We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chateau De Lacan

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (39)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 19 hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Découvrez pourquoi le Château de Lacan est l'hôtel préféré des voyageurs visitant Brive-la-Gaillarde. Mélange idéal entre rapport qualité/prix et confort, il offre un cadre de luxe avec une gamme de services conçus pour les voyageurs comme vous. Le Chateau de Lacan vous propose une foule de commodités, dont un minibar et une climatisation. Il est également possible de rester connecté via un wi-fi gratuit. L'hôtel dispose d'un service de chambre, d'un solarium et d'un journal pour rendre votre séjour encore plus plaisant. L'établissement propose également un petit déjeuner. Le parking gratuit est mis à la disposition des client véhiculés. Agrémentez votre séjour au Chateau de Lacan d'une visite concert de polyphonies corses Eglise des Rosiers (2,1 km) et Grottes de Saint-Antoine (2,9 km), quelques-unes des meilleures attractions de Brive-la-Gaillarde. Profitez-en pour faire un saut dans un des restaurants méditerranéens comme La Tavola Di Mamma, situé non loin du Chateau de Lacan. Si vous avez le temps, Collegiale Saint Martin de Brive (1,7 km) est une attraction populaire situé à deux pas. Nous sommes sûrs que vous apprécierez votre séjour au Château de Lacan et que vous pourrez profiter de tout ce que Brive-la-Gaillarde a à offrir.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bathrobes
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
196Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 102
  • 67
  • 17
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Paul M wrote a review Jan 2023
Newport, United Kingdom20 contributions25 helpful votes
A stunning building dating 1600, perfectly presented as was the inside. Was wondering what rooms would be like but the bedroom was very modern, warm and extremely comfortable. The corridors were presented very well and the views lovely. The two owners were very hospitable, warm and friendly, continental breakfast was very casual and more than adequate. This was an excellent location to act as a base to the surrounding region. It was also an easy distance for town, but there is a small hill on the way back, as you’d expect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gdn1947 wrote a review Aug 2019
Gourville, France145 contributions34 helpful votes
We arrived having booked our room on-line/e-mail. The reception was very pleasant and efficient. Within a short time we decided to stay in Brive for a second night and asked if we could stay in the same room. This was agreed without hesitation. Our room was a very good size with double aspect views over the garden area. Everything was in good order except that of three wall lights in the bathroom only one was working and we could not get the light above the mirror to work. The hotel does not provide a full restaurant service but a tapas type selection can be provided for dinner. We ate in Brive. The breakfast was very good with a selection of breads, pastries, cakes etc coffee, fruit juices, yoghurts and cereals, cold meats and cheeses and boiled eggs. We enjoyed our breakfasts! All in all we were very happy with our stay at Chateau Lacan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room Legerete is very nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Patrick19, Propriétaire at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback, we wish you a pleasant day. We look forward to seeing you again at the Château de Lacan****. The Directorate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eve812 wrote a review Aug 2018
Fareham, United Kingdom179 contributions118 helpful votes
We booked this hotel as a stopover en route further south and had chosen one of the most highly rated in the area; unfortunately it didn't prove to be very enjoyable. Our room was one of the two mezzanine rooms which meant that the room itself was very small. The sitting area, on the ground floor had room for just two chairs and a small table, plus a short corridor which housed a fridge and cupboard containing a safe. The fridge didn't get very cold and the safe was locked: none of the staff knew how it worked as apparently it was new. In fact we didn't need it as the hotel was safe. Unfortunately the day we stayed it was extremely hot weather and, although the room was air-conditioned, the unit was badly sited so that the cool air blew down and the bedroom area was stiflingly hot. I was unable to even go into the area so we asked for a bed to be made up downstairs. The staff obligingly did this very quickly and I had a reasonably good night's sleep but it wasn't satisfactory to have to make do with a basic camp bed in a luxury hotel! What made this worse was the fact that guests had complained before as shown on previous reviews and, despite promising it would be rectified, nothing had been done. The hotel is situated out of town and doesn't provide meals, which entailed a return taxi journey of 30 euros. The grounds are uninspiring and contain no features such as pool etc, just a small terrace and grassed areas. Without doubt the one redeeming feature of the hotel is the staff who are absolutely lovely and cannot do enough for the guests. They are superb without exception and I trust they are paid well as they are worth their weight in gold. When we checked out I said I hoped I wouldn't be charged full price for this less-than-satisfactory stay and the bill was reduced by 20% which covered the cost of the taxi. However, I wouldn't recommend the hotel and think it is over-rated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: not mezzanine!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
garynF2354ES wrote a review Apr 2018
Perth, Australia54 contributions17 helpful votes
This beautiful chateau style manor house is set in secluded peaceful gardens perched on a hill top overlooking the city of Brive below. You find it driving following your GPS at the end of a an impossibly convoluted route seemingly going nowhere soon, before it stops in front of the gates into an ample open car park, gardens and green parklands. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, and quickly take you to a spacious comfortable well appointed bedroom up one flight of stairs - no elevator so keep your bags small. The same staff double as waiters in the modest restaurant where the food is far from modest, providing a beautiful menu of local cuisine and it is all unbelievably well priced.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds in front and the city views in the distance. Upstairs if...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Apr 13, 2018
Dear garynF2354ES, Thank you very much for all these kind remarks. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will be very happy to welcome you again at your next stay in Brive. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Manny-C wrote a review Oct 2017
Brimpton, United Kingdom465 contributions201 helpful votes
Booked online and really impressed when written warning that a wedding was taking place our first night. The wedding was in one wing of the hotel and we never heard a thing. Staff were really friendly and excellent. The room we were in was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and reasonable value, the evening meal was less successful and while tasty was clearly reheated (perhaps because the hotel was not very busy), but it was not overly expensive. Good base for tourism and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Oct 5, 2017
Dear Manny-C, We thank you for these nice remarks regarding our hotel and staff. We are very pleased that you were not disturbed by the wedding and enjoyed our breakfast. Concerning the dinner, we would like to point out that the Café Lacan is not a restaurant but a lounge bar offering a snack menu. We will be very pleased to welcome you again in the Château de Lacan at your next stay in Brive. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric S wrote a review Sep 2017
Heber City, Utah123 contributions43 helpful votes
We stopped only for the night on our way south to Spain but we're pleasantly surprised by this chateau hotel- very well restored into a near luxury property and only a 20 minute walk from the old town of Brive- the rooms are large, but somewhat sparse, but local artwork and photography link the place to its surroundings very effectively. The staff, bar, lounge and common areas are very well done- choose a room with a terrace on the garden side- very tranquil, quiet and a feel of old time luxury! Nice touches- Nespresso Machines and coffee in rooms, high quality amenities, ample breakfast, peaceful surroundings etc-- only downside- spotty internet, but heh, who cares for a day or two!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Sep 15, 2017
Dear Eric S, We thank you for all these kind remarks and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Château de Lacan at your next stop in Brive. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lacba wrote a review Aug 2017
Lisbon, Portugal180 contributions102 helpful votes
This hotel has nice facilities and could be an interesting option for a stopover while travelling in southern France. It needs however some improvements. The quality of its materials is not great. The curtain of my room fell on top of me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Sep 7, 2017
Dear Sir, We are sorry about the incident with the curtain of your room. This never occurred in any of our room before. However, we hope you were satisfied by our service as it was fixed within 10 minutes after you informed us. We hope to welcome you again in the Château de Lacan at your next stop in Brive. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Palendromedary wrote a review Aug 2017
Brixham, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Stopped for one night on our way through France. Wonderful surprise as booked very last minute and the staff were really accommodating and very helpful. Great rooms and dinner was lovely. They had a big party to cater for but set us up in a lovely room and served delicious food. Would definitely recommend to all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Aug 17, 2017
Dear Palendromedary, We thank you for this kind remarks. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room an dinner at Cafe Lacan. We hope to welcome you again in the Château de Lacan at your next trip to Brive ! Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ivo K wrote a review Aug 2017
1 contribution
Just arrived in the evening and what a nice surprise. Great castle hotel, extremely nice reception by owner and convenient parking. Rooms are newly made same as bar area. The only pitty was that their website does not state that there is food served for dinner. It is bistro style, simple food but food. No need as I did to rush to supermarket! Absolute must go
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Aug 13, 2017
Dear Ivo K, We thank you for your kind remarks on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our reception as well as rooms and the bar area. However we are suprised to read that you did not know you could have dinner as our website states that we serve snack menus at the Cafe Lacan. We hope to welcome you again in the Château de Lacan at your next trip to Brive-la-Gaillarde. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patrick S wrote a review Aug 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is very charming and quiet. The A/C works perfectly and the rooms are very well appointed and equipped. The personnel is very helpful and courteous. The only really bad note is the Internet connection which logs you out every 5Mb of data. Which is just unusable / horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Château L, Réceptionniste at Hôtel Château De Lacan
Responded Aug 13, 2017
Dear Patrick S We are sorry to read that you had issues with our Internet connection and would like to inform that we have contacted our provider to check and solve this problem. We are glad that you mainly enjoyed your stay in the Château de Lacan and thank you for your kind remarks on our rooms and staff. We will be very happy to welcome you again at the Château de Lacan for your next stay in Brive La Gaillarde. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brive-la-Gaillarde area.
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCorrezeBrive-la-Gaillarde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CHATEAU DE LACAN $133 ($̶1̶6̶0̶) - Prices & Reviews - France/Brive-la-Gaillarde

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Château De Lacan
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Nearby attractions include Le Centre Aquatique (0.7 miles), Brive Bowling (0.6 miles), and La Galerie - Hyper 19 (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Limousine, La Banou, and TAN-PHAT.
Are pets allowed at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hôtel Château De Lacan offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel Château De Lacan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hôtel Château De Lacan?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ardoisières de Corrèze (4.0 miles).
Is Hôtel Château De Lacan accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.