We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il San Francesco Charming Hotel

Save
Share
Via Caterattino, 04016, Sabaudia Italy
Booking.com
eDreams
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Vio.com
Algotels
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (321)
Room & Suite (322)
Dining (59)

About

#3 of 11 hotels in Sabaudia
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Lake Sabaudia, within the National Park of Circeo and flowing directly into the sea, is a place where the expression, “immersed in nature” has a profound significance. Here the main attraction is Nature itself which once you arrive slowly takes over. San Francesco charming Hotel is situated on the shore: a whitemodern building whose imaginary appearance is that of a ship ready to set sail to the winds, but that, in reality, is anchored to the calm of the large garden facing the lake and where, moving in the wind, are only the numerous drapes framing the façade. From the privileged views of the hotel, the protagonist is the lake itself, with the numerous villas appearing alongthe shores, while right in front of the San Francesco hotel is the small but evocative Sanctuary of the XII century, S. Maria of the Sorresca. The story goes that this is the actual spot where fishermen had placed the statue of the Mother and Child “fished” from the lake, where now, the little church (almost entirely rebuilt) shows few traces of ancian medieval character. A touringboat offers visitors the possibility of taking a cruise along the curved borders of the lake. This is an experience to savour at The San Francesco, located only 500 meters from a private beach and sea, just over an hour from Rome and an hour and a half from the jet boats to Ponza Island from S. Felice Circeo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Italian
507Reviews8Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 192
  • 191
  • 72
  • 32
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anders L wrote a review Jun 2019
Enkoping, Sweden29 contributions15 helpful votes
Two nights at a very charming hotel on a beautiful location. Wonderful rooms, and for my stay I got a room jus over the entrance with a huge outdoor space where I could spend quality time with my colleagues. Spacious rooms, great AC and a small fridge. I didn’t have dinner at the hotel, but breakfasts were great. The only consideration is the distance to everything. A group of adults have no problems walking the distance to the city center, but the traffic is close and you have to walk on the road. Not a problem, but good to know. I can really recommend a stay at the hotel if your are in the area. Make sure that you have plenty of time for the checking in and out though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Il San Francesc... H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Responded Jul 29, 2019
Thanks a lot for your recommendations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claudiotor2002 wrote a review Jul 2018
Ciampino, Italy16 contributions18 helpful votes
We spent a three day holiday at the San Francisco Charming hotel. The location is absolutely amazing. The lake view that we could enjoy from the terrace of our very comfortable room was priceless. The structure of the hotel is simple, but at the same time cool and elegant. The garden, which is undoubtedly the strength of the hotel, is unique. We really enjoyed the rich breakfast in the marvellous garden as well as dining at the excellent restaurant. We truly thank the competent, nice and always available staff. The only remark we feel to raise is about the parking lot. First of all, it is too small and with no canopy. Secondly, you have to share it with the clients of the restaurant that, especially on Saturday nights, tend to park wildly. Therefore, when you get back at night you may have to leave your key car to the receptionist. He/She will park your car as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Il San Francesc... H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Responded Aug 13, 2018
We welcome your nice appreciation. The effort we invest to provide our guests an extraordinary experience.Looking fordward to take care about you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianalazara wrote a review Jul 2018
Chisinau, Moldova109 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Quite nice hotel. Quiet place, cozy and peaceful. The rooms are clean. They indeed have a free parking place, because you really need a car. The beach is not that close, it is quite a long way (20 min fast walk) and it is not safe at all, as there is no path for pedestrians. The cars pass by in high speed. The beach is free entrance and you get 2 chaiselongs. Breakfast really dissapointed us. It was very poor and very little choice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Il San Francesc... H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2018
Thanks a lot for your comment.We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was, as we alway strive to improve our services and make the vacation for our guests special . Concerning the breakfast service, we offer fresh products, according to the season , and upon request can provide specific items. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hock Lye wrote a review Dec 2017
Singapore, Singapore2048 contributions4964 helpful votes
+1
Even with limited English, the staff provided a friendly service with a family feel. It’s really a charming hotel, all white decoration with resort feel. Rooms are small but the idea is to spend time outside. Breakfast is the most enjoyable part of the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
coachl23 wrote a review Jun 2017
22 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This is a truly lovely hotel tucked away on the lake of the nature reserve in Sabaudia. Elegant decor and picturesque setting make to a winning combo. Just 20mins walk from a sandy beach full of bars and places to eat I thought I was in Hawaii! We ate in the hotel restaurant and glad we did great food and wine all in the hotels garden. If you're​ in Rome and want to get out the city for a night or heading down south it's well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Noemi B wrote a review Apr 2017
London, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
We visited this place for a lunch break, the food was really good and the lake view was simply beautiful! Service overall was good, we are plan to stay in the hotel and try the spa service. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Timothy M wrote a review Jan 2017
Adelaide22 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in middle of winter and were the only guests. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our suite was warm and clean but awkward in design. Breakfast was delicious with great bread and great coffee. This would be a great place to stay in summer with its position on a significant lake and is close to a beautiful beach. Much to see close by with historically fascinating Abbazia, amazing old hilltop towns and places with sweeping views of snow covered mountains and extensive beaches (some were surfing in the wintry weather). Nearby Sabaudia has excellent restaurants and wine bars. We reluctantly left for Fiumicino after 3 busy and fascinating days
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Abigail S wrote a review Sep 2016
Great Missenden, null, United Kingdom171 contributions97 helpful votes
Hotel reflected all of the previous comments - very sweet little hotel in a lovely location overlooking the lake - we got an upgrade as whilst staying there two weddings were held and meant a lot of the hotel was really not available to us. Suite we were given was good and overall lovely but like a number of people have said there are a few areas where attention to detail is missed and does reflect that some renovation or refurbishment needs to be done. Road to hotel and parking when there is a big party is a challenge and perhaps something that needs to be considered for future development as parking in a field when party is on is a little disconcerting - staff we met were very helpful and pleasant and breakfast both in service and variety was very good. Fantastic location again like others have said chairs are beginning to look like they need fixing and overall impression whilst good could be even better - gardens well looked after.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ben B wrote a review Jul 2016
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful little spot. The pros: Everything is very well maintained. The grounds keeper is the hardest working person I think I've ever seen. All ways happy to see you and says hello (well in Italian). He is up before anyone putting out the pillows and stuff on chairs and he was there working on things in the garden to well past when we went to bed. So everything is clean and very well maintained. The Decking which goes out to the lake is an amazing place to chill out. We preferred this to the beach. The 3 days we spent down there, we were the only people so we had it to our selves and it was so perfect for relaxing/reading a book/sunbathing. The food in the evening was good, both times I had a steak with a side of veg and chips. Spot on and different to the normal pasta/pizza options. The breakfast was ok, typical Italian hotel style breaky. All waiters and waitresses were very friendly and best service of any place we had in Italy. The Cons: Other guests. This was our only complaint which I guess the hotel can't do much about so it's not there fault. Though maybe one thing would be the walls were too thin. The room next to our room were very loud and the room above sounded like they were walking around in high heals. But it was mainly the room next door, every single night it sounded like they were moving furniture, or their dog was barking (I love dogs, just not the small yappy kind) or the kid was screaming. 2 of the 4 nights it went on till past 12. While sitting for dinner, there were many guests who brought babies and it just so happened each one of them was trying to out scream each other. I don't mind babies, but the amount of babies there, it ruined it a little for us when we were trying to have a nice relaxing evening meal with some wine. Just unlucky on the time we went I guess. Also, the private beach we did not enjoy. So packed in and it's not private, you just get a sunbed and umbrella at the end of a long line of them and it's rammed. Few little side points. The pool is indoors with the spa, it's required that you reserve it, but you will be the only people in there. It's freezing cold so you won't spend a lot of time in there, but you will rather be in the sun. The only thing this place is missing, is an outdoor pool. Dinner also needs to be reserved.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff C wrote a review Nov 2015
Sandwich Ma. USA24 contributions10 helpful votes
My stay at this hotel was average - the hotel has great potential but needs to be updated. My dining experience in the evening was terrible. The dining room was understaffed and the waitress was absolutely rude. The breakfast was much better and the waitress was great. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioProvince of LatinaSabaudia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IL SAN FRANCESCO CHARMING HOTEL - Prices & Reviews (Sabaudia, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Piazza Del Comune (0.6 miles), Lido Azzurro Sabaudia (0.6 miles), and La Giunca (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include IL CIVICO 90 Pizzeria Sabaudia, Sorsi e Morsi, and Pasticceria Gigi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Il San Francesco Charming Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Il San Francesco Charming Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Il San Francesco Charming Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Sabaudia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Il San Francesco Charming Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.