We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
St-Paul-de-Vence, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Seriously in need of a revamp. Furnishings badly faded/crumbling - which I guess could be viewed as quaint - but nothing worked. Very small double bed. Poorly designed room. Wifi was useless. Bath was ancient and needed a knife to extract the bath plug. Service fulfilled the worst (and often untrue) stereotypes of what France can offer. All this is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Châteaux & Hôtels Collection

Helpful?
Thank Alic1969
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Hotel in general is falling apart. Rooms are old, small and outdated with no character, incredibly noisy, bed uncomfortable, pathetic shower, very expensive for what you get, television does not work, Really unpleasant experience, no iron when required!

Helpful?
1 Thank Alaufranc

Travelers are raving about these Barbizon hotels

London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Barbizon itself is a wonderful, picturesque village famous for the school of art and also for les weekends gallant and even for rock climbing on the boulders in the wonderful surrounding forests. The Hotel du Bas-Breau Is a beautiful comfortable welcoming country inn set in the heart of the Village. After a distressing day, escaping from the carnage and chaos... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woollybear
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment and for your recent stay in Bas-Breau. Knowing that you had a good time and enjoy our cuisine makes us very happy. Pending receive you again. Yours sincerely. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

This hotel is set in a very nice surrounding. I like the charming decor and the receptionist is also very helpful. We dined at the hotel and every meal was well prepared. However, not all staff is that friendly and the room I stayed at Room 17, although very spacious and has a lot of charm in it do need... More 

Helpful?
Thank NiceGirlC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Bas-Bréau. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards More 

California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We had to back up our stay by one night and did so within their 48 hour window. Upon our arrival we were refused a room and charged for the night before. Whether or not this was our mistake or booking.com they were rude and unaccommodating. Even though the hotel was practically empty and it would have cost them nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWinter
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Madam, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property!!!! We are very sorry to have had to charge you the room that you had not bothered to cancel. When booking on Booking.com you were informed of cancellation and you had accepted. Also arriving at the Bas-Breau you had problems with your taxi that you did not... More 

London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I stayed a few months ago and were the only guests. The staff were very unhelpful and lazy. For instance, we chatted for almost 3 hours by the fire which we tended ourselves and only when we were literally getting up did the staff ask whether we wanted anything to drink! Meanwhile, dried dirt on the stairs stayed there for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gauloislemalin
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for having posted your comments on our property. We are quite surprised that you waited so long to submit your comment after reading we understand that three months were needed on reflection. Kindest regards More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

That was a deal through Groupon, and I am happy it was. The room was spacious with a super duper bathroom, bed was 160mm bended but still ok, and 2 uncomfortable pillows. Welcome was friendly, service was nice with attention to details, like the waitress offered to have our dessert by the fireplace, nice attention. The food is the big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bob r
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques. Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre Dîner. Merci... More 

Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
595 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We have always wanted to return to the charming little village of Barbizon after two prior visits over the years. We stayed at Bas Breau about twenty years ago, and read the mixed reviews. Our experience was once again that it was cozy, comfortable and charming. Not a Luxe place, but nice. We had a second floor room on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conseiller99
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property. Your satisfaction is all we need to try even harder to welcoming our guest the bestway we can. The whole Bas-Bréau's team will be delighted to welcoming you soon in Barbizon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Barbizon is a great little town with picturesque views and beautiful architecture. My family and I arrived to Barbizon around 10 pm, we did not know that everything would close at this time. And as we were all tired and had nothing to eat all day. We walked along the strip of closed shops and came to Hotelier ie du... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the table and the service of our Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for you to discover our rooms, the garden and pool. Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your satisfaction. More 

UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. The resturant and bar were really good and they were able to put on a great event for us. The room however was not worth the price tag. It was very large and the bed was comfy, but the decor was tired. The bathroom in particular was not great. The bath looked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Twizbe
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbizon
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Pleiades
Hotel Les Pleiades
#1 of 3 in Barbizon
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 11 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 11 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Restaurant LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
4.6 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#5 of 11 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old hunting lodge at the hedge of the Fontainebleau forest. Park with swimming pool and grill during summer season.Lunch and dinner on terrace if weather nice ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotellerie du Bas-Breau

Address: 22 Grande rue, 77630 Barbizon, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Barbizon
Price Range: $151 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotellerie du Bas-Breau 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotellerie du Bas-Breau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay