Hotel Salus Terme

Hotel Salus Terme

Traveler (1262)
Panorama of the 4 Classic Room at the Hotel Salus Terme
360
Panoramas (82)
Parco termale
Pool & Beach (334)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$240
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$240
$183
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 21 hotels in Viterbo
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
In the heart of Italy, between Rome and Tuscany, just 1,5 km outside the medieval town of Viterbo, Terme Salus Hotel will provide you with an authentic Italian experience. Surrounded by nature, you can enjoy our facilities and the SPA which makes it unique by the use of water which comes directky from the ancient Etruscan thermal baths. Staying at the Terme Salus Hotel is the best way to discover Italy without forgetting to relax with a total peace of mind. Our Hotel has more than 90 rooms. All of them are large and furnished at a high standard. Every comfort is fully provided: Air conditioning, TV LCD, Cable TV, wifi connection, mini-bar, internal telephone line, strongbox and hair dryer. The hotel is situated near the center of Viterbo and has a wide parking lot. Our great multilingual and friendly reception is at your disposal 24h. The Terme Salus Center, adjacent to the Hotel, combines tradition and innovation for total care of the body. Our main bath is the thermal spring San Valentino with its waters coming directly from the Bullicame. The thermal spring sparkles 1 km away from our Center and has a temperature between 36° and 40°. Its physic-chemical properties have an anti-inflammatory effect on respiratory, integumentary and musculoskeletal system. Our appealing thermal park offers a wide variety of experiences: Kneipp therapy, Etruscan path, internal and external pool, gym, Finnish sauna, various relax rooms and a wide, open-air space where it is possible to enjoy the temperate climate of Tuscia all year round. Thanks to those features and to its extension of 5000 mq, the Terme Salus will give you a wellness experience to restore body and mind, while preparing yourself to discover Italy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hammam
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Strada Tuscanese 26-28, 01100, Viterbo Italy
Name/address in local language
1,872Review44Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 820
  • 689
  • 235
  • 77
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nikc wrote a review Dec 2021
Tuscania, Italy2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m a mom who came solo for a night of relaxation. The staff was all really friendly and helpful. The rooms was clean and comfortable. I loved the variety of pools and there are some really nice spots to sit and relax throughout the spa. I had an amazing hot stone massage. Overall almost everything was perfect and I really hope I can do it again soon.

My only complaint was the restaurant. The staff was super friendly but I had a few hitches. At lunch my Caesar salad came without dressing. An easy problem to fix but it is basically the main ingredient of the plate.

The main problem was in the evening when decided to order room service. I inquired at the front desk at check in to make sure I could and was told yes. I called one of the two phone numbers that were listed next to “room service” next to the phone. The first didn’t respond so I called the second and the person who answered was helpful and took my order but didn’t know the menu and seemed very surprised and confused that the number was listed to call for room service. To make a long story shorter it took 2 hours to get my food. I was told 45 minutes after placing the order that they were in the middle of dinner service and the chef would make it after. Everyone was very nice and apologetic however I really don’t think this is a service that should be offered if it can’t be prioritized at least a small bit. I wish someone would have communicated to me that I should expect a very long wait if I order at certain times or maybe even communicated to the chef before service that someone would be placing a room service order so they could be ready. I also didn’t love the food but it could have just been that I had a heavy 2 course meal at 10:30 pm and then went straight to bed. Breakfast was fine and the coffee was good. I hate to focus on the negatives of such a lovely 24 hours but it really was a long 2 hours to wait hungry when I was just hoping to have a dinner and a glass of wine in my sweats while I watched Netflix after an amazing relaxing day.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel and the spa. Just go to the restaurant in person if you want to eat there or if you want to eat in your room order delivery from a nearby restaurant. The hotel’s €10 surcharge on room service is more expensive then most delivery charges in the area and I’m sure the delivery would be quicker.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Skip room service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ALESSANDRA BIAGINI, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Dear Vacation08153475737, Many thanks for the review posted and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Salus Terme Hotel. I was delighted to read that my colleagues were able to make you feel comfortable. I was however most concerned to read of your experience with the room service and have addressed your comments directly with them. We do look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diana a wrote a review Feb 2020
Naples, Italy136 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved this thermal spa hotel in Viterbo. There's not much to do in the town itself, but the spa and thermal bath facilities are some of the best we've beem to in Italy. Temperatures of the water and variety of the pools are excellent. The hotel and rooms are not overly fancy, but the thermal baths, spa and staff are amazing, helpful and accomodating. A great place for a relaxing spa vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pamela S. wrote a review Feb 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom46 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I decided to spend my birthday 🎂 in this lovely hotel and relax in the Spa. Everyone was professional and nice, cocktails amazing, fresh food and very good quality. Tibetan massage is a must!
The staff in the restaurant also surprised me with a happy bday wee cake!
Thank u ☺️ we really enjoyed our time there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is always available for free even in busy times
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alessandra Biagini, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Mar 9, 2023
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your precious time you spent in writing to us such a beautiful review! We are very happy to hear from you that you really enjoyed your stay with the Salus Terme Family. Looking forward to welcoming you again and soon for another stunning experience with us, we send our best wishes. The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dania P wrote a review Jan 2022
Rome, Italy1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I rarely write any reviews, but here I must. Our experience with this property was absolutely amazing.
Extremely corteous and helpful staff, the Resort itself, the rooms, the stunning spa are impressive.
Comfy beds, exceptional food. All in all a gorgeous location.
Keep the ball rolling Salus Terme, we will come back. Definitely!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alessandra Biagini, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Apr 2, 2023
Dear Guest, we really thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your precious time in writing this amazing review, Your opinion is very important to us in order to improve the quality of the hospitality service we offer to our guests every day. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the courtesy of our staff and all the other hotel facilities. Hoping to welcoming you again, we send our best regards. The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agi K wrote a review May 2013
31 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here by accident but the results were great. The room was very nice and the spa was a really nice surprise. The property has multiple pools with various temperatures fed by a local 'terme'. There is none of the usual smell of sulphur! They supply robes and slippers for guests.

Spa services were well priced and the facial and massage were both done professionally and to my liking. The food was very good but a little one-note, not a whole lot of variety. Overall a very lucky find and a wonderfully relaxing couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baita11 wrote a review May 2016
Perugia, Italy28 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed for one night only, looking forward to enjoying the thermal baths and the buffet. What was meant to be a romatic getaway turned out to be a bug-hunt. We spent the night fully awake, fighting mosquitoes in a stain-covered room with what we later realized were their kin's dead-bodies. Breakfast was a frozen pastry parade, featuring low-quality cold cuts and old scrambled eggs with a selection of fake juices to quench your luxury-thirsty all-too-soon disappointed expectations. For being a 4-star hotel with thermal pools you would expect them to be clean, yet all we found were bugs, spider webs -in the shower- and cheap food. €123 for a small, insect-infested room overlooking dirty roofs. To top it all, they made us wait 45 minutes due to lack of posnet connection: they asked us to leave our credit card number in order to withdraw the extra €103 for the late check out, lunch buffet and lo and behold, €40??? Just to wear the bathrobes and flip-flops once. No way josé!!! I am definitely not going back.
Sent from my iPhone
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GestervitTerme, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Oct 24, 2016
Dear Guest, First of all, we apologize for the delayed response, unfortunately, we just saw your comment. We are truly sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the competence of our front desk team and that you had a bad experience. We will ensure that your feedback will be given to our concerned staff and, in the meanwhile, we do hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Kind regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristian B wrote a review Mar 2018
Rome, Italy76 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice facility with thermal spa, hotel, restaurant. Very friendly staff, they offer complete services for this kind of structure. Indoor and outdoor pools (water of 36 Celsius degrees!!!). Adults only orientated, very relaxing, looks like something "far from the madding crow". Only one hour away from Rome, right near Viterbo, great place for sightseeing, eating and shopping. A great place for locals and tourists as well. Take your time and enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GestervitTerme, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Apr 8, 2018
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you had the chance to visit our beautiful city. Looking forward to welcomimng you back soon, Kind Regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deMerclesden wrote a review Aug 2013
London, United Kingdom227 contributions189 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The spa facilities and pools (both heated and unseated) are superb - the indoor, extending to outdoor, heated thermal pool was on the challenging side of warm, but once entered was relaxing and enjoyable. The sauna and Turkish baths were also good - clean and easily accessible. The outdoor recreational pools were again superb and as access to all of these facilities came with the room rate it was a good bonus. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is a little tired and run down - it seems as if it has seen better days - rooms need an overhaul and the air-conditioning in neither of the rooms that we had booked worked. Whilst standing fans were provided, it was clear from the staff response that this was a recurrent issue. Breakfast was dull, with no respite from sweet pastries and cake.

By all means visit the spa facilities, but you might want to look at alternative Viterbo accommodation options...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alcabe wrote a review Dec 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom250 contributions118 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor signage to the hotel, and only when you're almost at it, so not that easy to find.
Hedges lining the car park not pruned enough so they scratch your car (good start).
English notices have not been translated by a real Anglophone, so they are weird ("Wear the mask"!). Not one notice in English had been translated correctly. So bored of this.
Very slow check in at reception; was the person chosen for her looks rather than her efficiency?
We bought a day pass including lunch which turned out to be more expensive than if you'd paid for lunch separately, which is the opposite of what an "offer" is meant to be.
Lunch was called "smart" - who knows why? "Regulations" meant that hotel guests sat in the nicer area with the view; the day-pass guests (treat us worse, why don't you?) had to sit in a separate area with no light except for skylights. And there were only four people in the whole restaurant, so a little flexibility wouldn't have gone amiss.
Two courses for 30 euros turns out to be only one main course and pudding or fruit; you're not allowed to have a starter and a main course. And the olives were the cheapest, nastiest kind which taste only of plastic.
I would expect this type of hotel to have a better menu.
The pools and tubs are absolutely wonderful, although some are rather too shallow to be comfortable when it's really cold outside. The website says they clean the pools on Tuesdays, which is a worry as I would expect daily cleaning in this sort of place. We went on a Tuesday and the water wasn't that clean, so I don't know if the pools had already been cleaned or not.

There are several lovely places to relax, although the main one has only rather unpleasant tisanes and only paper cups (again, not what I would expect at this level as I imagine they have a dishwasher or two). However, there seemed to be only one water dispenser which we found by chance. Normally, spa places have water in all areas as it's essential to replace fluids in this context.

Although the pools and the grounds are lovely, there is continuous noise from the industrial site next door and the military helicopter centre over the road. It's very hard to relax when you're surrounded by a lot of mechanical noise. I wonder why the powers that be sited that hotel there.

Most of the pools need maintenance, especially round the edges. Some of the areas around pools are slippery and also need attention.

Small point, but there are no hooks in the loos (where do you put your stuff?)

All the shower heads I saw needs descaling
Difficult to tell which was shower gel and which shampoo; maybe the same inside?

All this to say is that the structure is excellent (except for the noise). Everything else is fixable with a decent manager and - essentially - attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ALESSANDRA BIAGINI, Direttore generale at Hotel Salus Terme
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, I am glad to read that your kind comments about the Salus Terme Hotel pools and tubs. Naturally I am disappointed to read that certain aspects of your experience did not meet with your expectations so please accept our apologies for any shortcomings you encountered. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are continually striving to improve on our guest experience and your comments are vital so as to maintain this. I hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Salus Terme Hotel again and that your experience will then be a memorable one. Yours Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gianluca G wrote a review Jul 2019
Verona, Italy263 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience, so far the best hotel I tried in the area (I occasionally come to Viterbo for business). The only things I would improve are the croissants.
The thermal pools and the wellness center are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from GestervitTerme
Viterbo
Good morning, Etruscan path is included for each night's stay , our pools with thermal water is not disinfected are placing continued . The tubs of water non-spa instead are disinfected with the salt and with a very low % of chlorine. We expect it to Salus Terme ! Tiziana
Answer from Alessandra
51 contributions57 helpful votes
Credo “Solo adulti” ma ho visto ragazzini di 12/14 anni forse considerati adulti!!
Pamela S. wrote a tip Feb 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom46 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is always available for free even in busy times"
Read full review
nikc wrote a tip Dec 2021
Tuscania, Italy2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Skip room service"
Read full review
Angelateresa wrote a tip Sep 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room with a view"
Read full review
suzanneanddond wrote a tip Jul 2018
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Le stanze davanti piscine fuore sono piu silenziose con vista degli alberi belli e piu!"
Read full review
Catkin24 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Lightwater, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back will have a view over the thermal pools"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Viterbo area.
PRICE RANGE
$205 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel viterbo
LOCATION
ItalyLazioProvince of ViterboViterbo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SALUS TERME $200 ($̶2̶5̶8̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Salus Terme
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Salus Terme?
Nearby attractions include Macchina di Santa Rosa (1.9 miles), Quartiere San Pellegrino (1.9 miles), and Monastero Di Santa Rosa (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Salus Terme?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Salus Terme?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Salus Terme?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Salus Terme?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Salus Terme?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Pinseria di via Saffi, Contrasto, and Toto's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Salus Terme?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Salus Terme?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Salus Terme?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Salus Terme offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Salus Terme?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
All Viterbo HotelsViterbo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ViterboHotels near Hotel Salus Terme
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars