We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Birmingham
Level Contributor
265 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited to use spa Massages excellent Very disappointed to not be able to use the pool - offered to pay. Understandable, as not guests but was not busy and was a shame for us when we'd travelled especially. Drinks expensive in comparison to other areas in Portugal but service was excellent. Kayaks were fun Surroundings beautiful - great location Biggest... More 

Helpful?
Thank CSP83
MontebeloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all thank you for your comment. We are sorry because of the swimming pool request, for now we do not have an offer for non-guests. best regards Montebelo Hotels & Resorts More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

This family trip was booked for us to relax and we had an amazing time. We booked a house with 3 bedrooms for 6 adults (3 bathrooms). All the rooms were big and clean and the bed was really comfortable. Our main reasons for choosing this resort was the view and the spa and neither disappointed. The view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolina S
MontebeloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carolina, Thank you very much for your comments. We really hope to see you soon, and will take into account your opinions. best regards Montebelo Hotels & Resorts More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in early spring so not hot enough to make use of the outside swimming pool. The setting is beautiful and peaceful although also in the middle of nowhere which in The hotel isn't really a hotel but a series of apartments in a village settling style some of them pretty far from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank filabu
MontebeloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, We apologize if your stay did not go 100% perfect. We will try to fix the issues mentioned, and hope you will stay at Montebelo Aguieira again. best regards Montebelo Hotels & Resorts More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

Fantastic Place ! Spent last week there with a Club Training Group and was so impressed by the hotel. The location is exceptional, the staff were outstanding in every area we came across, the food was incredible and the facilities were brilliant. The rooms were clean, beds really comfortable, lovely linen, huge apartments and houses with new, furnishings throughout. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonJules123
MontebeloHotels, Public Relations Manager at Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thank you for your comment, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Montebelo Aguieira. We are looking forward to see you again! best regards Montebelo Hotels 6 Resorts More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

All perfect for a family holiday... I've stayed with my family and the hotel has all the necessary amenities - Perfect swimming-pool, quiet surroundings and full safety for the kids. Very nice staff and great food and breakfast. The kids space is great! My 3 year old son has enjoyed the swimming-pool showers and the kids park... And also if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marco M
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Although this resort is set in beautiful surroundings it really is in need of some TLC. It is supposed to be 5 stars but it is not even close. We stayed on a public holiday so the hotel was full and when we asked for bathrobes they told us they had ran out as the hotel was full. They did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank I travel C
alexandra headland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

This is a 5 star resort that has 5 star views over the lake. The rooms are huge however they lack the basics. No Wifi in rooms. You have to work all the way down to the reception area and it is not strong. The restaurant food is average. Certainly not 5 stars. The pools are seriously awesome and provide... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinecoastgirl
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Although the limited number of experienced staff try very hard, the low cost build and fit out of the accommodation can never even get to over 3 star. The shower is a joke, low water pressure and a budget shower head combine to a disaster. Everything is tired including linen. The amenities are of higher standard possibly 4 star, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave w
Carnaxide, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Top resort. Great for families. Very nice apartments. 4 nice swimming pools. Best service. To rest in family and with kids. We go again this summer. Very nice prices and promotions for families. Visabeira group is playing well.

Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelCarvalho71
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
401 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Everything is big here. The place, full of villas in band, the lawn right on top of the lake where the swimming pools are, full of chairs and huts with great shadows and a great views. The hot pool is the biggest I've ever been. Our apartment was the closest to the pool (have to walk a little, some are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MEAFaro
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

806 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (286)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (510)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (17)
Viewed
Kids Pool (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (51)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)
Viewed
Triple Room (107)
Viewed
Villa (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortagua
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Conchada
15.9 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA
15.2 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Rio Aguieira
Hotel Monte Rio Aguieira
#2 of 2 in Mortagua
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A dazzling place in stunning setting, next to the Aguieira Reservoir, the Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa holiday resort was designed to make the best of its surroundings. It has numerous activities to offer, allowing you to enjoy moments of rest and retreat or take on some active holidays with your family and friends.The apartments and villas are decorated in a modern and elegant style centred on comfort and functionality, within a revitalising atmosphere. Apartments and villas fitted with air conditioning, central heating, cable TV and Internet, safe, state-of-the-art kitchen, parking and private pool (4-bedroom villas).At Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa you can try the regions' delicious dishes, in light or more elaborate meals. For a full gastronomical experience, while enjoying the magnificient surrounding view, inside or in the restaurants' outdoor terrace, the menu is based on tradicional ingredients, inspired in regional cooking, and served, whenever you wish, with Prestigious Dão Wine.The resorts' versatile facilities include a marina and a water activities, boat rides, spa and a vast range of outdoor activities aimed at fun and well-being. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa

Address: Vale de Aguieira, Mortagua 3450-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Mortagua
Price Range: $89 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montebelo Aguieira Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay