We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bluebell at Cocking

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bluebell at Cocking
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of The Bluebell at Cocking
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had such high hopes for my birthday dinner out here having read a few great reviews. Despite it being a Thursday we expected some other guests and a little bit of atmosphere but were sorely disappointed. We were one of two couples there but still didn't get a good service. Our starters, scallops, were cooked as should be expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

I'm sorry but this is just not true I served you that night(the owner) not a waiter, so I know exactly what happened. I spoke to you through your entire meal and asked if everything was ok with your food, during and when clearing. you never once mentioned that you didn't enjoy your food, even when given the opportunity. as...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I had decided it would be a great idea to cycle the South Downs Way offroad in the winter after a wet spell and a thaw… duuuhhhhh! Bad idea. The mud was horrendous. We had three punctures between us, our only pump broke, one of our headlights failed, the mud had ripped one of our tyres, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobberdiddly
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the best meal we have had for a long time we travel a lot as we dont drink and this is up with the best the meal and service could not be faulted the manager was one of the best ive come into contact with his maner and food were the best alan from portsmout

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan s
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

Simon, thank you for making us welcome after a wet cold day trekking along the South Downs Way, we had a delicious dinner and our room was comfortable warm and provided a good nights rest for the next day's walking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend get away and really liked it. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size with a good sized bathroom with a shower. It was fairly clean but could do with a bit more care and attention there was a bit of painting and general maintenance needed. The room was really hot when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard921
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Perfectly located for a stop off point for the South Downs. Not a great choice of beer, but the one they had came straight from the barrel and was very drinkable indeed. Food was high quality . As mentioned in some reviews, opening times are limited, and you may find yourself sharing a bathroom - but all of this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brucemoose
UK
Reviewed September 27, 2016

I was walking the South Downs Way with a mate and this was a convenient first stop. Although the landlord makes it clear that you can only gain entry to the pub and hence accommodation between 12:00 (noon) and 15:00 and 18:00 to 19:00, please be aware that there is absolutely no access to the pub if you arrive before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennokent
Simon T, Owner at The Bluebell at Cocking, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am sorry you were disappointed in what we provided for you. I have to say though that I do find it somewhat strange for you to write negative comments on something that was explained to you when you booked and also confirmed to you in writing. when you...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2016

We had a great meal in The Bluebell. Olives to start Pasta dish Lamb from the specials board Homemade ice cream and coffee. I can thoroughly recommend this pub. The staff were friendly and service was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
UK
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Great food both for dinner and breakfast. Beer from the barrel was excellent. Very comfortable room. (Double with ensure shower room). Everything very clean. Friendly and efficient staff. All in all very good value. Perfect for SDW walking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seamus100
Munich, Germany
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We had a very nice room with lovely bathroom ensuite. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Had food in the pub in the evening, also very good and enjoyable. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will be back :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocking
2.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
10.5 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
132 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
#4 of 75 in Chichester
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bluebell at Cocking

Address: Bell Lane, Cocking, Midhurst GU29 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst > Cocking
Price Range: $103 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Bluebell at Cocking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bluebell at Cocking staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bluebell at Cocking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't got there especially if you have been given rooms 4 or 5 😂”
  • Dirty Windows in the room the noise all day and night from the main road was awful..
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Shared bathroom and toilet, dirty and unkempt
  • Could hardly move around the bed throws thread bare, room smelled of cooking as above the kitche
  • Shared Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles KasyB, Jul 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles E7532ZWjohnb, Oct 5, 2015 | Read review
“Don't have room 2.”
 of 5 bubbles Klunk2213, Sep 23, 2015 | Read review
“Don't bother with Room 2”
 of 5 bubbles rogsimmons, Aug 17, 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 was good”
 of 5 bubbles Old_Fotofart, Mar 17, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question