We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melheim Resort and Spa

Save
Share
Lower Blackwood, Beragala 71622 Sri Lanka
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (799)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (64)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melheim Resort and Spa
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Beragala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Where comfort nestles in nature Let the mystical sunset seduce you, sounds of nature lull you and the mountain air intoxicate you in this so romantic interlude… The Melheim Resort and Spa is an idyllic cocoon located in Beragala, Haputale. A three and a half hour drive from Colombo; worth every minute spent to partake of the breathtaking and mind numbing soothe of the resort. Endlessly enchanting is the ever changing grandeur of the sky; shrouded in mist one moment and a carpet of blue the next, and the evening, the glorious evening with its blazing blend of hues is a spine tingling experience. Bordered by thick forest reserves nearby boasting of a variety of bird species; the incessant rhythmic chirp, will surely have bird enthusiasts appeased. The surrounding mountains expand in a panoramic view and the nature trails and treks provide the adventurous, plenty of pleasure and the less-daring, just a simple evening stroll. Scenic train rides and visits to the forests, leaves everyone with something to do. Arugam Bay, Yala and Kataragama are three hours away. Gushing in the neighborhood are famous Sri Lankan waterfalls Diyaluma, Dunhida ,Bambarakanda and Duvili Ella. Magnificent and brooding in the vicinity are the Horton Plains and World’s End. Welcome to Melheim Resort and Spa, your Beragala “home away from home.” Melheim Resort aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and Melheim Resort and Spa makes getting online easy as free wifi access is available throughout the property. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service and a concierge, Spa, Game room, Library, Bar and Restaurant. In addition, guests can enjoy the swimming pool pool and many dining options during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. Should time allow, Bambarakanda Falls is a popular waterfall that is relatively easy to get to. Melheim Resort puts the best of Beragala at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
718Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 426
  • 225
  • 44
  • 15
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nimashi H wrote a review Apr 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka14 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a lovely place, with some spectacular views. This is our third visit and enjoyed both times before to this lovely place, it’s ambience and nature all around Unfortunately we didn’t have the same experience on our third visit. During dinner we had an awful experience. There was loud and horrible music from speakers, plus some horrible karaoke nonsense along with nightclub like lights flashing from the speaker. Either the Management has changed or they have completely lost the plot. It was extremely painful to listen to. This was certainly not a quiet and peaceful dinner. We complained to the operations manager on duty. And he managed to stop the blaring music “until dinner is over “ We counted the seconds till the food was put out (the buffet also got late to be served). We gobbled whatever food which we could get without having to stay in queue and ran out. Music continued no sooner we left and we could still hear from our room a blaring karaoke night in the misty hills of beragala haputale. We didn’t bother to complain as we just couldn’t be bothered. Some would come here for peace and quiet but we certainly didn’t get that and we were glad to have only spent one night here. We also would have preferred if they had a seating arrangement considering the pandemic situation so there weren’t too many people gathered. We frequent these areas and made a mental note to never visit this place again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Melheim Resorts, Owner at Melheim Resort and Spa
Responded Apr 20, 2021
Dear Madam, Greetings from Melheim Resorts! Thanks a lot for your feedback! Our sincere apologies for the experience you had to go through. We are thoroughly looking into all the matters you have mentioned and we will make sure all those matters are fixed immediately. Looking forward to serving you even better on your next visit! Many thanks, Resident Manager, Melheim Resort and Spa.
Read more
Saaraa W wrote a review Dec 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka9 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent two nights at Melheim and it was a memorable stay indeed. Haputale has the best sceneries of Sri Lanka and Melheim gives all that to you. The hotel property is vast and you can have many mini adventures walking down their treks. Our room was upgraded to a suite and you get all the amenities needed. Nature is very close to you when you are Melheim.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melheim Resorts, Owner at Melheim Resort and Spa
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Melheim Resort and Spa! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad that you had an excellent time at our hotel. Looking forward to serve you even better on your next visit! Many thanks, Resident Manager, Melheim Resort and Spa, Haputale.
Read more
surangass wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
We had a great experience at this lovely hotel, one of the best places to stay in Haputale. Delicious meals and friendly staff, special thanks to Leslie and Ravindu who looked after us very well. Highly recommend Melheim resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melheim Resorts, Owner at Melheim Resort and Spa
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Melheim Resort and Spa! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad that you had an excellent time at our hotel. Looking forward to serve you even better on your next visit! Many thanks, Resident Manager, Melheim Resort and Spa, Haputale.
Read more
Anjali G wrote a review Sep 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka23 contributions13 helpful votes
This hotel is in the most beautiful location with stunning views! You could capture beautiful sunsets from your room with bird song as value addition. We had the one of the best experiences, very friendly staff, waiting to cater to our needs. Food was devine, we were pampered by all of them. Rooms are big & clean, so was the bathroom. They had all animities needed. We were taken on a guided tour of the gardens to the view point & also to Liptons Seat & a beautfiful train ride from Haputale to Ohia. Over all it was such a lovely experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view although I think all rooms have a beautiful view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Melheim Resorts, Owner at Melheim Resort and Spa
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Melheim Resort and Spa! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad that you had an excellent time at our hotel. Looking forward to serve you even better on your next visit! Many thanks, Resident Manager, Melheim Resort and Spa, Haputale.
Read more
jacqueline a wrote a review Jul 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka30 contributions3 helpful votes
I made many calls to this Hotel, and every time the staff member Chinthaka who happen to answer my call, did not feel it was a bother, he was very helpful and patient,provided me with all relevant information,this made me, to make my decision in regards to confirming my booking.he made sure I was comfortable from the minute I arrived. The Chefs Tharindu,Danushan,Hasitha, Rejis provided us with a great variety of dishes, The food was exceptional and beyond our expectations.The chefs were always willing to make any changes to the dishes as per our requirements. Gayashan provided us with excellent service, and made sure we were satisfied at every meal, Chamilka thank you for your service at meal time. Kusuma was our guide, very patient,and was so confident and she is a very fit lady.and all the other staff members, that I have not mentioned, Thanking you all for making our stay memorable. Hotel is very clean,breathtaking panoramic views.will recommend.Thank you everyone. Will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melheim Resorts, Owner at Melheim Resort and Spa
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Melheim Resort and Spa! Thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad that you had an excellent time at our hotel. Looking forward to serve you even better on your next visit! Many thanks, Resident Manager, Melheim Resort and Spa, Haputale.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melheim hotel beragala
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceBeragala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melheim Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Melheim Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Lipton’s Seat (2.4 miles) and St Benedict's Monastery - Adisham (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melheim Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunrise Restaurant, Lettuce & Cabbage, and Risara Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Melheim Resort and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melheim Resort and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Melheim Resort and Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Beragala.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melheim Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Melheim Resort and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lipton’s Seat (2.4 miles).