We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Back of Chapel Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Back of Chapel Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I had a short, week long stay at Back of Chapel, and both loved it! Booking process and communication was all really simple, and the place was super easy to get to (thanks to the directions provided!). The hostel is really well located, with plenty of great restaurants/bars as well as supermarkets/pharmacy/public transport all within short walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amodi L
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

I spend here almost two month and i meet a lot of great people, all my friend they ask me to suggest a place to stay in Melbourne i always send them in this place! Is not a quite and relaxing place if you are working for the all day isn't the place you are looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davide l
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 28, 2016

The hostel has dorm rooms and private rooms some with balconies which is nice. Clean and stays clean a older building but can't complain. Free breakfast and WiFi. It was a bit pricey to me of what you get but that's what you get in Melbourne. Many long timers. Washers and Dryers are not free. The kitchen is small and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nelsonjacobo11
Reviewed March 10, 2016

Stayed in a double private room which might have infact, been an oven. I know they can't do much about the weather but sometimes it was hotter in our room than outside even with the rickety fan whirring constantly. This issue was mostly caused by the smoking balcony outside our window which meant it had to remain shut as per...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam K
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sam K, Thank you for choosing Back of Chapel backpackers on your recent trip, we really value your comments and feedback. The management and staff take pride in all they do to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant time whilst with us. As you mentioned there is not a lot we can do about the weather....

Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this place for over 4 months, and it became my 2nd home. The people I met and the great times we had here I will remember forever. There's seems to be a tradition that whoever moves into the hostel is welcomed by everyone else with open arms. Whether you're there for a week or for 4 months,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gareth B
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your review for Back of Chapel Backpackers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We plan on upgrading the TV soon so the quality will be proper HD! Safe travels and hope to see you soon, Aaron

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 29, 2015

I arrived in Melbourne, travelling alone and booked myself into a private room in the Back of Chapel for a few days and ended up staying for about 3 weeks. Ideally I would have stayed much longer but work took me into the CBD. This hostel seems to attract friendly, fun people who are up for a party but also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denisosul
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review of Back of Chapel Backpackers. We aim to keep a "relaxed, laid back atmosphere" and I'm so happy that is how you described us. Safe travels, Aaron

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Stayed here for two weeks. All the people who were staying in the hostel made it the great experience it was. It seems people have carried on the tradition of welcoming and trying to get to know everyone there. Arrived out of hours with my keys sitting waiting for me. Great location right beside the busy Chapel Street. I can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caoly1241
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank for posting your review of Back of Chapel Backpackers. We are so glad you had a great two weeks with us. We try to encourage a fun family environment here and we are happy to hear that was your opinion too. We have now fixed the Wi-Fi. It is available for free and high speed in all areas of...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 24, 2015

This has been my home for the last year and 2 months. It is friendly, clean and you become part of a family. I will never forget my time here and will be back to visit regularly. They go out there way to help. Have made some amazing friends here. Lastly I would like to say a massive thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BecksBooker87
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank for posting your positive review of Back of Chapel Backpackers. It's great to know that you enjoyed your time here over such a long period. We all miss you. (including Frankie and Louie) Safe travels, Aaron

Italy
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Very nice hostel! Staff helpful and friendly. A lovely lady is doing the cleaning every day. U ve got everything u need kitchen, allocated spaces where u can put ur groceries, fridges, there is also a laundry room where u can have your clothes wash and dry fast and efficiently. Lot s of toilets and showers! Meet some cool people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vero90x
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Great review! We are so happy that you wrote such a good review about us. You mentioned so many great amenities we provide. Safe travels, Aaron

Reviewed May 12, 2015

I booked into the hostel for a few weeks initially when I first got to Australia, I ended up staying for 5 months! The hostel has an excellent home feel to the place and is comfortable and friendly. There is always a great vibe within the people who stay, it has a great mix one 'long termers' and people short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack W
BackOfchapel, Owner at Back of Chapel Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jack W, Thank you for choosing our Backpackers on your recent trip, we really value your comments and feedback. Our staff take pride in all they do to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and memorable time whilst with us. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
364 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 119 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Pint on Punt
#3 of 3 in Windsor
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
587 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#26 of 119 in Melbourne
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“Back Of Chapel is devoted to providing our guests with the best experience. We hope to see you soon.”Back of Chapel is a 150 year old Victorian terrace, which has recently been renovated. We are Located in the South-Eastern suburb of Windsor in Melbourne, Australia. Back Of Chapel is nestled in the core of Chapel Street, which is a vibrant, cultural and popular tourist area in Melbourne. Chapel Street provides an historic setting with diverse dining in many cafes, restaurants and bars as well as innovative architecture with exciting arts and cultural venues. Here at Back Of Chapel we pride ourselves on offering the most fun, friendly and chilled out hostel in Melbourne. All of our rooms are reasonably priced and we cater for many types of travelers. Many of our guests make a reservation for a few days and end up staying for a few months. The diversity and enthusiasm of our guests provide a great family vibe. You can always count on meeting new and friendly people from all over the world. Back Of Chapel also has a dedicated bar for backpackers and friends. The BOC bar features a variety of local and imported beer, wine and spirits all at low prices. Our friendly staff will always make you feel welcome. If you are looking to stay for a few nights or a few months, Back Of Chapel will provide a homely and relaxed feel that will make your stay in Melbourne more enjoyable than anywhere else. Please note that our triple rooms consist of a double bed and a single bunk on top.Hostel reception hours are:8:30am-5pm everyday (closed 1-2pm)Recommended for guests over 18 years of Age. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Back of Chapel Backpackers

Address: 50 Green St, Windsor, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Windsor
Price Range: $27 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Back of Chapel Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Back of Chapel Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose one with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles nelsonjacobo11, Mar 28, 2016 | Read review
“The small double room is good value.”
 of 5 bubbles HughB472, Nov 3, 2014 | Read review
“If you like a view and out on the deck to chill out choose the room with the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles gemmab708, Sep 7, 2014 | Read review
“Private 4 is the best room, and perfect for a group of 3. Quiet, balcony and great wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles iruss2014, Jul 23, 2014 | Read review
“Some four bedroom dorms have a semi-private balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 452colinb, Apr 20, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question