We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes

Save
Share
route Departementale 570 Route d'Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$320
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (514)
Room & Suite (69)
Pool & Beach (28)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 40 hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
En bordure du Parc régional de Camargue, entre terre et marais, s'élevé la grande Cabane de l'Auberge Cavaliere du Pont des Bannes, suivie d'une envolée de cabanes de gardian, a fleur d'eau. Au gré du vent ou de vos humeurs, vous irez chevaucher a travers le marais sous le vol impromptu des flamants... Vous foulerez de vos pieds les étendues de salicorne au phare de la Gacholle... Ou, tout simplement, vous dégusterez un verre de rose sous les tamaris et dormirez dans nos Cabanes de Gardian...
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French
1,037Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 335
  • 369
  • 172
  • 96
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KathVan2020 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff is not trained to give you correct information and then blame the customers. The hotel called us on the day we were supposed to check in to just bluntly tell us they couldn’t welcome us anymore.. even though we had booked online and agreed on the phone with them beforehand. Leaving us with the stress of not knowing where to sleep with our kid (all hotels around booked). When we finally booked somewhere else they called us back to say they found a solution hours laters... As we couldn’t backtrack with our other online booking we had to decline and they are now unwilling to refund us our 50% deposit. A disgrace!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik Steunenberg, General Manager at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Madame Vandal bonjour, Nous comprenons votre mécontentement, il faut rester honnête envers l’ audience : vous avez réservé en ligne une chambre pour 2 personnes que vous voudriez occuper avec 3 personnes. L’ Hotel ne pouvait pas accepter que vous séjourniez à 3 dans une chambre prévue pour 2 ! La Chef de Reception vous a trouvé une solution que vous n'avez pas acceptée et vous avez pris la décision de ne pas séjourner chez nous. Vous avez écrit à l’ hôtel et la Direction reviendra vers vous lors de son retour. Les ‘no show’ sont effectivement facturés, chez nous comme ailleurs dans le monde. Très cordialement, Very kind regards, Hendrik Steunenberg
Read more
James J wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Wonderful landscape. Awful rooms. Badly functioning AC, non functioning mosquito netting, leaking shower, inadequate power outlets, very low bandwidth. Uncompromising staff. They sell the rooms as shabby-chic, but they are just shabby. Your money is best spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Owner at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Dear Mr. Joint, You have been writing on the various social media in French ; now you try in English ! Enough is enough ! You are making a fool out of yourselves ; we have responded to your various E – mails in which you have been threatening to contact the local Tourism office ; so far you have not done. Please do so ; by copie of this answer we inform our collegue hoteliers that we have black listed you on our guest list ; please refrain from making any further reservations in any of our properties for any of our services. The reader of the social media is very well capable to read through your comments and compare your comments to those of other customers being more fair in their judgements. We will inform the Trip Advisor organisation of your multiple harassment towards our staff and fine property. Maybe in your home country you feel it appropriate to act the way you act ; here in Europe we do it differently !!
Read more
Jillian C wrote a review Sep 2019
St. Albert, Canada178 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
I was a first time traveller to France. I had taken the train from Paris to Arles and was so excited for my few days exploring the Camargue. Upon arriving into Arles, on a Sunday, there were no taxi's to be found. If one could see me - I was walking around with a large suitcase, purse and handbag walking through the town trying to find a taxi. Speaking very little french, I walked into a hotel and asked (in very broken French) if they could order me a taxi. He told me I had to walk back to the train station. So off I went. 30 minutes later, soaking wet from sweat and feeling defeated I found a taxi. He agreed to take me the 40 minute drive to L'Aubere Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes... the price... 92 Euros! Yup - $132 Canadian sheckels! Now - this is not on the hotel - I realize that - but it is important to note! Bring cash and expect a fairly hefty taxi ride. With the class of this hotel, I would have paid an added fee for the hotel to pick me up... honestly! With never being to France I did not realize how remote this hotel really was. When we arrived at the hotel - I was greated with 2 very Smiley faces! Helberth and Didian (I know I am spelling his name wrong). They both spoke English very well (and I was so relieved). Check in process was easy and smooth. When I had booked the hotel, I had asked to be booked for a horse back ride, spa date and dinner. They handled absolutely everything! I had the riding booked for 9am the next morning, dinner at their restaurant for 8pm that night and unfortunately had to cancel the spa day due to unforseen circumstances with their masseuse. Honestly, this worked out perfectly. After checking in, I took my large luggage and headed off to my cowboy cabin. Although it does not look exaclty like the pictures it was still very nice. I really cared about the view and that is what I got! My little decked backed onto where the horses ate and were kept. Once I checked in, I wanted to keep my cheese that I had bought from another town in the minifridge. This was one downfall - they do not want anything put in the minifridge. I ended up having to throw out the cheese that I had bought as it was not going to keep. From here, I headed to the pool and spent a good 3 hours just soaking up the sun, cooling off in the pool and enjoying some downtime. There was a drink menu that you could order from but no one ever came out to take orders. It was not until the next day, when I was asking for something from the front desk, that they said I could order a drink at the bar and have it by the pool. Dinner at Les Bannes was AMAZING!!!! The English here was not as strong as the front desk, and they were not as friendly, but I still received great service and an excellent meal. They sat me beside the pool, over looking the marsh lands. I ate dinner, watching the sun set and enjoying French Wine, breads and food that was absolutely worth every minute I spent there. I left there and went to bed full, happy and completely in engulfed in the experience. Riding the horses was a bit different of experience. It is definitely what you would expect when signing up for a horse tour. Well broke horses, single file line and uncomfortable saddles. As I have ample riding experience, as a I was a show jumper and grew up around horses and in stables, I was able to keep my expectations low - but Ill be honest - those saddles for people who know how to ride are not comfortable. When I booked the tour I advised them that I was experience, was tall and wanted to have a larger horse. They did accommodate this and I LOVED riding the horse I had. The trainer and her helper were very friendly and you could tell were riders, which I appreciated. I wish, however, that the tour could have been broken up with experienced horse people and non-experienced horse people. Although the scenery and horses were beautiful, we were only able to canter for about 1 minute. Not even in the water like other videos or tours were doing. In terms of the care of these horses - they are very well cared for. When you drive along the road and see these different tour places, the horses are standing there for HOURS with tack on. The ladies did have the horses ready for when we were there, but the minute the tour was done, they were getting put away and back to having a life of a horse. The horses are well fed, watered and have their own stalls with their name on it. The girls working with the horses are very gentle and kind to them. This was so amazing to see. My last day, I was to catch the train at 1pm. Not knowing that a cab back to the train station would be difficult to get (as the cabs are only about a 5 min drive from the hotel) I did not request one till about 1130. Little did I know, the cab drivers would not drive to the train station! With the help of the front desk staff, and 7minutes to go, she drove me to the bus station to catch a bus. I was on my way back to Arles for my train. The staff here are amazing - honestly - I felt very well taken care of and although I tried to speak French, they were very understanding. The hotel is quiet, peaceful and offers something for the soul. Whether it was in the cooking at Les Bannes, the cool water, sun or sound of all the wildlife. This hotel was unique and made my experience in the Camargue very special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I asked for a Cowboy Cabin. It was great - BUT - they are very close to one another.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hendrik S, Manager at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Mrs; We thank you for your kind review concernaning your stay in the Camargue. Indeed, Canada and or the United States differ quite a bit from France as you have experienced… some 98 % of our individual guests travel by car or rental car they pick up from the airport or railway station, as this gives the necessary flexibility to move around while you are with us in the Camargue. For this reason we do not have a courtesy coach between airport / railway station and the hotel. We are pleased to notice that the staff experience was in general up to standard – thank you again. Camargue horses are relatively small horses, certainly not as big as some of the Spanish horses or US horses; for tall guests and or guests with a heavy weight, the Camargue horses are there for not necessarily the most suitable as you might have noticed. Should you want to benefit even more from your horse ride trip, please consider a VIP tour ; under this program you decide as a guest the itinerary as you have a guide to yourselves. We look forward welcoming you again to the Camargue; Lucile, Front Office Manager
Read more
SZYW wrote a review Nov 2018
Neath, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
If you love nature you’ll be blown away by a stay in one of these little thatched houses amongst the reed beds and pools. Birds and dragonflies everywhere. Ride one of their white Camargue horses on the beach and trek past lakes with literally hundreds of wild flamingoes. The breakfasts are superb, so fresh and with so much choice. The restaurant is class, but not cheap. The coastal town of Saintes Maries has an amazing market and lots of lovely little shops and restaurants and is only a ten minute drive. Car would be desirable. Definitely would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ViktorTatran wrote a review Oct 2018
Los Angeles, California214 contributions103 helpful votes
There is something strange here : This hotel is situated in the middle of the Camargue, right in the middle of an equestrian center. But the hotel doesn't know anything of the equestrian center! If you wish to make a jaunt with a horse, they don't know anything. You must manage and go to the equestrian center! At the reception, the people are nice but useless. Funny that they can't recommend a really good restaurant. We choose a room called "cabane de gardian". Not the best choice! High level of humidity and 2 very little windows (50x50). Bathroom really tiny. Finally, we had a drink before the diner: 2 mint with water. We paid something as 7 euros per drink (10$). Really overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge cavaliere hotel saintes-maries-de-la-mer
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneSaintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
Which popular attractions are close to L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Nearby attractions include Equestrian Theater Camarkas (3.7 miles), Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau (1.7 miles), and The Camargue (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thaicecream, Le Chante Clair, and La Bohème by JF.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort de Peccais (8.6 miles) and Chateau d'Avignon (6.8 miles).
Is L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.