We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes

Save
Share
Route d Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer France
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Trip.com
$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/05/22
Expedia.com$332
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (551)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (40)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 40 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.3
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Spa
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
French
1092Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 352
  • 379
  • 179
  • 106
  • 76
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
KathVan2020 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff is not trained to give you correct information and then blame the customers. The hotel called us on the day we were supposed to check in to just bluntly tell us they couldn’t welcome us anymore.. even though we had booked online and agreed on the phone with them beforehand. Leaving us with the stress of not knowing where to sleep with our kid (all hotels around booked). When we finally booked somewhere else they called us back to say they found a solution hours laters... As we couldn’t backtrack with our other online booking we had to decline and they are now unwilling to refund us our 50% deposit. A disgrace!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik Steunenberg, General Manager at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Madame Vandal bonjour, Nous comprenons votre mécontentement, il faut rester honnête envers l’ audience : vous avez réservé en ligne une chambre pour 2 personnes que vous voudriez occuper avec 3 personnes. L’ Hotel ne pouvait pas accepter que vous séjourniez à 3 dans une chambre prévue pour 2 ! La Chef de Reception vous a trouvé une solution que vous n'avez pas acceptée et vous avez pris la décision de ne pas séjourner chez nous. Vous avez écrit à l’ hôtel et la Direction reviendra vers vous lors de son retour. Les ‘no show’ sont effectivement facturés, chez nous comme ailleurs dans le monde. Très cordialement, Very kind regards, Hendrik Steunenberg
Read more
James J wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Wonderful landscape. Awful rooms. Badly functioning AC, non functioning mosquito netting, leaking shower, inadequate power outlets, very low bandwidth. Uncompromising staff. They sell the rooms as shabby-chic, but they are just shabby. Your money is best spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Dear Mr. Joint, You have been writing on the various social media in French ; now you try in English ! Enough is enough ! You are making a fool out of yourselves ; we have responded to your various E – mails in which you have been threatening to contact the local Tourism office ; so far you have not done. Please do so ; by copie of this answer we inform our collegue hoteliers that we have black listed you on our guest list ; please refrain from making any further reservations in any of our properties for any of our services. The reader of the social media is very well capable to read through your comments and compare your comments to those of other customers being more fair in their judgements. We will inform the Trip Advisor organisation of your multiple harassment towards our staff and fine property. Maybe in your home country you feel it appropriate to act the way you act ; here in Europe we do it differently !!
Read more
Jillian C wrote a review Sep 2019
St. Albert, Canada180 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
I was a first time traveller to France. I had taken the train from Paris to Arles and was so excited for my few days exploring the Camargue. Upon arriving into Arles, on a Sunday, there were no taxi's to be found. If one could see me - I was walking around with a large suitcase, purse and handbag walking through the town trying to find a taxi. Speaking very little french, I walked into a hotel and asked (in very broken French) if they could order me a taxi. He told me I had to walk back to the train station. So off I went. 30 minutes later, soaking wet from sweat and feeling defeated I found a taxi. He agreed to take me the 40 minute drive to L'Aubere Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes... the price... 92 Euros! Yup - $132 Canadian sheckels! Now - this is not on the hotel - I realize that - but it is important to note! Bring cash and expect a fairly hefty taxi ride. With the class of this hotel, I would have paid an added fee for the hotel to pick me up... honestly! With never being to France I did not realize how remote this hotel really was. When we arrived at the hotel - I was greated with 2 very Smiley faces! Helberth and Didian (I know I am spelling his name wrong). They both spoke English very well (and I was so relieved). Check in process was easy and smooth. When I had booked the hotel, I had asked to be booked for a horse back ride, spa date and dinner. They handled absolutely everything! I had the riding booked for 9am the next morning, dinner at their restaurant for 8pm that night and unfortunately had to cancel the spa day due to unforseen circumstances with their masseuse. Honestly, this worked out perfectly. After checking in, I took my large luggage and headed off to my cowboy cabin. Although it does not look exaclty like the pictures it was still very nice. I really cared about the view and that is what I got! My little decked backed onto where the horses ate and were kept. Once I checked in, I wanted to keep my cheese that I had bought from another town in the minifridge. This was one downfall - they do not want anything put in the minifridge. I ended up having to throw out the cheese that I had bought as it was not going to keep. From here, I headed to the pool and spent a good 3 hours just soaking up the sun, cooling off in the pool and enjoying some downtime. There was a drink menu that you could order from but no one ever came out to take orders. It was not until the next day, when I was asking for something from the front desk, that they said I could order a drink at the bar and have it by the pool. Dinner at Les Bannes was AMAZING!!!! The English here was not as strong as the front desk, and they were not as friendly, but I still received great service and an excellent meal. They sat me beside the pool, over looking the marsh lands. I ate dinner, watching the sun set and enjoying French Wine, breads and food that was absolutely worth every minute I spent there. I left there and went to bed full, happy and completely in engulfed in the experience. Riding the horses was a bit different of experience. It is definitely what you would expect when signing up for a horse tour. Well broke horses, single file line and uncomfortable saddles. As I have ample riding experience, as a I was a show jumper and grew up around horses and in stables, I was able to keep my expectations low - but Ill be honest - those saddles for people who know how to ride are not comfortable. When I booked the tour I advised them that I was experience, was tall and wanted to have a larger horse. They did accommodate this and I LOVED riding the horse I had. The trainer and her helper were very friendly and you could tell were riders, which I appreciated. I wish, however, that the tour could have been broken up with experienced horse people and non-experienced horse people. Although the scenery and horses were beautiful, we were only able to canter for about 1 minute. Not even in the water like other videos or tours were doing. In terms of the care of these horses - they are very well cared for. When you drive along the road and see these different tour places, the horses are standing there for HOURS with tack on. The ladies did have the horses ready for when we were there, but the minute the tour was done, they were getting put away and back to having a life of a horse. The horses are well fed, watered and have their own stalls with their name on it. The girls working with the horses are very gentle and kind to them. This was so amazing to see. My last day, I was to catch the train at 1pm. Not knowing that a cab back to the train station would be difficult to get (as the cabs are only about a 5 min drive from the hotel) I did not request one till about 1130. Little did I know, the cab drivers would not drive to the train station! With the help of the front desk staff, and 7minutes to go, she drove me to the bus station to catch a bus. I was on my way back to Arles for my train. The staff here are amazing - honestly - I felt very well taken care of and although I tried to speak French, they were very understanding. The hotel is quiet, peaceful and offers something for the soul. Whether it was in the cooking at Les Bannes, the cool water, sun or sound of all the wildlife. This hotel was unique and made my experience in the Camargue very special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I asked for a Cowboy Cabin. It was great - BUT - they are very close to one another.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Manager at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Mrs; We thank you for your kind review concernaning your stay in the Camargue. Indeed, Canada and or the United States differ quite a bit from France as you have experienced… some 98 % of our individual guests travel by car or rental car they pick up from the airport or railway station, as this gives the necessary flexibility to move around while you are with us in the Camargue. For this reason we do not have a courtesy coach between airport / railway station and the hotel. We are pleased to notice that the staff experience was in general up to standard – thank you again. Camargue horses are relatively small horses, certainly not as big as some of the Spanish horses or US horses; for tall guests and or guests with a heavy weight, the Camargue horses are there for not necessarily the most suitable as you might have noticed. Should you want to benefit even more from your horse ride trip, please consider a VIP tour ; under this program you decide as a guest the itinerary as you have a guide to yourselves. We look forward welcoming you again to the Camargue; Lucile, Front Office Manager
Read more
SZYW wrote a review Nov 2018
Neath, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
If you love nature you’ll be blown away by a stay in one of these little thatched houses amongst the reed beds and pools. Birds and dragonflies everywhere. Ride one of their white Camargue horses on the beach and trek past lakes with literally hundreds of wild flamingoes. The breakfasts are superb, so fresh and with so much choice. The restaurant is class, but not cheap. The coastal town of Saintes Maries has an amazing market and lots of lovely little shops and restaurants and is only a ten minute drive. Car would be desirable. Definitely would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
ViktorTatran wrote a review Oct 2018
Los Angeles, California215 contributions129 helpful votes
There is something strange here : This hotel is situated in the middle of the Camargue, right in the middle of an equestrian center. But the hotel doesn't know anything of the equestrian center! If you wish to make a jaunt with a horse, they don't know anything. You must manage and go to the equestrian center! At the reception, the people are nice but useless. Funny that they can't recommend a really good restaurant. We choose a room called "cabane de gardian". Not the best choice! High level of humidity and 2 very little windows (50x50). Bathroom really tiny. Finally, we had a drink before the diner: 2 mint with water. We paid something as 7 euros per drink (10$). Really overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
shoshoar wrote a review Aug 2018
Milan, Italy35 contributions16 helpful votes
Ok- the place is very pictoresque and we liked it a lot but it is certainly not a 4 star hotel. The services are insufficient and you have to pay for everything.the pools were falling to pieces, the pool table has to be paid for, the bed is super uncomfortable and for the 2 nights we stayed there nobody cleaned the ashtray used by the previous guests( we don't smoke). It has to be renewed and the price list lowered because it is not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Aug 28, 2018
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous considérez notre domaine pittoresque et que vous l’avez vraisemblablement apprécié. Nous nous demandons de quel service vous avez manqué ; veuillez vous mettre en contact directement avec nos équipes afin que nous puissions échanger de vive voix. Nous ne parvenons pas a retrouver votre réservation car vous écrivez sous un pseudonyme... Ce qui est dommage. Quant à nos piscines, vous avez pu lire lors de l’entrée aux bassins que la qualité d’eau est conforme aux demandes de l’État et que le taux de chlore est tellement bien réglé que vous ne le remarquez pas. En ce qui concerne la piscine autour du restaurant "Entre Terre et Mer" vous avez pu constaté effectivement des taches sur les murs du bassin ; la raison vous a été mentionnée sous le parasol de votre transat. Effectivement le billard est payant, mais le tennis par exemple gratuit ; quoi dire ? Le cendrier sur votre terrasse devrait être propre ; il se peut qu’un client en se promenant dans le Domaine ai jeté son mégot dans le cendrier qui se trouve sur votre terrasse et nous nous en excusons à sa place... Sincères salutations Camarguaises,
Read more
Walter R wrote a review Jul 2018
Woking, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I'd like to counter any negative reivews. I spent a considerable time xhoosing an hotel to suit our requirements. I liased with reception for two weeks prior to travelling. I must single out, Didier Panizzon, a member of reception, he was my online contact and supplied information and responded to my requests prior to our arrival. The room and outlook (the horses and marsh) was perfect and every member of staff was competent and courteous. Food was excellent especially the wide choice at breakfast. Once again I must thank Didier Panizzon for helping to make our stay reach expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are glad to read that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the quality of service provided by our team.We hope to see you again in Camargue ! Kind regards,
Read more
NathiOslo wrote a review Jul 2018
Oslo, Norway423 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
Last minute decision to visit Saintes Maries and we got a last minute price on the hotel website for a great triple room, on the canal, facing the horses track. Beautiful surroundings, watched the horses from the room terrasse, got to bed with the song of the frogs and up with the ducks. Different and super nice, tasteful room and practical with parking on the back. Super friendly and helpful staff, helped booked a restaurant, Le Rouget, which was as described. Incredible breakfast with huge choice. Less than 10 min drive to the center and beach. Be aware that the fancy restaurant in the hotel, le Pont des Bannes, has a dress code so we had to drop the alternative. Absolutely to recommend for couples or family. Consider to upgrade to the guardian houses, one was on a little island and looked cosy and cool! Horse riding available too at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Dear client, We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again in Camargue ! Kind regards,
Read more
Batwon wrote a review Jun 2018
43 contributions28 helpful votes
Well I was there on July with my company as it was a motivational holiday. I entered the reception and the check-in was seamless, staff was attentive and smiley. I had a long but a pleasant walk to my room which was at the end of the pond so I had my little corner to sit and relax. There are 2 doors when you enter the room so you are protected from mosquitoes. The room looked refurbished with amenities available that you'd expect from a 4* property, minibar with good variety, AC was turned on upon arrival, good room and massive bathroom size with separate cabin for toilet. I cant say any negatives about the room but suggestions would be you should give another key for the inner door because when I try to get into the room I do it quickly to not to let mosquitoes in and I cannot lock the door at the outside, the shower looks modern but inconvenient to keep the area clean, my safe was not working (I did not call help). The resort itself has a very authentic bar loved the way it looked like from the medieval times. Good breakfast for Hotels in France I also liked the dinners we had. We also used the horse riding activity which doesn't belong to the hotel but are lodged there and the bicycle activity, all this I can relate to the hotel too as they are kind of partners therefore it offered great opportunities for activities too. Overall a great fun stay with attentive staff in an enjoyable property. keep it going!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Responded Jun 21, 2018
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are glad to read that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our attentive staff and your room. We take good note of your comments regarding the room and the bathroom in order to give satisfaction to our dear guests. We would be happy to welcome you during your next stay in Camargue !
Read more
Alexander T wrote a review Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom11 contributions20 helpful votes
Their staff are totally incompetent and the rudest I have ever met anywhere ever, the food is very ordinary and not at all worth the higher price that you will pay over much better restaurants nearby. It was also windy, cold, they have no blankets despite this and you will get eaten alive by mosquitoes. Somebody had diarrhea in the toilets and it hadn't been cleaned up when I went in with my two-year-old son which was revolting. We had to wait for ages for any attention from the waiting staff, the food was a bland disappointment, the music was not anywhere near as good as we had experienced in Arles. I booked this restaurant in July for my Father-in-law’s 60th birthday. It was two €100 taxi journeys from beautiful Arles where we were staying and in hindsight given the awful experience we had in the restaurant at Auberge Cavaliere, I wish we had stayed in Arles and celebrated in one of the many excellent restaurants we discovered there instead. I had been corresponding with the girl in charge of their restaurant, for a number of weeks before we arrived, about their “Soiree Gypsy” to ask questions. This was the sole reason we’d booked as my father-in-law is a big fan of gypsy jazz. We arrived early to a virtually empty restaurant to discover we had been placed, despite her being aware of the significance of the occasion to our family, on the very edge of the terrace exposed to the wind on two sides. I asked for us to be moved to a better table and initially the manager refused, saying there were other guests arriving and the other tables were reserved. I then asked if these guests had reserved those specific tables, and she had to concede they hadn’t. Eventually, and very begrudgingly, after intimating that I was being a complete pain as there was “no difference at all in any of the tables and how cold it would be”, (which was not true at all) she put us on a better table. I also noted that the terrace did not fill completely, and she had just been lying. It was really like she was going out of her way to be horrible. We had ordered a variety of menus as for their Soiree Gypsy you couldn’t order a la carte. Because it was a celebration we asked if we could order additional dishes beyond what was included in the menu. They said we could order additional menus, which we did. Instead they gave us dishes from the choices within the menu, but charged us as though it was a la carte and then refused to give us any deserts. So we paid more than the menu for less dishes. I only realised this after I paid (I was in such a hurry to leave and go somewhere else for a post-dinner celebratory bottle of champagne) and they refused to listen or refund the money. Going there was truly horrible experience, which was mainly down to the truly awful and unpleasant hostess/restaurant manager (it wasn’t entirely clear what her role was). But to be honest even if she’d been lovely, this would still have been a disappointment due to the music not being very exciting, the cold and the dull food. The food included the most disgusting sugar-laden blamange “birthday cake” I have ever eaten which arrived without any attempt to make a fuss over my father-in-law at all. Nobody could manage more than a spoonful it was so revolting. And when judging my review and whatever nonsense I am guessing will be written in response to this (given it will probably be that awful restaurant manager) in light of my negative review, please read my other reviews and see I generally post positively and say very nice things about where I have eaten or stayed. It is only when I have had a truly diabolical experience that I feel it necessary to warn others from making a similar bad decision to me. This was DEFINITELY my worst restaurant experience ever. I strongly suggest you DO NOT EAT HERE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge cavaliere hotel saintes-maries-de-la-mer
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneSaintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes
Which popular attractions are close to L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Nearby attractions include Promenade a Cheval Chez Elise (3.9 miles), Equestrian Theater Camarkas (3.7 miles), and Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thaicecream, Hosteria Chez Dado & Lilly, and Le Chante Clair.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort de Peccais (8.6 miles) and Chateau d'Avignon (6.8 miles).
Is L'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.