We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpenhof Murnau

Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria Germany
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)


#1 of 5 hotels in Murnau
Travelers' Choice
Our hotel, located directly by the Murnau Nature Reserve and not far from the impressive Murnau lakes, with a fantastic view of the nearby Alps, enjoys an incomparable natural setting. Situated between Munich and Garmisch-Partenkirchen, we will take you into a world in which body, mind and spirit find peace.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
424Reviews0Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 246
  • 96
  • 52
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
wingover71 wrote a review Jan 2020
Heidelberg, Germany34 contributions46 helpful votes
Very good position in front of the mountains. Rooms good furnished and provided with all conforts. SPA well done, even if could be bigger compared with the number of guests. Restaurant elegant and good quality food. Incredible list of good wines (sometimes too pricey). The materasses are really too hard, we couldn´t sleep very well. Service not at the 5 Star Hotel level in some areas: - Bar Aperitif without any snack or even nuts - Concierge didn´t ask feedback on our stay - Restaurant service good but not at the level of the ambience and price. The hotel is very much used for business conventions. Considered the price, I would have expected something more.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear guests, thank you for your great review and detailed feedback. We are very pleased that you basically felt so comfortable. Of course it would be nice if we could welcome you again. We can surely do some of your points better. In case to the mattress, we would ask you to give us a brief note when making a reservation, we can make it softer. Hopefully we see you soon in Murnau. Best regards Anja Junghans Communication & Media Manager
Read more
stevehH5458WR wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom95 contributions88 helpful votes
Stayed here for a couple of days when in Murnau. Friendly, clean and helpful. Nice to be offered a complimentary glass of wine on arrival - I've not had that elsewhere! Our room had fantastic alpine views and was very comfortable. Only downside, no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Good breakfast as well, with lovely views of the gardens. We didn't have time to avail ourselves of the spa facilities etc. but I am sure they're up to the standard of the rest of the place. Not in the centre of town but that's just a 20 minute walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for mountai views, top floor.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau
Responded Dec 18, 2019
Dear guests, we are very pleased that you felt so comfortable in our house. On request, we are also happy to provide a coffee machine in the room, or orders of this kind are always possible via room service. Out of respect for the environment, we do not provide the capsule machines as standard. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Anja Junghans Communication & Media Manager
Read more
pompot wrote a review Oct 2019
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy4 contributions4 helpful votes
A quite unassuming village is Murnau but it has everything including a great cake shop. This hotel is just 5 minutes drive in a most serene location. Quality staff and amenities with a gorgeous garden all around. The rooms are super comfy and a very good breakfast. Only negative they charge 9 euro for parking and when you pay top money for a room , that's a bit much to charge , also not impressed with the fish cakes for dinner, nevertheless, if you avoid dinners then it's all good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau
Responded Oct 17, 2019
Dear guests, thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed it. Reffering to the parking fee we stand for an open cost statement, so that each guest can see what he really pays. Many hotels hide the parking fee in the room rates. In this case, however, guests who arrive without a car also pay this price and we would like to avoid that. We ask for your understanding. It would be really nice if we could welcome you back soon. Best regards Anja Junghans Communication & Media Manager
Read more
Quest661513 wrote a review Oct 2019
10 contributions12 helpful votes
This is a lovely hotel. We had a room with a valley view and it was stunning with mountains in the distance. The grounds are really lovely and unique. Flowers and garden art wherever you look. The heated pool outside is great and we also took advantage of the sauna which is in a building of its own as well as a Keli room where you could just relax and enjoy the views. The staff was great. The morning breakfast buffet was also all you could want. I hope to return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau
Responded Oct 6, 2019
Dear guests, thank you for this nice feedback. We sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you once again and that you can once again relax with us. Best regards Anja Junghans Communication & Media Manager
Read more
ladygourmet wrote a review Sep 2019
sheffield232 contributions160 helpful votes
This was a stop off on a road trip en-route to Vienna. Nice room with veranda overlooking the garden pool & towards the Bavarian mountains, it was quite rainfall when we arrived, but I guess the views when the sun shines will be beautiful. The room was a good size, nice linen, as is the case in Germany, bags were at the ready with bathrobes, slippers & towels for the pool, love this , only ever seen this in German hotels. Also a backpack for loan for those wanting to wander off into the countryside. Very modern interior, parking for cars on-site. Nice little bar area , if you are a gin aficionado they have 40 plus to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Dear guest, thank you very much for this positive feedback. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again. Maybe you have not done all the 47 gin testing this time. Best regards Anja Junghans Communication & Media Manager
Read more
$152 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMurnau
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alpenhof Murnau
Which popular attractions are close to Alpenhof Murnau?
Nearby attractions include Münter-Haus (0.4 miles), Schlossmuseum Murnau (0.7 miles), and Schokoladenmanufaktur Barbara Krönner (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpenhof Murnau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Alpenhof Murnau?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Alpenhof Murnau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alpenhof Murnau?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpenhof Murnau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grissini da Alfredo, Schlossgarten, and Namaste Indisches Spezialitätenrestaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alpenhof Murnau?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Alpenhof Murnau located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Murnau.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alpenhof Murnau?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Alpenhof Murnau?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Alpenhof Murnau offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.