We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel FitzRoy

Traveler (111)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (17)

About

#10 of 28 hotels in Val Thorens
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Le Fitz Roy sits at the Rond Point des Pistes at the heart of the highest resort in Europe. Since its construction, it has been the meeting place for mountain enthusiasts looking to enjoy sophistication and a friendly atmosphere in an understated luxury setting. Guests will find themselves at home, feet up by the fireplace, settled comfortably in the library or cosily cosseted away in one of the 58 rooms. Outside, the terrace affords an uninterrupted view of the peaks that encourages the mind to wander. Inside, the restaurant offers many a gourmet trip for the taste buds while the spa is a place of deep relaxation and restoration. The luxury of timeless surroundings, the quality of service and the art of hospitality come together here to create a home from home for friends, families and couples to enjoy a short break or an entire ski season.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
52Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
278Reviews
2Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 53
  • 39
  • 23
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights with breakfast only. It is not our first time but last time was few years ago before the renovation they did. Hotel location is excellent and probably the best location in the village. Rooms are well designed and large enough. Beds are not comfortable and so the pillows. There is only one elevator for the all hotel so it sometimes take long to go up/down. The ski room access to the ski slop is not the best and you have some stairs to go up in the morning before to ski. They are not always arrange the room on the evening few time time and few nights no without any notice. You can seat for hours in the bar area or the lobby and none of the staff will offer you to order drinks, you will need always to ask them. Overall it was ok but not enough for the 5 star hotel. The SPA is ok but would be great to have beds in the pool to relax and not just chairs.
Read more
Response from DELANNOY_Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy
Responded Apr 20, 2019
Dear Family Knight, We would like to thank you for your comment concerning your recent stay with us. The Fitz Roy team is delighted to see that you enjoyed our rooms. We are surprised to read that you did not like the beds neither the pillows are they are brand new. Pillows are big and soft and we do have thiner ones into the cupboards. We understand the stairs from the ski room to the slopes is big, that is why our guest usually use the access from the bar. We are currently thinking of improving it, even if it is not easy as the slope does not belong to the hotel. We are deeply sorry that it took too long for the service in our restaurant & bar. Best Regards, FDELANNOY General Manager
Read more
We came here with 12 friends for apres and sat outside on a beautiful sunny day we spent a ridiculous amount of money and had a great time. The second we came back, it was snowing and there was plenty of room inside to accommodate the now 6 of us, but the staff insisted there was no room despite us seeing all the empty space available. Drinks are severely overpriced, you have to find your waiter several times if you want served. If you want an expensive drink with no atmosphere, go here!
Read more
Response from DELANNOY_Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy
Responded Mar 22, 2019
Dear Clarissanewall, I am really disappointed to read your feedback about your 'okay' experience in our bar area. I would be delighted to communicate with you, as I am really concerned that you had to wait for our waiters. I do apologize. At the moment we have live music every Wednesday and Sunday's evenings, and I would be glad to welcoming you back at this time, so you can enjoy a great atmosphere. Feel free to contact me at: reception@hotelfitzroy.com. Best Regards, FDELANNOY Directeur Hôtel Fitz Roy*****
Read more
Great hotel. Nice staff. Good ski shop. Good location. Decent food. Double Gin and Tonic = €35.00. The bar tab for 8 of us was €8,000 after 3 nights so take your credit card because you’ll need it! We might go back but next time we will venture out for drinks and food.
Read more
We booked this hotel through Crystal on a half board package. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and shown around the hotel facilities before being taken to room 203, which was small but lovely with a piste view and balcony. As part of the half board package you can also eat at the sister 4* Val Thorens hotel which is just a stone’s throw away. The food at both places was really good, and the dessert buffet at Le Fitz Roy is fabulous. All the staff and waiters are lovely at both hotels. The hotel is very modern and nicely furnished. The location is great, right on the Plein Sud piste where you can ski to door. Although I have to say that the very small area between the piste and the top of the locker room steps is lethal as it isn’t gritted or cleared of the snow. The spa is lovely including the pool which, a bit chilly on first entry, is great once you’re used to it. There is also a steam room and sauna along with available treatments. There was a great WI-FI connection. There are connecting doors between rooms and unfortunately you can hear people next door very easily. Overall, a fabulous place which I would definitely come back to.
Read more
Response from DELANNOY_Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy
Responded Mar 22, 2019
Dear Julie, It is a pleasure to read your feedback concerning your recent stay with us in Val Thorens. The room you had book, is a nice Comfort room overlooking to the slopes, and is usually really apreciated from our guests. This is great to see that you have tried many of our services and you liked it, as our Spa, Ski access to the slopes, wi-fi service and all three restaurants (in the Hôtel Le Val Thorens**** & our property). We look forward to welcoming back you at Le Fitz Roy ***** Best Regards, FDelannoy Directeur Hôtel Fitz Roy *****
Read more
I just had a coffee with my husband, not the hotel the terrasse is great and coco very good! Not expensive! The view is amazing, and the staff very helpful about all the activities around Val Thorens.
Read more
Response from DELANNOY_Fabien, Directeur général at Hotel FitzRoy
Responded Mar 22, 2019
Deal Eliza, Thank you so much for your great review concerning your experience at the Fitz Roy Hôtel, our five star-hotel in Val Thorens. Feel free to come back as we currently have the perfect weather to enjoy a drink in our terrace ! Best Regards, FDELANNOY General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$256 - $1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hôtel fitzroy val thorens
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieLes BellevilleSaint-Martin-de-BellevilleVal Thorens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing