We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection

Save
Share
Les Jardins du Casino, 14390 Cabourg France
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$297
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Booking.com
$295
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
MGallery
$283
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Algotels$354
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1309)
Room & Suite (413)
Dining (102)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 12 hotels in Cabourg
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
You will be captivated by the timeless charm of the Grand Hôtel Cabourg, immortalized by Marcel Proust. Its spacious rooms have sea views or overlook the gardens & flowers. The restaurant faces the promenade & offers exquisite Normandy cuisine & memorable snacks. Come for a family vacation or a weekend away with your partner; the Grand Hôtel Cabourg offers you undivided attention for an unforgettable stay, whatever the time of year. (MGallery collection).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French
2334Reviews10Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,468
  • 606
  • 166
  • 56
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tessie1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Warlingham, United Kingdom681 contributions572 helpful votes
This is a 5* hotel and, (unlike other 5* hotels of my personal experience), is superb. The service here is faultless, unobtrusive, thoughtful, friendly but non-obsequious, anticipatory, efficient - in short, excellent. I’m puzzled by some of the reviews that speak of a gloomy, faded atmosphere- this simply isn’t true. The building is a fin de siecle structure, imposing, commanding, “grand” The foyer is beautiful with a very cosy bar to the left. It’s a lovely space with a direct view of the sea and an exit direct to the sea. Rooms are supremely comfortable, very spacious with marvellous beds, high quality linens and every requirement is catered for. The excellence continues in the bathroom where the fluffy towels, hugely efficient and very large shower, great toiletries all combine to provide the 5* experience. Decor is tasteful and no, there aren’t any priceless antiques in the rooms and there’s the odd, creaky floorboard, but so what - rooms are great. We were very sad that we couldn’t get a table for dinner at Le Balbec during our stay, but our schedule clashed with availability. We loved Cabourg, its wonderful, vast sandy shore, its delightful faded elegance and we loved The Grand Hotel. We shall return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Drew K wrote a review Jun 2022
Ballwin, Missouri857 contributions261 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is an amazing place but melancholy as it was built in 1907 at the end of the Belle Epoque when Europe was peaceful and looking forward to a continued era of peace and prosperity only to be shattered by the horrific First World War. Our room was spacious and the staff efficient. Our room overlooked the town courtyard, but I suspect the seaside rooms are spectacular. We had a wonderful dinner in a private dining room with our Backroads tour. The breakfast was great, and we enjoyed the bar with a Norman favorite aperitif, Pommeau a cider spiked with the other Norman specialty, Calvados.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear Guest, We thank you for your positive comments regarding you stay at the Grand Hotel. We are delighted that you appreciated the idyllic setting, the history and the beauty of our establishment. As well, the confort of your room with a beautiful garden side view, the quality of our service in our restaurant Le Balbec and our bar La Belle Epoque. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gaëlle GRELAT Directrice Générale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EVA N wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Very old and not modern, not at all a 5 stars hotel! The woman in charge of the reception was very rude and not professional at all. Our room smelt very bad even after leaving the window opened for 3 hours. There is also no infrastructure (pool, beach club etc) included in the room while it’s expensive. Wouldn’t recommend this hotel…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Dear Eva N, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. However, during the evening, we gave you a small perfume for your room. We also give all the information about our infrastructures on our official website. During the summer and all the weekend of September we have a private beach that belongs tot he hotel. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gaëlle GRELAT General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kdewitte27 wrote a review Jul 2022
Bonheiden, Belgium32 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed her for 3 nights. I can’t believe the average 4star+ rating on Tripadvisor. Don’t be fooled. This once must have been a chique Grand Hotel. I realize every critique has to be seen in the right context. But when you charge 600+ a night, you set a certain expectation. And, at the Grand Hotel in Cabourg they fail to meet that. In all fairness. The staff is great. Friendly and helpful. At check out, when I was asked about our experience, I did express some of my disappointment. So was, I overheard, the person standing next to me….. When I left the lobby I was approached by a guest representative who wanted to know more about my complaints. I spent a few minutes explaining but other than an apology I got 5000 Accor courtesy points. That is roughly the equivalent of 10 euros. Sorry, this is making things worse! I had a similar experience when checking in. As I seem to have reached Gold status at Accorr, I got a voucher for 2 drinks at the bar. Nice touch. But when I tried to use them I was told that the “signature” cocktail, a Negroni worth a lousy 12 ir 14 euro’s or so, couldn’t be ordered with the voucher. I could get a glass of campari instead (priced a bit less, was it 10 euro? So only a few euros less)….. This is typical. It’s typical for Accor. They try to play loyalty marketing, but they miserably fail in executing it. Then again, we’re in France. Quality (of service) here follows different rules. Coffee capsules don’t get replenished. The bags for the linnen service don’t get returned after the first use, etc To me the whole idea about loyalty marketing is to reward clients. To make them feel good. But if you don’t understand how it works and you create more frustration than tender love and care, then in my humble opinion, you better should stay away from it all. Back to the hotel experience… Old. We can appreciate authenticity. But this hotel is just old. Does not have the grand 5star feel. Badly maintained. One example: The white curtains in the bar. More black (dirty) than they are white. Old. The room. While big. It just felt really old. Outdated. Dirty carpet. Overall very low quality standards. Bathroom, black tiles, creme tiles in the shower with super white silicone sealing. Feels like it was done by a do it yourself amateur. Airco, not sure there was one ….anyway, it was way too hot, so we opened the front window. Sea side. The whole night until 6am we had kids doing a “nuit blanche” in front of the hotel, right under our room. Noisy, with a portable speaker set. Constantly shouting, chanting and singing. Nobody who did anything about it. Restaurant. Also too hot again. When I got the bill presented my 135 euro bottle of wine was charged at 185. “Sorry, computer problem”. I can go on. I must sound like a spoiled brat, whining about first world problems. But… It’s what I told the guest representative. When you pay close to 2000 euro for 3 nights, you just expect something else. And I feel entitled to complain when I did not experience one but a whole slew of failures . Every price sets a certain expectation. Telling me that your pricing is aligned with other hotels of “this standard” in the area is the wrong answer. Sorry. K
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Dear Mr. De Witte, We wish to thank you for your feedback on your stay of this month of July. When meeting our guests upon departure, we usually try to understand why they could have been disappointed, but other than the size of the room and the authentic atmosphere, which you outlined giving its charm to the hotel, we do not recall such a rich amount of details as the one you displayed in your above comment. We are pleased to take good care of our guests and always offer special attentions to our All members. The voucher given at your arrival is presented to members with special status and covers a large choices of beverages. You will understand that it can’t include the entire bar menu. We are very disappointed that we could not discuss these troubles during your stay, which usually allows us to improve our guest’s experience before they leave; or even at your departure time. We tried our best to match your feedback on the value for money, rewarding your All Loyalty card with 5000 courtesy points for a value of 100EUR. We are sorry if this commercial gesture was still not enough for you. Should you wish to exchange directly with the hotel, we remain at your entire disposal for any further discussion. Best regards, Gaëlle Grelat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kreammer wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne4 contributions
Beautiful hotel with perfect service. Generously sized rooms, nice breakfast and excellent dinner options - everything just 2 steps from the beach. My son enjoyed the beach, the downtown walking area just 100m from the hotel as well as the carousel just outside the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 16, 2022
Dear Kreammer, Thank you for sharing your compliments following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were able to fully enjoy the sea, the idyllic setting of our town and the quality of our services. We will share your comments with our team. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards, Gaëlle Grelat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAMES L wrote a review Jul 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom307 contributions139 helpful votes
Having stayed along the coast in Deauville last year we decided to try a couple of French resorts this year and after 4 nights in the lovely MGallery in Dinard we moved on to The Grand Hotel de Cabourg. The hotel lives up to its name with magnificent rooms with ours facing the sea. The rooms are spacious and have a bathroom/dressing room worthy of this sort of hotel. The welcome on arrival was as you would expect and we were particularly well looked after by Christelle on reception and her colleagues. Having only travelled from Dinard we arrived a little early but whilst waiting for our room to be ready we enjoyed a great club sandwich with fries and a beer in the lounge bar. Breakfast was well organised with a huge choice of delights to temp the palate and with fried eggs available on request to go with the great flavoured bacon and tasty sausages. Breads were fantastic as were the viennoiserie and the little pats of local delicious butter. Unusually the restaurant at this 5 star hotel is not open all week but reception managed to get us in for our last night and the cuisine in Le Balbec lived up to it's gastronomic promise with a fantastic Sea Bass cooked in a salt crust pastry. It is a pity that this restaurant is not open all week perhaps with a slightly more down market menu since nearby restaurants on the sea front are no where near the standard of Dinard. On the other hand very good food is available in the bar or on room service. Last year just before Christmas we stayed in the 5 star Fairmont Copley Plaza in Boston USA and this hotel had a restaurant so busy that Hotel Guests needed to book due to the popularity of the restaurant with locals, and this popularity was down to two things: great food on the menu and competitive pricing. This hotel has the ability to outshine the likes of Hotels Barriere in Deauville but at the moment is quite highly priced especially for UK guests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear Sir, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are delighted that you appreciated the confort of your room, the quality of our products and services in both our bar La Belle Epoque and our restaurant Le Balbec. I will share your comments with our team. Rest assured that we take note of your comments regarding the availability and opening hours of our restaurant. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best Regards, Gaëlle Grelat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria F wrote a review Mar 2022
16 contributions7 helpful votes
As usual I should have trusted the reviews where previous guests commented on the entirely inadequate level of service delivered at this hotel. Too bad I didn't. On March 6 I sent the hotel an e-mail asking whether it would be possible to put two beds in a room with sea view and terrace. The hotel answered on the same day: "we can foresee to install two single beds in a room with sea view and terrace". I waited until March 14, as I was checking the weather forecast daily to ensure we would not get a rainy week in Normandy. Reservation was then made online and right afterwards, to be on the safe side, I sent another e-mail to the hotel: "Hey, the reservation is in place, please think about my single beds". One day later I receive a generic e-mail from the hotel talking about check-in times and pet policy and (SURPRISE!), saying that there are no rooms with sea view / terrace and two single beds. i called the hotel because I believed (hoped) this was a standard e-mail that did not take into consideration the personalised e-mail exchange I had had with the hotel prior to making the reservation. How naive I was! No, they had lied to me, they cannot "instal two single beds in a room with seaview / terrace" for EUR 600 a night. The person at the phone tried to assure me that the bed in the room was large enough for me an my 24-year old son. This is really funny. Should the dog also sleep with us in the big bed? Thank you, but for a total price of EUR 3,000 for a five-day stay we can for sure get two beds elsewhere. Reservation immediately cancelled.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BAJ601 wrote a review Nov 2021
Denver, Colorado21 contributions24 helpful votes
Very attentive service at a very classic l’epoque style hotel right on the beach. Great restaurant right in the hotel. Rooms are nice but its a historical building so understand that things are modified to make it quite comfortable. Highly recommend a few days here while touring Normandy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dl75012 wrote a review Oct 2021
Paris, France4 contributions
Three nights at the Grand Hotel in Cabourg, with one dinner at the restaurant. Very nice room overlooking the main city square (charming). Efficient service. And a fine dinner as well. We will go back to the Cabourg Grand Hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Oct 21, 2021
Dear Guest, Our team was very flattered that you had such a positive experience in our beautiful seaside house thanks to the efficient service, the comfort of our rooms and the fine dinner at our restaurant Le Balbec. It would be a huge pleasure to welcome you again on the Normandy coast. Kind Regards, Gaëlle GRELAT - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel667788 wrote a review Oct 2021
Norway15 contributions21 helpful votes
Very nice hotel located in the city center, we had a beautiful room with a magnificent view of the sea, excellent bedding and beautiful bathroom, we were on a formula with breakfast included and there was a lot of choice, we loved it our first stay in this beautiful romantic city
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gaëlle GRELAT, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Responded Oct 20, 2021
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you at Le Grand Hôtel ! And this pleasure is renewed when we discover your satisfaction. We are delighted that you loved your room and the bedding, the view and your succulent breakfast . I hope to welcome you for your second stay in Cabourg , the Romantic Capital City. Best Regards, Gaëlle GRELAT - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosCabourg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE GRAND HOTEL CABOURG - MGALLERY COLLECTION - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Nearby attractions include Promenade Marcel Proust (0.07 miles), Golf miniature (0.2 miles), and Villa du Temps retrouvé (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Perle d'Isigny, I Fratelli, and La Calypso.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Yes, guests have access to locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Cabourg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.