We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Hanselewirt

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Hanselewirt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was large and furnished in a country style, but bad insulated in spite of the double door. Bathroom needs some restyling. Breakfast was great with local products and the hotel restaurant was good.

Helpful?
Thank Tony A
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

We booked the hotel for 1 night, and the staff were very friendly all the time. They also helped us in booking the entrance tickets for the castles. The breakfast is quite good (not a thousand options, but still good enough).

Helpful?
Thank Raed H
Zug
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

The hotel location is great - only a few minutes drive away from the castle! The room is clean and tidy. The services are great, and staff are friendly. The price is unbeatable - best value for money! You can also use their services to buy tickets for the castle, avoid the queue at the ticket office.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chensj
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

We stayed only one night in the hotel and we really liked it. The room was small but cosy and comfortable. The breakfast offered a quite good selection. Great location to visit the castles in the area. really good value for the money

Helpful?
Thank ilaria f
Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Very near from a bus stop for the Neuschwanschtain castle. The room was wide enough for my family with two active children. The restaurant served with really delicious dishes of traditional German foods.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anonymoustraveler452
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Average accommodation but very good breakfast. Not impressed that restaurant closed when we arrived (Thursday is a quiet day apparently!). Also rude welcome from host as apparently we didn't let him know that we arriving an hour after our estimated time of 7pm. What happens to the customer is always right saying!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Parking is limited but possible at this family feel hotel. It's not the most smart, stylish or modern but everything was clean and comfortable. It's the sort of place where they should get new towels but the bathroom is large and the shower works well so what the heck. Unusually in our experience of southern Germany, it also had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank judith h
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our guesthouse. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and the spectacular views of Neuschwanstein Castle and the Bavarian Alps that can be seen from our first floor terrace and our rooms with castle views. Most of our staff speak English, so I am sorry that... More 

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

We had 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay but it wasn't perfect, nothing ever is. Firstly, we loved the position of the hotel, just one block off the main road in the centre of town, because of the position there is no road noise. You can easily walk to the castles and the cable car... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaggieO2312
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed most things about your stay. The room you booked is described as "Small Double Room with Low Ceiling". And it is exactly that. Both you and your husband are quite tall, so I can imagine our small room with low ceiling probably wasn't best suited to you. We... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We were a family of 4 and received a nice area to ourselves, including a spacious bathroom, spacious living area space in bedroom and another separate bedroom. Nice, clean and cozy. Rooms decorated nicely. The only drawback of the rooms were because it was hot, we had to leave windows open and neighbours were loud partying away till late at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crazyfeline
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room you stayed in is new this zear and very popular with our guests because of its size and comfort. I am very sorry that our neighbours were so loud. It is not normal for this to happen. We were extremely busy... More 

Claremont, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Booked the night before while in Italy during a two month journey. When we got off the train in Innsbruck, we discovered that train, road, bus, taxi, everything had been stopped into the Garmish area due to the G7 Summit as a security precaution. We had booked a non-refundable room here, but though we would still go ahead and explain... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shellz61
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to fill out comments on our hotel, even though you never stayed here. I am genuinely sorry that we couldn't cancel your booking free of charge at 6pm on the day of your reservation as you requested, quite insistently. I don't think we were rude, we just couldn't comply with what you were requesting... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#7 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#6 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Gasthof Hanselewirt is a small, family-run guesthouse at the foothills of the Bavarian Alps in the picturesque town of Schwangau. We are a few minutes drive from Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. We have a popular restaurant serving Bavarian specialities as well as international favourites. We have a play area for our younger guests and a roof-top terrace offering spectacular views of the Bavarian Alps and Neuschwanstein Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hanselewirt

Address: Mitteldorf 13, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Price Range: $105 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hanselewirt 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hanselewirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hanselewirt Schwangau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay