We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$61
View deal
Vio.com
$60
View deal
Official Hotel Site$66
Hotels.com$61
ZenHotels.com$120
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1072)
Room & Suite (488)
Videos (2)

About

#1 of 11 hotels in Savona
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Marehotel boasts an unrivalled location right at the seaside, with a spacious and fully-equipped private beach in addition to a delightful area for al fresco dining overlooking the sea.Recently renovated, the 5-floor Mare Hotel has 66 rooms that face either the Gulf of Savona (southeast side) or the inland hills.Five different types of rooms are available: Superior, President Luxe, President, Confort Luxe, Confort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
1272Reviews24Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 589
  • 470
  • 136
  • 43
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Diana M wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Savona is interesting. The sea view from any hotel in the area would have been wonderful had it not been for the gas drilling rig and container ships, as well as the loading facility nearby. Unluckily, we were placed on the street view side of the building, which overlooks an active road maintenance facility, a coal fired plant and 24 hour train service. The beach wasn't particularly clean, and watch out for the dog and horse manure. The menus at Mare Hotel's two restaurants were quite expensive, and we did try the sushi place; it was average and I poured my own wine. (The touch menu features mid 5-figure bottles of wine, so be careful!) It was a Saturday night, and only one other couple was in our dining room. Breakfasts (continental) were alright. The self serve coffee machine often had quite a conga line for service. Well-to-do guests ordered directly from the bar, presumably billing it to their room, rather than endure the breakfast crowds. Wi-fi is free, if you can get it. We needed to sit in the lobby or outdoors near the (closed) infinity pool for service. The best part? A free tourist bus pass! We used it constantly to get to interesting hikes, local family owned restaurants, and nearby parks. A local restaurant owner admitted Savona is "an ugly place", and asked how we ended up there. We told him France went on strike (no gas!), so we needed to change our vacation plans quickly. When the sea is calm and the water is clear, the swimming seems safe. We did walk toward the center of town to a public beach area, where we swam. The water was chilly, but then again, it was October 31! Overall, we stayed too long. Savona can be seen/hiked in 3-4 days. We stayed 7 nights, as the hotel reduces the cost for lengthy stays. Sadly, we never were upgraded to a seaside room, even when the hotel might have had one available during that time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure the pool is open and that you get the room you expect -- we expected...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JOANNE M wrote a review Jul 2021
Basel, Switzerland104 contributions57 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids ages 9 and 11) that stayed for one night in early July 2021. We had a great time and the kids loved it. Location on the beach (small pebbles) is nice. Staff were helpful. Dinner in the restaurant beside the beach was good. Breakfast was included, which was continental so no hot food but still fine. We had a family room and it had two full beds which was comfortable (ie no pullout couch, which is common these days)!). We were upgraded to a sea view room which was great and the air conditioning kept the room very comfortable for sleeping. Covid restrictions required that you reserve a time slot at the beach (with a chair) which we never did; rather we just swam in the sea and pool. Hotel also had free underground parking which was a bonus. In terms of the area, we didn’t explore outside the hotel but there didn’t seem to be much in the way of restaurant choices- but in fairness we also didn’t research it as we were only there a short time. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Dear Jmarsden379, thank you for your feedback. We're really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thank you so much for your kind words to our staff, we're glad that you enjoyed our services too such as the private beach and pool. We hope to see you soon for the next stay, perhaps to make it last a little longer so that you can try our restaurants too: we're sure you'll love them! :-) Thank you for choosing Mare Hotel, Best Regards Helena B. Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irmante B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
No comments needed - photos describe the quality of the room on the 5th floor. Curtains, dust, trash bin etc. Forgot to take a photo of bedlinen for a child - yellow brown stains... When you come to the beach you can't choose the sunbed and umbrella - they are already reserved for each room. Of course, almost in the last line, far from the sea line. And you can't change them even if ask the staff to change. And even if about 70-80% of seabeds and unbrellas are free. Further more - you can't stay in double room with a child, you need to book a triple room which is more expensive. Ok, it is normal. But if you come the beach - there are only 2 sunbeds reserved for your room, you are not allowed to take the 3rd one. Even if the situation is the same - about 70-80% free.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Huongle wrote a review Mar 2022
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam260 contributions17 helpful votes
Just checked in and so disappointed! Staff here is not nice at all or I’m not lucky enough when I ask receptionist if just do checking in then after parking the car, on the way bringing luggage in I will give him my passport and vaccinated paper ho, he said no so I have to run twice in and out when it’s cold outside. Not a warm welcome but cold like robot!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Dear Huongle24, thank you for the time you have dedicated to us for this review, We can thus take the opportunity to be able to state that here at the MareHotel the registration and control procedures for anti-covid regulations are strict and are actually the first that are required at the reception. We regret that you had to go back by car to get the documentation, we recommend our customers in case of rain to use the parking inside the structure or the covered garage. We hope to see you again here at the Mare Hotel perhaps on a beautiful summer day and to be able to take advantage of our services on the beach. Soon MareHotel Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina Lee wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Room: I booked 5 nights in this hotel , the first night , when we entered the room , the room was hot , and the room it’s just so old , I can hear people Flush the toilet Clearly ! When I was taking shower , the water was leaking in between the bathtub and the floor, the bathroom Became a pool. The stuff came & check , said no other room for us cause it’s fully booked on Saturday night , so 3 of us can not take shower that night . Restaurant: The service is very slow , I’m fine with that cause we are in vacation & we are in Italy . But the bad attitude is Not acceptable in the 4 Stars hotel . My daughter was allergic with nuts , so we asked the waitress about 4 deserts they served that night . In the end we chooses tiramisu, the waitress told us to wait 15 mins. After 25 mins , she came with other deserts which is NOT tiramisu. We told her that she misunderstood what we ordered , and she insisted that’s what we ordered. And very bad attitude! Hello!!!! I know what I want to put it in my stomach, ok? Wake up !!! In the end , one waiter said it’s free the dinner cause we are not happy with the service & the attitudes, but I insisted to pay cause I’m not here to take advantage of you . Reception: After one disappointing night , the next day I went to the reception to complain, what I got is all the excuses, they are always right ! Even with the water leaking, they tried to give me the explanation! Plus they never let me finish my complain , just cut my words. Hello!!!agian!! I paid 165 euro for one night , I cannot even take a shower , now you want me to shut my mouth & just listen to you go to change to another room? So we paid for the first night then we left . In general, the stuffs in this MAREHOTEL should go back to Hotel mangement school to learning more training!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Dear Hueiwnlee, thank you for the review and the time spent with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience has not been positive and that there have been some misunderstandings. We thank you for the reports you have made to us, we will check the points highlighted to make sure that our guests always have the best experience at the Mare Hotel. Pervinca Tiranini
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
empereur wrote a review Oct 2021
Paris20 contributions25 helpful votes
Very bad attitude at the front desk. Very rude and not helpful. You should treat your clients with more respect. The parking is not useful at all. The photos of the website are definitely better than the reality. For my next trip to Italy I won’t stop there for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Dear empereur Thank you for publishing a review and we are sorry to know that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like to have the opportunity to deepen the highlighted points,in this way we could make sure that our guests always live a positive experience at the Mare Hotel. See you soon. Pervinca Tiranini
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
X6620MWchristian wrote a review Jul 2021
13 contributions8 helpful votes
Pictures are not reflecting reality. 799925491 There is a lot wrong here, what makes a pleasant stay impossible. Guys seriously: stay away from this Hotel. Pictures look much better than the reality. Be cautious! First of all, as a tourist you don't feel welcome. The welcoming is very dry and you don't get a lot of information. The only info you get is that you need to reserve everyday the restaurants, even though most of the time they are fully booked anyway. But first things first: Breakfast: There is no buffet, but 2 ladies are handing the food out to everyone. Imagine how long the queue is to wait until you get your first bite. The offerings are very little. Most guests are super upset about this situation. (Yes Mare , blame it to Covid, but other Hotels are handling it way better) Day: All the day beds are occupied they say, even though you never saw more than 1/3 of the day beds occupied. They always give you that "what do you want" feeling. You want to go for a spontaneous swim at their tiny pool? You cannot! A lifeguard comes running and tells you that you need to book a half hour slot for it. Max. 8 people allowed PLUS wearing a swim cap is mandatory (covid rules). Night/Dinner: You want to go to dinner? Wrong! They tell you you MUST make a reservation in one of their 3 restaurants as they are open to the public. Meaning, they give nothing on their hotel guests. Once I asked for some food for me and my family and the sent me to town. Everything booked. THIS IS NOT A JOKE... First come first serve. Prices in general: VERY high, top class prices like in a Four Seasons hotel, but guys, you are maximum a 3 star hotel, if even.. in the Restaurants you pay Swiss/Dubai like prices, and the waiter sonetimes (or every time) forgets something, based on missing passion to please. just that you know. Rooms are okayish. Better take take your money and go to a proper hotel. End-to-end experience VERY poor, I would recommend to stay away from this wannabe hotel that is just interested in your money and not into you ad a guest. Better wait until they have a complete new concept.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dream26039666521 wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Best hotel in this area! Clean, direct at the Beach! Book and enjoy because it’s so difficult to find a good spot with the combination of quality and price. PS: Book at their Webseite they have Great offers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Dear Dream26039666521 , thank you for your feedback! We're very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our services such as the private beach. All of us at Mare Hotel thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and hope to see you soon for the nxt holiday in Savona! Best Regards Helena B. Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrrusty161 wrote a review Sep 2020
Droitwich, United Kingdom106 contributions67 helpful votes
hotel is a good walk out of the centre. any other restuarants are also limited. the staff i have found to be very helpfull. you are allocated your beach deckchair and parasol at checkin. this is the first time ever i have had this, and personally i think its great service. the lifeguards take you to your place. the sea is great although getting in and out is very pebbly! breakfast is served to you , you select your items and the staff prepare your tray. only negative i have is the bed is really hard! at least harder than i am used to! the bedroom was clean and even though in the road side i could not hear the traffic, air conditioner was underpowered and noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jenaileaquino wrote a review Sep 2020
Milan, Italy1 contribution
We really had a great time. The staff are so accommodating. The view was great. We hope that we could stay for another night so we could try also the happy hour. We will definitely go back again soon. :) Highly Reccomended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pervinca tiranini, Direttore generale at Mare Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear jenaileaquino, thank you for your feedback. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for your kind words to our staff, reading such compliments especially in this particular period we're all living makes us feel really proud and motivated to do even better! Thank you for choosing Mare Hotel, we all hope to see you soon! Best Regards Helena B. Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mare hotel savona
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mare Hotel Savona
LOCATION
ItalyLiguriaItalian RivieraSavona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARE HOTEL $66 ($̶2̶5̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Savona, Italy

Frequently Asked Questions about Mare Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mare Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bagni Marea (0.02 miles), Bar Esso (0.4 miles), and Chiesa di Santo Spirito e Concezione (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mare Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Mare Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mare Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mare Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mare Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante A Spurcacciun-a, Sushi Beach, and La Locanda del Contadino Marino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mare Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mare Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mare Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mare Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mare Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.