We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Castlemead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castlemead Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A well located hotel (allocated 4 stars by the Tourist Board), the overall experience which we had of the Castlemead during our 2 night stay was very good. Friendly staff and very good food (really enjoyed the evening menu on the first night and the breakfasts offered everything from cereals, yoghurts and traditional cooked breakfast, to smoked haddock with egg.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mr L
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful three days at Castlemead, a fabulous location with lovely hosts and brilliant food in the restaurant. The room was clean and very well kept with beautiful sea views. we will definitely be returning..... Being on the doorstep of the castle, church and picturesque village made our stay even better.

Helpful?
Thank reed627
France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Set in a valley leading down to sea, visible in the distance. Attractive village. Excellent cooking. In fact this is the very best breakfast for freshness that I can remember in any hotel. Dinner was also excellent, large freshhly cooked portions & different menu every day. We were in an outside room with our two dogs. Rather cramped with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank jetman747
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

A real gem in a small village. This restaurant served a beautiful two course meal for my wife and I. At just under £20 each it put a lot of pub prices to shame for quality, service and price. There is a view of the beach through the window during daylight hours.

Helpful?
Thank John D
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

A very relaxing four-night stay. Lovely room, very comfy bed. We chose to explore different eateries in the area so we only ate dinner in the restaurant once but the food we had there was both plentiful and delicious. Located less than a five minute walk to a very pleasant beach. A most relaxing stay.

Helpful?
Thank Julian F
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much , so glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Kind regards Lorna More 

kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We left it late to book a week away at the end of the summer break so could only find a room for 4 nights at this hotel. It looks quite plain from the outside but once in the reception area you realise the age of the building, very thick walls and a fabulous view of the beach through the... More 

Helpful?
Thank doddy67
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you returned relaxed and refreshed from your stay . It is great when people enjoy our food and appreciate the effort that goes in to it. Shower to be replaced this winter , we do a few every winter as we shut and this is 1 of the last 2 to do. Thank you for taking... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Just back from a wonderful long weekend at this wonderful hotel. Everything about it is so peaceful and so restful. Everyone is so welcoming, including the animals! The food is outstanding. We just love this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kennywensue
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to see you as ever, booking in place for next August ! Lorna More 

wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Stayed in Manorbier for the weekend. Called in to have a drink and maybe a meal. Very disappointed to be stopped because they don't have a licence just to serve drinks. Never had a chance to decide if we would have ate here. Such a shame.

Helpful?
Thank nudge
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this review

Really struggling to comment on this one , we don't have a full on license , our license covers the sale of alcohol to residents only , which was very politely pointed out to you, We had a couple of spare tables , but you weren't able to commit to eating . Our bar is tiny and snug , seating... More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2016

The room was poor, the door hinge was loose and the door was hard to close. The shower was impossible to hang up when in use as it directed the water to the far end of the bath past the shower screen and all over the floor. It was also a disapointingly small room for the price we paid. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank garyhastings044
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2016

I took my mum ( 76) & son (7) to stay for 2 nights & we all enjoyed the beautiful garden and warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend it highly & would really like to return. The hotel is quirky/ unique & we liked that - a welcome change from chains of hotels. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank janegraham382
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (130)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manorbier
4.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.3 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castlemead is beautifully situated at the head of a small wooded valley, overlooking the sea, Norman church & castle.Set in half an acre of pleasant, mature grounds and lawns it offers a gloriously relaxing spot, in the heart of the village, yet only 500 yards from the beach. A small comfortable unpretentious 4 star restaurant with rooms, we have an excellent reputation for good food. out door dining in the summer months, and warm cosy meals by the fire come winter.We have nine bedrooms all en suite with beverage facilities/colour T.V. The restaurant, lounge bar all enjoy glorious views, giving direct access to the garden. Three of our rooms are situated in the Coach house set 20 yards from the main building across the car park, ideal for guests who have problems with stairs or wish to bring there dogs with them. Family rooms are available, central heating is throughout, with open fires to warm you when necessary. Castlemead offers an idyllic spot for walkers as the coastal path crosses the car park at the bottom of our garden, bird watchers and nature lovers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlemead Hotel

Address: Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier
Price Range: $99 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlemead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castlemead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemead Hotel Manorbier, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castlemead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea-view rooms are outstanding!”
 of 5 bubbles Kennywensue, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“The sea view is lovely, to the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles janegraham382, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2”
 of 5 bubbles billybrmbrm, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 plenty of space a with dog and good view”
 of 5 bubbles 18johnselby, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles DRDahl, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay