We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Chateaux

Save
Share
Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$158
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 53 hotels in Viareggio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Plaza e de Russie is a true historical residence, the first Hotel built in Viareggio, an Art Nouveau jewel of 1871, along the Gran Tour Route. Located in the heart of the city, in a central and strategic position, on the characteristic Promenade and just 40 meters from the beach, after more than a year of major renovation, Hotel Plaza and de Russie presents a new look: 5 stars, 42 rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suites and Suites) completely renovated in contemporary style and with the most advanced technologies, 2 Penthouse with breathtaking views of the Promenade and the Tyrrhenian Sea. In addition, new spaces are dedicated to the starred Restaurant "Lunasia" where the mix of classicism and innovation, aesthetics and taste, colors and aromas, transforms each course into an authentic artwork. The personalized service is our flagship to make every holiday or business trip up to all the needs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
47Reviews2Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 11
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Kaiwa_Hanae wrote a review Yesterday
18 contributions7 helpful votes
Very enjoyable stay in Viareggio. Close to many restaurant, boutiques and mostly important the sea and the beach of course. Great View On beach strip and on the sea from room... thanks for this nice experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
m Laz wrote a review Aug 2020
17 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
the hotel has said that I’m lying and the air con was working but I have pictures to prove that although set to max level the temp actually went from 24.9 to 25.4 while outside temp was 22 degrees. Hotel told me they would fix it but never got back to me at all until i complained the next morning. They admitted that it gets pre set but couldn’t offer me any compensation other Than free parking. Apparently a 10 euro car park voucher is enough compensation for a room that I paid nearly £600 for. Pics were taken from 10pm until around 2am. Didn’t sleep all night and ruined entire next day as too tired to do anything
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Oscar Oleari, Direttore generale at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Dear Guest, we are very sorry to read this review on Tripadvisor and to know that your stay did not meet your expectations. As we told you during your stay, the air conditioning can be adjusted directly from the display in the room, increasing or decreasing the degrees. In the night we didn't disturb you thinking that your room had reached the ideal temperature. During your stay and after your departure we checked the system and no anomalies were detected. Nevertheless, at the time of your departure, with pleasure we recognized you a compensation corresponding to the cost of the parking for your car. We remain at your disposal sending our best regards.
Read more
Jake wrote a review Feb 2020
13 contributions
Great hotel facing the sea - lovely rooms and really helpful staff. The hotel has just been renovated, so the room and communal areas were all in excellent condition. Really well placed for parking and for some nice walks to explore the town/port/beach and to find nice bars and restaurants in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from OscarOPlazaedeRussie, Direttore at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It's a great pleasure to read your review and it’s nice to know that your stay has met all your needs. I send you a special thanks from all the Staff. We hope to see you again at the Plaza e de Russie and do not hesitate to contact us by referring to this review to allow us to give you our best welcome. Thank you. Best regards.
Read more
Redlab5 wrote a review Jan 2020
Florence, Italy53 contributions13 helpful votes
From the moment we walked in the door they covered our every need. After we checked in they offered us a cool drink of our choice as a gift, and then we went up to our room which was delightful. We picked this Hotel on one of the Internet searches and it was a last minute choice. We change directions mid trip, so we weren’t sure where we were staying. This hotel is very modern looking, it really wasn’t our original decor choice, but everything has been five-star. The only thing I would recommend is getting a higher floor because it is on a corner of a busy street. I am sure if we had asked they would’ve happily moved us, but as we are on a moving trip and decided to stay put and wear earplugs. Price quality this was outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from OscarOPlazaedeRussie, Direttore at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It's a great pleasure to read your review and it’s nice to know that your stay has met all your needs. I send you a special thanks from all the Staff. We hope to see you again at the Plaza e de Russie and do not hesitate to contact us by referring to this review to allow us to give you our best welcome. Thank you. Best regards.
Read more
MMG wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a junior suite to stay during the New Year 2020. When we arrived on 31st December we have been welcomed unfortunately with many no`s; -we like to participate on the New Year Dinner proposed by the hotel. We have been told there is no any place available. It was very shame that we did not receive any useful alternatives -We checked the room service. However we have been told there is no any room service available. In case we need something we have to go to shopping area and buy things by ourselves. -We like to park our car on hotel garage, We have been told by the employee at the reception desk they will park our car Next day the hotel employee informed us there is a bad news for us, he and the hotel manager showed us our car front of the hotel with a heavily damaged window, He explained that the car was parked on a public area and one of the hotel employee found the damaged car when she was walking to the hotel. After absorbing the bad news we identified that some items were stolen from the car. We questioned how a 5* hotel valet parking service parking a car on unsecured public area knowing it can be burglarized. This was confirmed by the hotel manager! Following three days we have to deal with the police department to file the damage and missing items, where we received excellent support.. searching for a car service station to replace the damaged glass and clean the mess in the car. Because of the unprofessional service at the 5* hotel we were not able to enjoy our new year vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OscarOPlazaedeRussie, Direttore at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear Guest, first of all, we are sorry to read this review, the result of a negative experience lived outside the hotel and not dependent on our management. We are also sorry for what happened to your car during your stay but we note in your review that unfortunately the facts have not been reported as actually happened and we write specifically below. Regarding your request to participate at the New Year's Eve dinner we sent you an email with all the information and an option to confirm the reservation. We also tried to call you several times by phone but we did not reach you. We received a late reply from you (after the expiration of the option) and unfortunately the dinner was fully booked but we immediately worked to find an alternative. We sent you another email with proposals but we did not receive any reply. We have all the emails available and if you like we can send them again. Upon your arrival and following your request for room service availability, we told you that the service was available and we invited you to make, if possible, your order by 20.30 to avoid the possibility of a slightly longer wait than our standard. No body from the reception told you to go to shopping area and buy things by yourselves. Regarding the parking, we offer our guests two possibilities: the public parking in front of the Hotel or the garage which is located about 50 meters from our Hotel. This information is written in the confirmation received by email. At the time of your arrival and during check in we gave you the above information, you did not ask for the garage and we parked your car in the public area right in front of the Hotel. We would like to clarify that the Piazza D'Azeglio, where your car was located, is a place recognized as safe. The day after your arrival, one of our employees arriving at work noticed that unfortunately a glass of your car was damaged. We immediately proceeded to notify you and in the same morning, I personally accompanied you to the police station to make the report, giving you all the necessary support. Always in the same morning I contacted the official dealer of your car and I made an appointment for the following day to replace the glass (they also provided you with a courtesy car). We know that receiving damage to the car during a holiday creates discomfort but we are convinced that we done everything possible to solve this problem as quickly as possible to allow you to spend an enjoyable holiday.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel plaza e de russie
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LuccaViareggio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Nearby attractions include GAMC -Galleria d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea Lorenzo Viani (0.2 miles), Bar Eden (0.06 miles), and Museo Villa Paolina Bonaparte (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include L' Angolino, Osteria Pazza Idea, and Lunasia.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Plaza e de Russie - Relais & Châteaux?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Casa natale di Ippolito Ragghianti (0.5 miles), Albergo Garden (0.10 miles), and Palazzo della Croce Rossa (0.4 miles).