We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Continental

Save
Share
Via Belvedere 26, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$118
View deal
Expedia.com
$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$139
Travelocity$139
ZenHotels.com$170
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (428)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (138)

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Tirrenia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grand Hotel Continental si trova nel centro di Tirrenia, direttamente sul mare. Dispone di 2 grandi piscine esterne ( di cui una olimpionica) ristorante, american bar, garage, palestra. Dall’hotel si accede direttamente allo stabilimento "Bagno Mary", riservata ai nostri clienti, per poter godere della spiaggia. Dispone di 6 sale meetings, moderne e funzionali illuminate con luce naturale, che ospitano da 20 a 300 persone. L' Hotel si trova a 20 minuti dall' aeroporto internazionale di Pisa e da 15km dalla Torre Pendente.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids pool
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Water park offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
725Reviews23Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 164
  • 282
  • 171
  • 58
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jordy S wrote a review Aug 2021
Utrecht, The Netherlands3 contributions
+1
The worst experience ever. This hotel has amazing pictures on their website, to convince you to book with them. When you arrive you will see that this hotel is not what it is. I dont needs words to show how they are, just look at the pictures. Never compensated, no excuses nothing ! i even e-mailed their headoffice, no reply.. Well done a hotel that calls itself Grand Hotel Continental..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from La Direzione, Altro at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear Guest and Colleague, we read your review, posted identically on Google.com. To clarify, we inform you and the readers that on the evening of July 27th we received an email from you, with attached photos and a threatening tone, to challenge the room assigned to your brother-in-law at check-in. In the email you asked if what was assigned was the type booked; we checked and the assigned room matched the booking. The hotel has various rooms, each different in terms of view, position and rate. Despite being in high season, but given the dissatisfaction shown by you, the reception agreed with your brother-in-law to change the room from the next day, informing you via email on the morning of July 28th. From the moment of the room change, we have not received any other reports either from you in writing or from your brother-in-law verbally on site. The General Management has not received any emails from you, no position is on standby, we invite you to check your mail. We believe that our reception reacted in a serious way, impeccable in time and manner, finding a solution that would satisfy the guest. Two weeks after the end of your brother-in-law's vacation and especially after having immediately solved your problem, we regretfully receive your reviews to denigrate the work of a reception, as well as stating falsehoods about the lack of response; as a professional in the sector, your attitude seems inappropriate. Best regards, the Managament
Read more
Andrew V wrote a review Oct 2020
United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel did arrive a driver to transport us from the Airport, but I was surprised when we arrived at the hotel in a pretty run down area. As for the hotel, it's large and does look grand downstairs in the hall/lobby area. There's an Olympic sized pool inside which is good to test yourself on if you're a keen swimmer, there's also a beach nearby which is nice for its proximity. It's not very scenic though and is crammed full of deckchairs and people. You're not allowed to play ball games but the sea is pretty good to swim in. The rooms are poor, the furniture is outdated the rooms are boring, there is a minibar (with no alcohol in it) but there's no tea and coffee in the room! My bathroom was modern but was the only part of it that was, there is on a clear day a nice view of the mountains if you're lucky enough to get a room away from the main road, but the view toward the pool is not too pleasant. When there's bad weather you can only get a coffee from the bar (and you have to request a member of staff to go to the bar from reception as the whole hotel is understaffed), but you will have to sit there in eerie silence in absolute boredom. So when the weather is bad and the beach and pool are off, there's literally nothing to do it was incredibly boring here. If you choose to explore the area its slightly run down and there's not much to do. There's an ok beach bar and there are cafe/bars around, but nearly all of them are very average looking. There's an ok park to walk in and that's it! We came here in September and the water park and fairground just around the corner were closed!!! They did have a good piano player in the bar one night, our LAST night here however. The rest of the week there was only muted jazz music in a tiny bar. The one good thing is the bus at the end of the hotel that goes to Pisa so you can see the leaning tower etc, that could take up perhaps 1 day maximum. Back to the hotel, the breakfast is pretty decent and has decent variety, it's nothing spectacular but it is fine. In the evenings the set menu comes in small portions, and the food is very average even though the staff are friendly. One day I had shrimp off the a la carte menu and i was treated to a massive plate! The food was much better than the set menu! Overall calling this a 4 star hotel is a joke, it's far too run down for that in parts, and it isn't really the hotels fault but the area is extremely boring. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from La Direzione, Altro at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Dear Guest, we have read your review and your opinion carefully. We are very sorry not to have left a good memory during your holiday in Tirrenia. Tirrenia is a very popular seaside tourist resort and very popular with Italian and foreign tourists, for its wide beaches, for the beautiful equipped bathing establishments, for the clean sea, for the pine forest, ideal for cycling and for tranquility. Unfortunately, for the 2020 season the entertainment in the hotel and outside has undergone reductions or cancellations to avoid crowds, see Luna Park. We allow ourselves to say that in case of bad weather, every evaluation is negatively influenced, especially when we are in a seaside resort; we point out that Tirrenia offers excellent alternatives where to spend time: 20 minutes by car from Piazza dei Miracoli and Leaning Tower, Florence and Lucca are 1 hour away by car, with architectural beauties and museums. The Cafes at disposal of our guests are two, open every day; one of this is open from 9.00 am to 9.00 pm by the beach restaurant and the American Bar of the hotel is open starting from 2.00 pm to midnight. For those who wish a coffee or a drink at American bar in the morning, the Reception staff calls a waiter from the breakfast room, close by. The cuisine of the beach Restaurant is very appreciated for the taste and the varity of the menu choice, we regret, you did not appreciate it completely. The rooms were renovated recently, all of them with new floors, some of them with renovated bathrooms. In addition, for next winter, when the flow of tourists will drop, our Management plans to start the room renovations. We are happy that you found our staff polite and friendly. Remaining at your disposal for any further informations , we send you best regards. The Hotel management
Read more
Arnaud M wrote a review Oct 2020
Vilvoorde, Belgium90 contributions55 helpful votes
The hotel as such looks a bit outdated in some area's. The room is clean itself, bathroom not too big although we had room with a renovated bathroom, so fine as such. The hotel gives you a ticket to park outside for the whole of your stay, this of course avoid paying parking outside. The restaurant in the hotel itself was closed due to Corona. You need to go to a beach restaurant nearby. I am sorry to say but this was really below my standard. The food was eatable, but no sophistication what so ever. Sometimes misses basic stuff, like some seasoning. Hence we went out a couple of times to have dinner outside although we had half board.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from La Direzione, Altro at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Dear Guest we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tirrenia and we thank you also for your compliments. The beach restaurant provides open air dining rooms, terrace overlooking the sea and large spaces, for this reason many appreciated, as well as for the service and the quality of the food choice. At the end of the summer, the beach restaurant will be closed and we will return to normal and customary service standards. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. The Hotel Management
Read more
Jason M wrote a review Sep 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom53 contributions62 helpful votes
I stayed in this hotel for one week and had a very good time. The highlight is without doubt the Olympic-size swimming pool, but equally the hotel itself is decent and efficient. Key aspects of my stay are recorded as follows: * Large hotel with decent amenities and good standards of cleanliness and efficiency throughout. * Excellent swimming pool, kept immaculately clean by full-time pool attendant. * Very good and varied food on half-board. * Excellent beach adjoining the hotel grounds and managed by the hotel, with dedicated seating for free use of hotel residents. * Efficient bus route into Pisa city centre from outside the hotel. * Very pleasant surrounding area. I had noted that some reviews stated that this hotel was dated, but I would not specifically agree. Rather, the lobby was contemporary with beautiful marble finishes and tasteful design. The breakfast room had recently been renovated and equally was tastefully-done. Accommodation at the hotel is essentially comprised of two parallel blocks. I stayed in the block nearest to the swimming pool and this was very much up to date in its décor. The other block has an older interior, but likely this will be updated in due course. Without hesitation I would stay at this hotel again and had an excellent time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in the block nearest to the swimming pool are very modern and up to date.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from La Direzione, Altro at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear Guest we thank you very much for your review and your visit in our hotel. We are happy to read your sactisfation with our services. Hoping to welcome you soon again in our house, we send you best regards The Hotel Management
Read more
Apronman wrote a review Dec 2019
Bremerhaven, Germany80 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Wow what a run down hotel. I wish I could stay someplace else so bad. There are no plugins for electronics except one behind the dresser that is crowded by the tv plug. There is a lot to be desired here. Lots of stains here. Elevators don’t really work as well from certain floors. Not sure what’s up with that. Haven’t had breakfast yet but now after seeing the room I don’t expect much. This reminds me of a run down motel 6 charging high rates because it’s sitting next to the beach. Avoid if you are lucky.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded Dec 23, 2019
Dear Guest we are very sorry for your comment after your stay in our hotel. The hotel has 175 rooms with socket to charge below the desk. We pay great attention to the cleanliness of the rooms and places in common and there are no stains. The management of the hotel has embarked on a process of renovation, renovating the swimming pool, the buffet restaurant, renewing the bathroom in 60 rooms, replacing the carpet in the hall and there are no stains. the 4 hotel lifts are periodically checked by the inspection bodies, as per the legislative regulation. Shortly the breakfast room will have a new station, bright and large, where will be served a rich buffet with a wide choice to satisfy all guests. We would be happy to have you back among us to discover the good things we offer our guests. The Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel tirrenia, grand hotel continental tirrenia
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of PisaPisaTirrenia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Continental
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Continental?
Nearby attractions include Bar Gelateria Paradise (0.1 miles), Bollicine Café (0.1 miles), and Chiesa San Francesco (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Continental?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Continental?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Continental?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Continental?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Continental?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Martini, Bistrot Mary, and La Vela Tirrenia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Continental?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Continental have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Hotel Continental offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Grand Hotel Continental have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Continental offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Continental located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Tirrenia.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Continental?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.