We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rosyth Estate House

Save
Share
Rosyth Estate Pusella, Kegalle 71000 Sri Lanka
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (175)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (22)

About

#1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Kegalle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 1926 planter's bungalow beautifully restored and expanded in 2013, run as a boutique hotel. Located on a working tea and rubber estate with fabulous authentic Sri Lankan food and a chance to explore village and estate life on foot or by bike. Local markets, Pinawella elephant orphanage, temples and a tea factory are all easily accessible. Stunning views for miles of forested hills in the central region of Sri Lanka. Perfect for relaxing with a book from our extensive library by the pool or on the front terrace. We welcome families. All bedrooms & Suites are fully air conditioned. The newly opened Rock Villa offer 2 self contained suites or when taken together a 2500 square foot private villa. Our Spa Pavillion offers a range of relaxing and rejunvinating spa treatments and daily complimentary yoga. We recommend all our guests to take the opportunity to relax in our beautiful elegant surroundings and enjoy authentic estate life.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
178Reviews2Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 13
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charith B wrote a review Oct 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka212 contributions70 helpful votes
Wonderful experience specially in each sun set. Recommended for two days stay as there is few visits available to tea factory and estate. The villa in the middle with the private plunge pool is the one we stayed and that is in fact the best view we had in a plunge pool in lanka. Road to the hotel is moderate and can manage by a car with some effort. Food is good, the service is also okay. Mainly the environment is really quiet and calm. Muxh Worthy for the price you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from NEIL DOBBS, Owner at Rosyth Estate House
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Charith thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Rosyth and for your kind comments. Over rcent months we have had to adapt to the changed environment that we find ourselves in and to change to cater for the local market. Sadly we didnt get to meet you as Farzana and I are stuck in London, but our team has stepped up to the challenges and continues to provide a great experience for our clients. I beleive that you stayed in the Plantation Suites - the outdoor baths certainly do have an excellent view. Kind regards. Neil
Read more
Shiran C wrote a review Aug 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka60 contributions23 helpful votes
Visited the Hotel with family over a long weekend. The bungalow is beautifully renovated with more modern take. There are some new rooms located close to the main compound. The rooms are clean and have all the necessary amenities. The views from the rooms and surrounding are killer. The pool is clean and spacious and the private pool in the villa is a fun addition. Access road has a few pot holes but nothing too bad. We really enjoyed the homely atmosphere and service. The staff were extremely helpful and always with a smile. Food tasted really good and consistent. Portion sizes were good. We had a great holiday and have nothing to complain about. Prices are mid to upper range but you get a worthy return. Definitely recommend Rosyth Estate House for a calm, relaxing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from NEIL DOBBS, Owner at Rosyth Estate House
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Thank you for your great comments and for the review which we appreciate. I beleive that you stayed in the Plantation suites and I am delighted that you enjoyed the views that they offer across the vallley to towards Alagalla and the Knuckles range beyond. I am so pleased that the team looked after you so well - they take great pride in maintaing excellent service and Farzana and I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food - we have adapted our menus over recent months introducing western , middle east and asian menus - an extension from our Sri Lankan menus which are enjoyed so much by our overseas guests. We are often asked who runs the property when we are overseas - the answer is our excellent team who run Rosyth on a day to day basis and who have being doing an excellent job whilst we remain stuck in London. Kind regards Neil
Read more
Thewinetourist wrote a review Mar 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom88 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Rosyth Estate House for 4 nights as part of our first visit to the island and cannot speak too highly of the Hotel. We were in the Classic double Mango room in the main house on a half board basis and we felt more like house guests rather than paying customers. The room was one of the two classic entry level rooms but it was beautifully fitted out with a large comfortable bed and quality bathroom with walk in shower ie there was nothing lacking despite it's category. I could go on at great length about the hotel features which were all excellent and in-keeping with it's history and on the negative front can only refer to the terrible road up to the hotel and Tea estate beyond (no problem for us as we were being driven). This is caused by the Tea lorries and plans are afoot I believe to repair the road. The food was lovely and we particularly appreciated the afternoon tea and cakes. However the outstanding service from our butler Jayantha and chef Danuska and colleagues Dilamtha, Manjula, Prabath, Kalum, Chatura, Sedakalum, Kirthi (Yoga), Sugath, Samitha & Sampath and others made this stay what it was. Apologies for any omissions but my point in naming the team is to emphasise how visible and involved with the guests everyone was. Ok the hotel didn't have many guests at the time due to the carryover from the bombings but those present benefited from the exceptional service levels provided. An absolute pleasure to stay and post this positive review.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from NEIL DOBBS, Owner at Rosyth Estate House
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Firsty I do apologise for the delay in responding to your review. As you wrote your review I infact travelled to Colombo from London arriving on the 14th March and swiftly departing back to London a few days later where we sadly remain. We are so happy that you enjoyed your review and had such an excellent time with us. The team thorought appreciate you mentioning them in your review. It is our excellent team who deliver the fantastic service for our clients and i am very confident that as tourism starts to recover around the world and tourists return to Sri Lanka the core team will still be at Rosyth and will be as keen as ever to give a great experience. I do note you comments on the road - which is a public road and outside of our control - in the past we have made some local reepairs and I suspect that will be required again in 2021. I hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when we can all travel again. Kind regards, Neil.
Read more
moo wrote a review Feb 2020
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
This was a last minute add on at the beginning of our holiday to Sri Lanka on 2nd February for two night. My first visit to the country so was a little unsure of what to expect, however any misgivings immediately disappeared. After a long journey along what I can only describe as the longest high street in the world coming across my first tuk tuks and the Sri Lankan style of driving we turned off the road and arrived at a truly beautiful place. We were welcomed by a foot massage cold cloths and a delicious drink. We started the morning with complimentary yoga ( we did manage to persuade the very lovely teacher that 8am was a much better time than 7am!!) Apologies for not remembering any ones names. The rest of the staff and the manager could not have been more caring. The chef came out after every meal to talk to us. My first experience of delicious hoppers too. If we had stayed longer we would definitely have taken advantage of the cookery lesson. We did however take the walk through the tea plantation with the charming knowledgeable Tea Estate manager. This was so informative I do suggest everyone tries to find the time to do this, so many different spices and wildlife and seeing how rubber is tapped. Our room was immaculately clean beautifully decorated with stunning views. Little extra touches like water brought to you by the pool and complimentary tea and coffee. small things but very much appreciated. We could very occasionally hear the rumble form passing trucks but this was a welcome reminder that the Estate is a working Tea Plantation employing local people not a disneyesque resort. I can't wait to return and cannot stress enough that these privately owned estates should be supported by tourists as much as possible. Get booking!! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from NEIL DOBBS, Owner at Rosyth Estate House
Responded Dec 8, 2020
I do apologise that it has taken me so long to respond to your comments - I simply dont know where the last nine months have gone as we have all struggled through the pandemic. We were very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Rosyth - my wife and I were back in London and hence didnt get the opportunity to meet you. You clearly made a great use of your two day stay with us and explored the estate and our grounds. Your comment about the time of the yoga is well noted and whilst we have always felt early yoga fits well with guests going out of the property on excursions and with the peace and tranquility of the early mornings - it is something that we will be reviewing when we reopen for tourists in 2021 and will probabaly go for a later start time. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Neil
Read more
Nic9961 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
I loved this hotel, very small and intimate. There weren't many guests whilst we were there, which was sad. The accommodation, staff and grounds were all fantastic. We only stayed 2 nights and were based there to visit Kandy. The food was of a fantastic standard and Jayantha our Manager/waitor was such a lovely ma He made sure we had packed lunches for our day as we left very early both days. I am really glad we stayed at Rosyth as it was a great experience, but it was a good hour plus to Kandy and the road up to Rosyth was terrible. I felt we didn't get enough out of the hotel as we left early and arrived home late. Not enough time to get the most of what the hotel had to offer. I mentioned the road. I really feel this should be addressed. It wouldn't take too much to put some tarmac down. I felt really sorry for our driver. I was worried his car was going to be damaged, as was he. All the drivers were upset about it. As the drivers have to buy and look after their own cars, they shouldn't be expected to drive on such a surface. If the road was fixed I would have given 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NEILD336, Owner at Rosyth Estate House
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments about the hotel and our team. I am sorry that we were so quiet when you stayed with us - our business has been steadily getting back to normal after the troubled year that we had in 2019 and I am pleased to say that we have run with good occupancy over much of the season. I am so dissapointed to see that we would have been 5* if the road hadn't let us down. The last 1 km of road has unfortunately deteriorated over the past few months and we are lobbying the local and regional council to repair the potholes. The local villagers are equally keen for this to happen and we have been working together to address this matter. Putting the road to the side, I am very pleased that your overall stay with us was a great experience. Kind regards, Neil.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$287 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSabaragamuwa ProvinceKegalle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rosyth Estate House
Which popular attractions are close to Rosyth Estate House?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Freedom Project (2.0 miles), Millennium Elephant Foundation (2.1 miles), and Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rosyth Estate House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Rosyth Estate House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rosyth Estate House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rosyth Estate House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Channa, Hotel Elephant View Restaurant, and Pinnalanda Hotel Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rosyth Estate House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Rosyth Estate House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.