland19 contributions21 helpful votes
My wife and I had an amazing stay. From the moment we checked in and we were given the hotel tour, to the main and Japanese restaurants ending with a couple massage in the lovely SPA we were pampered. The whole team is very attentive to details and the level of service is beyond imagination. Everything was just perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Dear Hospitality86, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your fabulous feedback of your recent stay at The Chedi Andermatt. We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time with us and we truly appreciate your most charming words on our property, service quality and our staff. The entire team will certainly take pleasure in your positive feedback. Thank you again for kind visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Andermatt very soon. Warmest regards, Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EEK2904 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
it was a recommendation of a friend to stay couple days in The Cedi. The design and the execution of the hotel are excellent. The welcome greeting the introduction of the hotel all the way to the room was done in very friendly and professional. The room met the expectation, however from very personal feeling I would expect a better quality bed it is not Hastens bed (which I expected to be or similar in the luxury room). For us the best part of the hotel were the Gym 9.5/10 and the SPA - hot swimming pools (10/10). The only real disappointment is the treatment, we had full body massage, it just was not good. Absolutely the messier were professional but for some reason they could not keep the flow and every 3 minuets stopped the massage. We were not the only guest having such a feeling. We have not eat in the Japanese restaurant but the regular one and the dinner was very good the stake was perfect. Last but not least, I will offer to the highest room category additional cleaning service - like afternoon, Highly recommended,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheChedi Andermatt, Geschäftsführer at The Chedi Andermatt
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear EE2904 Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your personal Chedi experience. We are happy to learn that you had a great time with us and we thank you for the compliments regarding the design and infrastructure. We have shared your positive feedback and most charming words with the entire team, who cannot wait to welcoming you back soon. On the other hand we are sorry tol earn taht nlike the majority of our guest you were not fully convnced by our spa treatments provided. Unfortunatley, we did not have the possibility to react on site, since we haven't received an immediate feedback from your side, which we are sorry for. With kind regards from Andermatt Jean-Yves Blatt General Manager & The Chedi Andermatt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$667 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of UriAndermatt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chedi Andermatt
Which popular attractions are close to The Chedi Andermatt?
Nearby attractions include Oberalp Pass (0.06 miles), Basecamp Andermatt (0.1 miles), and Talmuseum Ursern (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chedi Andermatt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chedi Andermatt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toutoune, The Restaurant at The Chedi Andermatt, and Vinothek 1620.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Chedi Andermatt have airport transportation?
Yes, The Chedi Andermatt offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Chedi Andermatt located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Andermatt.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chedi Andermatt?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Chedi Andermatt offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.