We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Purple

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Purple
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
sussex, united kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Lovely place to stay in a quiet part of Sant Agnello. Amazing views over the bay of Naples just a few metres from this hotel. The hotel is quite basic but provides all you need for a nice stay. More of a hostel than a hotel with really helpful, friendly staff. Train station is a ten minute walk away and... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdomWendy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got back from a two week stay at Hotel Purple and we had a lovely time! The hotel staff where welcoming and helpful and we always felt able to approach them with any queries. The room we stayed in was cleaned daily and we had a stunning view of the sea from our window. The hotel is placed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy V
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- The pool was green. - The pool was out of service for the entire time that we were there, despite being told that it would be "fixed first thing tomorrow morning." - Our online booking said sea view but we didn't receive this and the girl from the front desk simply fed us excuses about the online booking being... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWillett

Travelers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We signed up for a "sea view" room and were very disappointed when we got there and were given a room that faced the front of the hotel. The woman claimed that when we booked, the online booking system wasn't communicating properly to the real booking system, so although it showed that a sea view room was available, it actually... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CoraItaly
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We spent one week in Purple hotel in July 2016, in a group od three friends. It has a really good location, and it's affordable, but I would rather choose it if you plan to move a lot by the coast and not to spend too much time there. We were of course aware of the fact, that the place... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Marta S
purplesorrento, Direttore at Purple, responded to this review

Dear Marta, Thanks to reviews our hotel. We're very sorry to read that your stay was not as you expect. But there are some thinghs that we will clarify. About the city tax every guest pay 1 € per person per night, is a law respected in every hotel in Sorrento. We have all the time table of all the... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming staff and a nice converted monastery (?). Stayed in bed and breakfast basis which was great. They offered evening meals and we tried this for one of their themed nights. Karaoke and dancing with the locals who were there. Very enjoyable. Rooms were on the small side but adequate, clean and had a sea view. Small pool and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We used Purple as a base for Sorrento and the surrounding area. Our room (double bed with bathroom and sea view) was simple but clean which was perfect for the price. If you are looking for a place to stay in the area and are not looking to haemorrhage cash, this is the place for you. The owners dogs are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sweenpole2001
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

We just got back from lunch here.. Unfortunately was the only place open and near us. Has the potential to be lovely in a nice tree lined garden. However the pile of dog poo in the corner of the eating areas, dogs in and out the kitchen, lack of food available from the menu, a pink uncooked hamburger still cold,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Princessslugslime221
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

I recently stayed here for a week for my big summer vacation. I had an amazing experience. The property is in a great location, very close to Sorrento with a great view of the coast and Mediterranean Sea. The view of the Mediterranean Sea which is just steps away from the property, was breathtaking. The fresh breeze and peace it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Terrible experience, they over booked my room, they then tried to send me to a nunnary miles outside sorrento in a dirty town (assuring me that breakfast included), the owner is so rude, after refusing this 'alternative accommodation' they put me in an almost air b&b across the road, infested with ants. After giving me a bed here I came... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Laurann O
purplesorrento, Proprietario at Purple, responded to this review

Sorry for what she wrote because it is not the truth ! she booked a bed in a dormitory for 14 people without breakfast ! because of plumbing problems the room was closed and people moved into a new apartment ,20 meters away and occupied by four people instead of 14 !!!! if this is a bad arrangement might have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
1.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angelina
Hotel Angelina
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME Purple is an Hotel situated in an old abbey of the Capuchin Monks dating back to the sixteenth century located in Sant'Agnello di Sorrento, overlooking the beautiful sea of the Bay of Naples. Purple is also a American Lounge Pub and our philosophy consists in the genuineness of traditional cuisine associated with the taste of local wine, beer or just a drink. 5 GOOD REASONS TO CHOOSE US: Best Price Guaranteed! A holiday in a welcoming and relaxing place at only 1 kilometre from Sorrento town centre! You can easily reach the nearby town of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Amalfi and Capri The parking and internet access are included in the price The nearest beach is at only few minutes walk.SERVICES Purple offers its guests numerous exclusive services to make their stay even more enjoyable: international buffet breakfast with a vast selection of sweets, jams, cheeses cold cuts and other snacks, outdoor parking, transfer to and from Naples airport, dinner service upon request, tour reservations for Herculaneum and Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and wonderful spots on the Sorrento Peninsula, boat trips to Capri and Isola dei Galli. ROOMS The B&B Purple has very large bright rooms, furnished with taste and simplicity: dark wood furniture with clean lines, light upholstery, floors covered with antique terra cotta tiles. The rooms all have heating, air conditioning and television. Different types are available to meet all needs: singles, double, triples and quads, with internal or external private bath or shared bathroom. Most of the rooms have sea view, while some look onto the peaceful garden which surrounds the residence. SERVICES INCLUDED All rooms include: Free WiFi, Hair dryer and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Purple

Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy (Formerly Porto Salvo)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $37 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Purple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Salvo Hotel Sant`Agnello
Purple Italy/Province Of Naples
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay