We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Save
Share
Schoenburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate Germany
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$261
$237
View Deal
Hotels.com$261
Expedia.com$261
CheapTickets$261
Agoda.com$237
Orbitz.com$261
Travelocity$261
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1660)
Room & Suite (513)
Dining (145)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Oberwesel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
We warmly welcome you to Schönburg Castle in Oberwesel, one of the most romantic and beautiful castle hotels in Germany! Spoil yourselves in our special world of pleasant rest, cultural diversion and culinary delights, - a real vacation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Darts
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, German
906Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 809
  • 74
  • 12
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sing L wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
. I went there during a Europe family road trip in the year 2013. I always remember it. This hotel gave me the most interesting, romantic, and beautiful memory. I wish I can go there again when I retire. I took a lot of family pictures inside and outside of that hotel. I like the castle setting and every design in that hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Amber W wrote a review Nov 2020
Charleston, South Carolina141 contributions61 helpful votes
There are no words to truly describe how unique and beautiful this place is! The garden is like a magical fairy tale with little surprises around every corner!! Its breathtaking! The room was perfect and the furniture truly made us feel like we were staying in a castle! This BY FAR is my favorite place I have EVER stayed! Well worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: #25 Bridal Suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
HarrogateHunters wrote a review Sep 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom134 contributions37 helpful votes
No point just doing a write up - just adding to the hundreds who have given maximum score Fantastic in every respect This was in the middle of Covid and the place was immaculate and the service outstanding
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NewYorkSunWorshipper wrote a review Aug 2020
New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
They said we would be refunded back in May because they were closed due to Covid, then they refused. I opened a dispute with my credit card, then they lied and said I had cancelled the reservation! They just out and out lied! What kind of heartless, greedy people take advantage of others during a global pandemic! We were 8 travelers, most retired on fixed incomes, and now the Burghotel has over $1,000 of our money and we have nothing. They should be ashamed of themselves, but then, you actually need a conscious to feel shame, and they obviously have none. Unless you like greedy, heartless, liars, consider staying somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hermann Huettl, Inhaber at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Dear NewYorkSunWorshipper, we understand that you are disappointed that you could not stay with us this year but we are really shocked to be called greedy and heartless and liars in such a hateful way and feel extremely offended. We stand by a given word and have refunded down payments to hundreds of guests to which they were due because they booked with us directly with cancellation deadlines or booked refundable stays with booking providers, and we have rebooked numerous reservations to other dates if desired. This was and is not easy for us as a hotel and employer with responsibility of the livelihood of our 50 employees but we always stayed fair. You booked a non-refundable stay via booking.com which clearly informs you when booking that this reservation, for whatever reason, cannot be canceled later. Our hotel was open again at the time of your planned arrival (which at times was not clear and therefore apparently gave cause to some misunderstanding in our extensive correspondence), we understood, however, that you could not travel and offered you to change your booking date to the future without any extra charge, which you declined. Yes, you were unable to visit us, yes we are in a global pandemic and yes times are rough for all of us at the moment and yes we, too, are very unhappy about conditions that we can hardly influence and that make it difficult for us to survive as a hotel and restaurant in these challenging times. We very much hope that in a quiet moment you may reconsider the matter with a little less bias and may also be able to understand our position. With best wishes Hermann Hüttl
Read more
Julie S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have not yet traveled but the customer service that they have given is beyond Suburb! They have worked months with me to make this a trip of a lifetime; and they did it with a smile! I cannot explain the amount of times that I have changed my reservations and changed it with pleasure and without a heavy sigh. As mentioned I have not yet traveled but if this is any indicator of the service we will be receiving then it will be worth every penny spent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle hotel oberwesel
LOCATION
GermanyRhineland-PalatinateOberwesel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Which popular attractions are close to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Nearby attractions include Schloss Schöenburg (0.01 miles), Liebfrauenkirche (0.4 miles), and Michaelskapelle (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burghotel Schoenburg und Restaurant, Historische Weinwirtschaft, and Weinhaus Weiler Restaurant.
Is Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Oberwesel.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alte Haus (3.2 miles), Burg Katz (3.6 miles), and Haus Sickingen (3.4 miles).
Does Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.