We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Cimbrone Hotel

Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010, Ravello Italy
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (449)
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (138)
Certificate of Excellence


#8 of 22 hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Free internet
Public wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Good to know
5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Park View, Luxury
426Reviews10Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 320
  • 50
  • 22
  • 16
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yes, you are paying for great service, outstanding views, palatial atmosphere and peaceful gardens - but isn’t paradise worth it? Our room had both a sea view and a garden view with a lovely terrace which got the morning sunshine. There is another terrace with lounge chairs just above reception which offers a quiet respite in the afternoon sun which seemed undiscovered during our stay. The gardens are spectacular and as a guest you can enjoy them without the crush of tourists before they arrive in the morning. Carmela provides wonderfully warm service at breakfast.
Read more
it has always been a pleasure to visit this venue. The gardens were wonderful in October and the views from the infinity terrace. I always look forward to a drink and snack in the garden beside it. On this occasion indifference and a high level of surliness has reached Villa Camborne. Gone are the first class staff who have been replaced by a unhappy harridan who does not take your order but expects you to cone to the bar to be subjected to her lack of interest. Limited choice of drinks, no snacks and Euros 10 for two cans of drinks and two straws. Villa Camborne, you need to return to your high standards.
Read more
I have not been to a better hotel, from the staff to the room all was outstanding ..... just wow We ate at their restaurant every morning and had a wonderful breakfast and after we would stroll the beautiful grounds
Read more
This is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in! I’m shocked by the less than positive reviews posted prior to mine - those travelers simply didn’t do their research on this property or the town of Ravello - so don’t let their unwarranted negativity dissuade you. Come with the right attitude and let yourself be swept away to feel like you’re living in a fairytale for an evening or two. Villa Cimbrone is magical! We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was more than adequate. Who sits in their room anyway when they have a 12th century villa and beautiful gardens to explore? The level of service we received, from the pickup of our luggage near the square, to the tour to our room with welcome drink in hand, was superb. An added surprise was the huge box of bath amenities we were gifted - just lovely! Yes it’s a bit of a walk to the property - but that’s Ravello! Nothing is accessible by car here - so anyone who complains or faults the hotel simply hasn’t done their homework. Plus it’s a gorgeous walk through the beautiful town. What’s not to enjoy?? If you don’t like walking then quite frankly traveling anywhere in the Amalfi Coast isn’t the best trip for you, so don’t complain about the villa since the staff does everything possible to make accessing them convenient for you with the luggage transport. Once you get here, if you’re not moved by the scenery then something is seriously wrong with you (or at least your vision, ha!) It is so breathtakingly beautiful, and having access to the gardens before and after the public is an absolute dream. In the hotel itself there is beauty around every corner - so many gorgeous works of art and little details everywhere - just gorgeous. I can’t say enough nice things about this place so I’ll end with “Thank You” to everyone who helped make our much-too-short stay here a fairytale dream come true.
Read more
I travel a lot and stay in different hotels, but this was by far the worst stay we ever had! We had a deluxe room. The highest category before the suits for 2400€ a night!!!! (Please note that price!) arriving to this crappy little village (no idea what the hype is about that place) we call 30min before, as the hotel asked us, for the luggage pick up. To this place you can not get by car, super 5 star service, you have to walk! Abut 10-15min very steep and full of stairs road to the beautiful hotel. We arrived quite late. We travelled with out 5 month son and my mother. Who had to stay in a different place very close (and super cheap) to villa cimbrone (since our super deluxe room could not fit her). So we called both hotels, and the guy from my moms hotel for 140€ a night were already there waiting for us. Villa Cimbrone guy! (One guy!) came another 20min later. It took them 50min from the moment we called them till they came to pick up our luggage! Great 5 star service. And the guy came alone, no one to show us the 15min walk in the middle of a dark unlighted town with no sighs. Good my moms cheap hotel cane with 2 people, logical! One to take her luggage and one to show the way. How also ended up showing us the way to our super expensive 5 star villa! Please keep in mind we are with a stroller and a sleeping toddler doing all these stairs alone! We finally arrive at the hotel. What we think is the hotel! Since it is also barely light up. No real signs. No one at the door to help us! Absolutely a joke!!! Once again more stairs, and us crying the stroller! Btw, no one informed us about this. Regardless of them knowing that we are coming with a 5 month toddler. They could have advised us to take a carrier something! All they wanted to communicate was that we pay the room, the whole stay as fast as possible! And that was the first thing they told us when we entered the hotel at midnight! Please give us your card to charge the outstanding amount! My husband was about to explode from anger! Our room was... old! In not just museum old but crappy, cheap old. The bathrooms were made from the cheapest materials. Everything was falling apart! There was nothing that showed we were in a 5 start hotel!! We stayed before in old hotels, protected by unesco and what-so ever, but this was barely 3 star quality! Everything!!! The breakfast was also mediocre... and they try to charge you on every corner something! This is not included. Now its too late, you have to pay. The parking was 35€, even though the guy from my moms place offered probably the same parking at 15€!! Just pure rip off!! The only person that was nice was a lovely waitress at the breakfast buffet that was more like 5 star service. We have the money, and we can pay the 2400€ a night, but we expect the service for that money! This was a joke! Everything about this place and area was a joke! And a rip off!
Read more
Response from HVCRavello, Direttore generale at Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Responded Oct 2, 2019
Dear Marina G., I will briefly comment on your review and your poor experience in Ravello and Villa Cimbrone. We always accept our guests feedbacks, especially negative ones, because they help improve ourselves. However, in this case not all information were mentioned and the comments are not really presented correctly. As part of a wedding party, I think you were forced into a reality that does not belong to you, especially if Ravello, crown jewel of the Amalfi Coast, was described as ”crappy little village” and Villa Cimbrone as “cheap old museum”. Villa Cimbrone is renowned for the exclusive and quite environment and can be reached in 10 minutes walk from the town center or through helicopter. Villa Cimbrone is an historic building, part of the UNESCO heritage, and we attentively select antique furniture for our rooms. The “crappy, cheap old” furniture is from the 16th, 17th and 18th century and really appreciated from all our guests. We ask all our guests to call us 30 minutes prior their arrival in Ravello in order to avoid unnecessary waiting for the porter service. We send several emails in the previous days to know your estimate arrival time, without any answer. When you arrived at 12:30 am we did not receive any call, hence the 10 minutes wait. Our porters are trained to welcome the guests and provide the directions to arrive to the hotel. In this case, it wasn’t given the chance, since you left right away. In all our pre arrival letter, we clearly inform our guests on how to arrive to the property and the external valet parking service of Euro 35,00 per day. The valet service includes “in and out privileges” and dedicated personnel who brings the car directly to our guests when needed, not provided by any parking service. Your rate directly agreed by the bride and groom, was Euro 1.155 (not 2.400). Via email, it was clarified several times our prepayment policy and, when you asked us to pay upon check in, we made an exception just to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We are passionate about our work and we always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay relaxing and full of beautiful memories. We are disappointed when a guest leaves unsatisfied, however we know that not everyone can understand the refined, relaxing and magic reality of this beautiful property. I hope we will be able to welcome you again in Villa Cimbrone and, this time, leave as happy and satisfied guests. Warm regards, Giorgio Vuilleumier General Manager
Read more
$305 - $1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
cimbrone hotel ravello, villa cimbrone
ItalyCampaniaProvince of SalernoAmalfi CoastRavello
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita di Palma (0.5 miles), Ceramiche D'Arte Pascal (0.4 miles), and Le Ville di Ravello (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baffone Gelateria Artigianale, Ristorante Savo, and Nino's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Villa Cimbrone Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa Cimbrone Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Villa Cimbrone Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Ravello.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Villa Cimbrone Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Villa Cimbrone Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.