We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (86)
Room & Suite (36)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 03/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Borde
Updated 03/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Only an hour and a half drive from Paris, we invite you to discover La Borde located at the charming scenery of Burgundy. The former mansion of the 14th century has been entirely renovated and offers a neat and timeless design, as well as the latest technologies. The owners, Rik and Marieke Klomp and their team , try to make your stay at La Borde an unforgettable experience. La Borde offers large, beautifully decorated spaces by the fire in winter or on the terrace in summer. Located in the old castle court-yard, the outdoor pool is heated from May to September. In the loft, a Jacuzzi awaits souls in search of harmony, who will also find their happiness not far away, sauna, steam room and Massothermie are available. A Fitness completes this offer. It is pleasant to stroll in the garden, a haven of greenery and peace, thought to bring serenity and relaxation. You will also enjoy the chic and tasty cuisine of the hostess who stays true to the region and uses only fresh products.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Bicycles available
Game room
Tennis court
Billiards
Table tennis
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
122Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 112
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elle Teas wrote a review Jul 2022
Lyon, France10 contributions20 helpful votes
This is not a 5-star hotel and certainly not worth the €500+ per night price tag. The grounds are beautiful, but the property is run like a simple bed and breakfast (later searching reveled that it was classified as one until 2019). The owners live on the property and run most aspects of the hotel, including the food service, themselves. This can be a lovely experience, but not here. The couple moved from the Netherlands as a semi-retirement from previous careers and treat the grounds first-and-foremost as their home. There are numerous spoken and unspoken rules that they expect you to follow so that you might have the “privilege” of staying on the property. For example, picnics are not allowed anywhere, despite the presence of over a dozen of picnic tables and the lack of any alternative dining options some nights of the week. They also have posted signs that there is €15 corkage fee, even for bottles enjoyed privately in your own room, despite not having a real bar at the hotel. In a futile attempt to follow this rule, we asked about our own wine for dinner on the second night, expecting to be able to pay the corkage fee and enjoy a local bottle we had purchased. Instead, we were admonished loudly and embarrassingly in front of other guests with: “Do you not understand how restaurants work? You’re American so that must be why you don't understand.” Many high-end restaurants and hotels all across France allow the droit de buchon, particularly those located in wine regions. To understand the attitude that will great you here, I suggest going through the responses to the negative reviews posted here and other sites (something I wish we had done as well). The owners often try to turn the issue into the fault of the reviewer; on more than one occasion, they even resorted to posting unnecessarily personal attacks back at their own guests. For the price of this hotel, you could stay at almost any other high-end countryside hotel in France (such as the Relais & Châteaux properties or Les Domaines de Fontenille) that are run by professional staff with high levels of expertise, service, and hospitality. Our experience at La Borde did come close to matching our experiences at these other properties. I strongly suggest that others avoid it as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Klomp, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded 3 weeks ago
There are (unfortunately) people who find tremendous pleasure in repeating negative reviews on a maximum of sites. Lauren and her partner Arnold just put this afternoon exactly the same review on ‘Google my Business’. The couple told us they were on a two month ‘work & play’ vacation, picnicking in their room and drinking their own brought bottles. We kindly informed them before their arrival that our restaurant is closed on Thursdays and Sundays (the day they arrived) and proposed to make reservations in one of the many restaurants nearby but they informed us that it was not necessary, because of a good lunch earlier that day. The price for the room was 450€/night, breakfast included. Our prices are not only based on the rooms. We not only have 6 rooms but several other areas to enjoy a peaceful stay and the buildings are placed in the centre of a classified garden of 17 acres which makes it a special and unforgettable experience to most of our guests. To be treated in this way by only a handful of people since we started 12 years ago, does not represent the attention we give to our guests with whom we share the passion and love for La Borde. Just for the record and for the intentional reader, we did not charge any corkage fee at all to Lauren & Co. Very weird is to see how angry/aggressive guests try to find allies by referring to them and their negative reviews; one thing in common are their too long evaluations spitting all kinds of lies. Just for their information, I can only say that our score is based on the sum of all reviews; positive and negative, so they are part of a screaming minority.
Read more
Jeffrey L wrote a review Oct 2021
Phnom Penh, Cambodia539 contributions205 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was truly a great find. A castle/chateau in the middle of the Burgundy wine region, run by a couple who truly love what they do. We have never been small inn people, but, this inn which has 6 rooms, was luxury. The food, and ambiance were what you would expect. The rooms were large and comfortable, with high end toiletries. The happy hour by the oversized fireplace were so memorable, and the service was great. We can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Klomp, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Dearest Karen, Jeff and family, what a real pleasure it was to have you as our guests. Thank you for good time we’ve spent together and your genuine compliments. Overlooking your other posts, you must’ve had 'a ball' in Paris as well. Looking very much forward welcoming you again at La Borde.
Read more
Susie A wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
All I can say is wow! We just returned home from 2 incredible nights at La Borde and already look forward to returning. The property and grounds are stunning and Marieke and Rik made us feel so at home. We loved relaxing by the pool, wandering through the expansive gardens, playing tennis each morning, and enjoying Marieke’s delicious cooking. Our room (Safran) was luxurious and spacious. The landscaping is absolutely beautiful. We returned feeling rested and relaxed and so well taken care of. We will be recommending La Borde to all our friends!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Klomp, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Dear Susie, It was our pleasure having you two as our guests during your long (bank holiday) weekend. Despite the rather fresh weather you’ve fully enjoyed all we have to offer by playing tennis, strolling through the gardens, chilling around the pool and enjoying yourselves in our playroom. We’re very much looking forward seeing you back again. Good luck with both your busy and demanding careers and thanks again staying with us last weekend.
Read more
Rébecca N wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom134 contributions85 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at La Borde for 5 nights in July 2020. We had a really good stay, the place is beautiful. The food, although overpriced is very good. The rooms are luxurious and we had a great time. We aimed at coming back in May 2021, so in June we booked and paid for a room for end of July for a few nights. Only the day after our booking, I found out that I would have to stay in the UK where I live for much longer than expected given some ongoing health issues, and that my covid vaccine would have to be postponed. We called La Borde to let them know immediately and cancel and explore postponing options. We spoke to one of the owners (the wife) who was extremely rude to us on the phone, and basically hung up on us because she was annoyed. She said “I’m going to cut your short” as my husband was explaining the situation and she ended the call. We were shocked. During our stay in 2020 there were a few occasions when she was a bit too direct and rude, but we decided to ignore it. This goes a step too far however and is an unacceptable way of treating returning customers. She clearly thought we were lying but that is no excuse!!!! Needless to say, despite the beautiful grounds we will never go back to La Borde and won’t recommend it to our friends. Very disappointing especially given the price. We followed up with an email after the call and we’re reimbursed fully, but still. You are running a 5 star hotel - not a playground.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Klomp, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded Aug 25, 2021
For a stay that never took place, note : 1/5 ? We are running a five star hotel, not a playground : indeed. Dear Rebecca and Tony, First of all, we notice that the review and note of Rebecca are based on a stay that never took place in July 2021 since you had to cancel the day following your reservation for a health issue of her which must have been an enormous disappointment for you both and we hope she is doing well. We preferred to refund the deposit because you could not oversee when Rebecca would have been able to travel again and it would be difficult at that moment to explore postponing options. Our answer was clear and correct but seems to have been understood as rude and too direct. Furthermore, your note is unfair and we are shocked about your review that is not reflecting the way we treat our guests. We always try to find good solutions to their problems and demands, and even more in the COVID situation.
Read more
Michael B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Lovely intimate yet spacious luxury inn in the countryside of Burgundy. It is rare gem and has the personal touch of the owners/hoteliers that are on site. If you want a nice moment in the countryside just 2 hours from Paris or a nice stopover while going toward the south of France, this is the place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eurofolk wrote a review Aug 2020
Herent, Belgium449 contributions266 helpful votes
Just back from a (too) short stay at La Borde at the end of a few days in Bourgogne. This is a truly special place, run by two gifted and special hosts - Marieke and Rik. The location, the extensive garden and land around the property - all available to explore, the sense of calm (just five, maximum six, rooms occupied) and the attention to detail in the rooms and the whole place let you know this is a very special stay. A great pool, a beautiful junior suite with a high, open beamed, ceiling, kept cool by the medieval walls, as well as an effective airco. Nice touches were the espresso machine in the room and the Bose blue tooth speaker that actually worked. Some lovely open areas, such as the terrace for breakfast or the bar/relaxation area, which had I been staying longer would definitely have seen me trying the Monkey 47 - the choice of a property’s gin can tell you a lot about a place. As this was a Sunday, which is the evening they do not cook for guests, they recommended a lovely restaurant by the river about half an hour away in Vincelottes. This was a great recommendation. Having driven through the regional parc de Morvan on our way, it is clear that there are lots of possibilities for things to do in this region and the history of Auxerre and the vineyards of Chablis are close as well. However, the one thing above others, that I take away from this stay and which tells me I want to return is that you left feeling that you had been made to feel at home. You had the chance to meet two great, driven people, who had made a success of project to build a business from scratch and who were managing to find their way through a challenging COVID environment, while offering a superlative experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Klomp, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear Kristine and Peter, thank you for your kind review while having stayed with us for just one night. Unfortunately we hadn’t any room capacity left to sojourn longer at La Borde Next time –while visiting longer- we’ll be delighted to treat you even better, by cooking at least once. Already looking forward welcoming you again, we wish you a smooth return to daily life. Warm regards, Marieke & Rik.
Read more
huberronald wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
If you are looking for a peaceful, authentic yet classy retreat, La Borde is the right place for you. It combines the charm of old stones with a 5* experience. The owners are great hosts. They make you feel at home and welcome in their domain.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Al S wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia49 contributions67 helpful votes
We arrived after a long day driving from Sarlat-la-Caneda. Rik and Marieke warmly welcomed us and Rik carried our luggage upstairs to our room. Room was clean, beautifully presented, with well appointed bathroom with separate toilet and shower, plus free-standing bath. Beds were comfortable and the room had plenty of space for open suitcases without tripping over them. The trip was part of a 30th anniversary holiday and the stay here was delightful. Dinner outside on the covered terrace was relaxed, delicious and accompanied by Rik's suggestion of a local Chablis - also excellent. The moon-rise was exquisite and the silence wonderful. The following morning we strolled around the grounds taking photographs, enjoying chatting with the gardener in the large vegetable garden, patting the dogs, realising how much more was on offer at this stunning boutique establishment : games room, reading room, huge glasshouse, etc. We enjoyed the ambience so much, we have already booked to stay for 3 nights next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: suite upstairs was spacious and with vaulted, exposed Oak beam and dormer windows, provided views...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LBMH89, Propriétaire at La Borde
Responded Oct 5, 2019
The pleasure was mutual and we’re very much looking forward to your longer stay next year.
Read more
ELLE WW wrote a review Sep 2019
Stamford, England, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
stayed here for one night en route to the Euro Tunnel, delightful place, slept far too well. Mr Klop was just lovely nothing was too much trouble. Great wine selection and very accommodating on the food. Gym & heated were enjoyed by the other half.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David C wrote a review Sep 2019
Painswick, United Kingdom27 contributions13 helpful votes
Junior Suite was fabulous, as was the service, facilities and location. Will return with family and stay longer. Dinner and breakfast of the highest quality. Setting for dinner was stunning. Can’t rate too highly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$463 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceBourgogne-Franche-ComtéYonneLeugny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Borde
Which popular attractions are close to La Borde?
Nearby attractions include Église Saint-Pierre de Toucy (4.6 miles) and Eglise Saint-Marien (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Borde?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Borde?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Borde?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Borde?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Borde?
Conveniently located restaurants include Broc and Roll, La P'tite rue Colette, and Le Delice des Galets.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Borde?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is La Borde located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Leugny.
Does La Borde offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Borde?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to La Borde?
Many travelers enjoy visiting La Maison de Colette (8.8 miles).