We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castlemead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castlemead Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Castlemead Hotel
 Click to rate
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 8, 2017

Friendly staff, excellent service, definitely stay at this hotel again, we spent one night over the new year, and had a room with views of the sea, there was also a room in the main hotel complex with complimentary coffee, tea and home made mince pies plus Tan y Castell mini welsh cakes what more could you ask for!! Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank miecr2015
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Came down here for new year,would recommend this hotel really lovely and stunning views,Lorna the owner was really nice and friendly and made you so welcome your only about 10 minutes by car to Tenby where all the pubs and restaurants are. People are really friendly and made us welcome would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maisie L
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

A well located hotel (allocated 4 stars by the Tourist Board), the overall experience which we had of the Castlemead during our 2 night stay was very good. Friendly staff and very good food (really enjoyed the evening menu on the first night and the breakfasts offered everything from cereals, yoghurts and traditional cooked breakfast, to smoked haddock with egg....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr L
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We had a wonderful three days at Castlemead, a fabulous location with lovely hosts and brilliant food in the restaurant. The room was clean and very well kept with beautiful sea views. we will definitely be returning..... Being on the doorstep of the castle, church and picturesque village made our stay even better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reed627
France
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Set in a valley leading down to sea, visible in the distance. Attractive village. Excellent cooking. In fact this is the very best breakfast for freshness that I can remember in any hotel. Dinner was also excellent, large freshhly cooked portions & different menu every day. We were in an outside room with our two dogs. Rather cramped with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetman747
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

A real gem in a small village. This restaurant served a beautiful two course meal for my wife and I. At just under £20 each it put a lot of pub prices to shame for quality, service and price. There is a view of the beach through the window during daylight hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

A very relaxing four-night stay. Lovely room, very comfy bed. We chose to explore different eateries in the area so we only ate dinner in the restaurant once but the food we had there was both plentiful and delicious. Located less than a five minute walk to a very pleasant beach. A most relaxing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian F
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much , so glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Kind regards Lorna

kent
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We left it late to book a week away at the end of the summer break so could only find a room for 4 nights at this hotel. It looks quite plain from the outside but once in the reception area you realise the age of the building, very thick walls and a fabulous view of the beach through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doddy67
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you returned relaxed and refreshed from your stay . It is great when people enjoy our food and appreciate the effort that goes in to it. Shower to be replaced this winter , we do a few every winter as we shut and this is 1 of the last 2 to do. Thank you for taking...

Reviewed August 30, 2016

Just back from a wonderful long weekend at this wonderful hotel. Everything about it is so peaceful and so restful. Everyone is so welcoming, including the animals! The food is outstanding. We just love this place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kennywensue
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to see you as ever, booking in place for next August ! Lorna

wales
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Stayed in Manorbier for the weekend. Called in to have a drink and maybe a meal. Very disappointed to be stopped because they don't have a licence just to serve drinks. Never had a chance to decide if we would have ate here. Such a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nudge
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Really struggling to comment on this one , we don't have a full on license , our license covers the sale of alcohol to residents only , which was very politely pointed out to you, We had a couple of spare tables , but you weren't able to commit to eating . Our bar is tiny and snug , seating...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (130)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manorbier
4.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Brynteg Bed and Breakfast - Manorbier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castlemead is beautifully situated at the head of a small wooded valley, overlooking the sea, Norman church & castle.Set in half an acre of pleasant, mature grounds and lawns it offers a gloriously relaxing spot, in the heart of the village, yet only 500 yards from the beach. A small comfortable unpretentious 4 star restaurant with rooms, we have an excellent reputation for good food. out door dining in the summer months, and warm cosy meals by the fire come winter.We have nine bedrooms all en suite with beverage facilities/colour T.V. The restaurant, lounge bar all enjoy glorious views, giving direct access to the garden. Three of our rooms are situated in the Coach house set 20 yards from the main building across the car park, ideal for guests who have problems with stairs or wish to bring there dogs with them. Family rooms are available, central heating is throughout, with open fires to warm you when necessary. Castlemead offers an idyllic spot for walkers as the coastal path crosses the car park at the bottom of our garden, bird watchers and nature lovers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlemead Hotel

Address: Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier
Price Range: $123 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlemead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Castlemead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemead Hotel Manorbier, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castlemead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea-view rooms are outstanding!”
 of 5 bubbles Kennywensue, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“The sea view is lovely, to the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles janegraham382, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2”
 of 5 bubbles billybrmbrm, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 plenty of space a with dog and good view”
 of 5 bubbles 18johnselby, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles DRDahl, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question