We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castlemead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castlemead Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my mum ( 76) & son (7) to stay for 2 nights & we all enjoyed the beautiful garden and warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend it highly & would really like to return. The hotel is quirky/ unique & we liked that - a welcome change from chains of hotels. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank janegraham382
Hereford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from a lovely relaxing break at the Castlemead Hotel. Perfect position, close to Manorbier beach and the Pembrokeshire Coastal path. Gorgeous view from our bedroom of the garden and the sea. Staff were all very friendly and the food was excellent and freshly cooked. We ate in both nights and the menu changed and was all freshly... More 

Helpful?
Thank billybrmbrm
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our one night stay in a very relaxing atmosphere, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Rooms totally adequate and comfortable, and so nice relaxing in the outdoor garden with the cat and dogs. Dinner and breakfast were both lovely, and we the service excellent. We are from New Zealand, and everyone seemed most interested... More 

Helpful?
Thank daleburne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in the coach house which was clean, very comfortable with tea and coffee, T.V.Good shower and bath, comfortable sized bed. The food was good, freshly prepared, varied and we had prompt service. The situation had a view of the church, sea, beach, far distance cliffs, nice garden and fresh vegetables from veg garden. Nice quiet village and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank 18johnselby
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is several years since I've been to this hotel, and wonderfully,it just as I remembered it. The views are amazing, the food is lovely, the staff are great. Five minutes walk to the nearest beautiful beach.

Helpful?
Thank DRDahl
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very satisfied. Nice room, friendly and helpful staff, fine restaurant incorporated. Stroll to beach, castle and 12th century Norman church. Very peaceful. Nice cat lounging in the sunshine. We had a sea view out the window, and the environs had a bit going on.

Helpful?
Thank Victor N
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Not sure how hotels get rated. On the whole if we pick a 4* establishment we are not usually disappointed. The Castlemead could be a charming hotel however there are so many things which caused concern. We would imagine the age group visiting would be 50+. There are 14 stairs down from reception to the dining area. And there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion W
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. No where do we claim to be 4 star hotel , we are a 4 star restaurant with rooms. Neither do we set out to attract a50 plus clientele , a large proportion of our customers are cliff path walkers and stairs not an issue , had we realised this... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

A long-time resident of Manorbier tried to warn us (diplomatically) about the Castlemead when we said we had dinner reservations there. We should have listened. The restaurant boasts of its 4-star rating, and the menu looks good on paper, but every one of our three different entrees and appetizers was tasteless, poorly prepared, and took forever to arrive. The service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank taptaptaptap
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy the meal , even more sorry you didn't mention it at the time and given us the chance to put matters right. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

If you want to get far away from the maddening crowd then this is the place for you. A lovely hotel, very friendly staff and excellent food . We stayed in room 6 , the views from this room where just stunning , the beach the castle the church on the hill and of course the two border collies who... More 

Helpful?
Thank greenwaye18
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Room 6 is a favourite , many guests re book before they leave to ensure they get that fabulous view form the King size bed More 

Langholm, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely setting, within a short distance of the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Pembrokeshire.

Helpful?
Thank katemnic
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much , really pleased your stay was good. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (130)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manorbier
4.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.3 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castlemead is beautifully situated at the head of a small wooded valley, overlooking the sea, Norman church & castle.Set in half an acre of pleasant, mature grounds and lawns it offers a gloriously relaxing spot, in the heart of the village, yet only 500 yards from the beach. A small comfortable unpretentious 4 star restaurant with rooms, we have an excellent reputation for good food. out door dining in the summer months, and warm cosy meals by the fire come winter.We have nine bedrooms all en suite with beverage facilities/colour T.V. The restaurant, lounge bar all enjoy glorious views, giving direct access to the garden. Three of our rooms are situated in the Coach house set 20 yards from the main building across the car park, ideal for guests who have problems with stairs or wish to bring there dogs with them. Family rooms are available, central heating is throughout, with open fires to warm you when necessary. Castlemead offers an idyllic spot for walkers as the coastal path crosses the car park at the bottom of our garden, bird watchers and nature lovers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlemead Hotel

Address: Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier
Price Range: $128 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlemead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Castlemead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemead Hotel Manorbier, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay