We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Località Ottone Cancellazione gratuita, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island Italy
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (520)
360
Panoramas (31)
Room & Suite (236)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Updated 04/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 27 hotels in Portoferraio
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
Splendid home of the Counts Toscanelli until 1920 on the Island of Elba, Hotel Villa Ottone has the elegance of an old Historic Villa and the charm unique to Tuscany. Surrounded by long-established grounds and with its own private beach, this 5-star Hotel is an oasis of peace, provided by the harmony of its landscape and the poetry of its exquisite interiors and fine exteriors.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
511Reviews10Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 295
  • 109
  • 57
  • 26
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve B wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Second time for us , this time we went with my son, wife and his children. Great place to unwind, from the initial registration to signing out the staff were great. Fantastic food all day with a great bar to sit in or on the veranda while waiting for dinner. Looking forward to next year
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Di Mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear stevebR6176BN, I wish to thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to read your words about your holiday and we really hope to welcome you again in the future. A warm greeting from all of us. Roberto di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen M wrote a review Aug 2022
14 contributions
Charming up-market place to stay with private beach. Spacious and airy rooms. Well equipped. Good restaurant. Very helpful staff. A 20 minute / Euro 25 taxi ride from town - some eating places a bit closer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Di Mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear W3849KBstephenm, thank you for writing about Villa Ottone on Tripadvisor. Thanks for all the suggestions, I am sure they will be helpful for our next guests. Enjoy your summer, Roberto di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irge A wrote a review Jul 2022
Geneva, Switzerland15 contributions8 helpful votes
Located on a pristine beach with a beautiful view of the lovely city of Portoferraio, the unique setting of this hotel will simply take your breath away. We particularly appreciated the friendliness of every staff member and the great food. If you are looking for authenticity, this hide-out in nature provides all you need away from fluff and bustling tourist crowds. Some of the furnishings may be outdated, but they certainly add to the irresistible charm of this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Would totally recommend staying at the Villa and dinner at the Pool restaurant. Make sure to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Di Mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Dear irgea, thanks for sharing your rewiev on Tripadvisor. Your description is really detailed and from your words, that really mean a lot to us, we understand how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you in Elba again, Roberto di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gertjan H wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
Location: private, relaxing and beautiful. Service: kind, quick and international. The villa, the room and the views astonishing. The food and wine delicious and great advice of the sommelier. More than enough facilities. Possible and recommendable to rent a scooter through the reception and scout the island (don't forget your towel and snorkel gear). We spend our honeymoon here and had the most romantic time ever. We would definetely recommend staying at Villa Ottone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rent a scooter to scout the island and take a dive along the way.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from guia di mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Dear 153gertjanh, thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. We are really happy to know that you will keep a beautiful memory of the days spent at Villa Ottone. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Warm regards from Elba Island, Roberto Di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexander wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions6 helpful votes
First of all, just want to mention that the staff and the main restaurant is great. However: 1) the room is the smallest I have ever stayed in for a five star hotel, and the bed feels like molten rock 2) the room is just so incredibly poorly isolated. I can literally hear my neighbouring rooms’ conversation, and the staff’s hallway conversations turn into nice early morning wake up calls 3) its just overpriced compared to the quality This place deserves better and some hefty investment
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from guia di mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Dear Alexander S, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m very sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay at Villa Ottone; nonetheless I would like to stress two points: 1) we received your reservation through our web site, where you can find a full description of the rooms, including size and facilities 2) upon your arrival we offered you a bigger room, but you preferred to reconfirm the original booking However I have the pleasure to inform you that we are planning, in the coming months, several interventions, and I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards, Roberto Di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F. H. wrote a review Aug 2021
Wiesbaden15 contributions3 helpful votes
After a great stay in 2020 this vacation in Villa Ottone was perfect from the beginning with the direct booking and the reservation of 2 connected rooms. We enjoyed the above average breakfast and lunch served by a great team, getting very professional support for all major or minor requests (e.g. reservations in restaurants, or additional housekeeping) and the atmosphere of a heritage house, not being a facility in an international group of hotels. Of course the building shows a little bit of "patina", but this didn't disturb us at all. The management and the team are phantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from guia di mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear FLM36, I wish to thank you for your lovely review. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Ottone and that our staff was always helpful to meet your needs. I really hope to welcome you again very soon. A warm greeting from Elba Island, Roberto Di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NormanLSerralongue wrote a review Jun 2021
Serralongue, France42 contributions22 helpful votes
Coming to the end of our 7th year here. The hotel never disappoints. The staff are lovely and the reception gets better each year. A lovely gift in our room on arrival with a Happy Anniversary note. The housekeeping is immaculate and there is a wide range of room styles. The grounds are lovely, and I think that this year the garden staff have worked extra hard. The restaurant food, wine and service are exactly what you would expect from a five star hotel, but with the relaxed friendliness of a B&B. The Ottone, however, has one attribute which few others have - an absolutely magical setting, overlooking the bay, and facing directly into the setting sun. Unforgettable photographs and memories.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Di Mario, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Ottone
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Dear Mr. NormanLSerralongue, many thanks for your time and for your very kind words. Your opinion is important to us and the feedback reported makes all of us really glad. Thank you for noticing changes and improvements and appreciate our services. We look forward to have you at Villa Ottone next year and we wish you a beautiful summer. Best regards, Roberto di Mario
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marcosmenezes wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom47 contributions84 helpful votes
Ottone is a terrible run down hotel. It is not a 5 or even 4 star hotel. The rooms are dirty and old, there is a strong smell of human excrement in the restaurant and the beach area is very sad and badly kept. We booked 4 nights, but only stayed one night. I emailed the hotel asking for the refund on the remaining 3 nights, but they never replied to my message. I would strongly advise others not to stay at this hotel. It won’t be a pleasant experience, and they are likely to end up disappointed especially if flying from another country.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eduardo A wrote a review Sep 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely scam hotel, booked a 4 nights holiday and regreat dearly. Room is a joke, as per my pictures, Extremelly dirty, spider web, air con unit looked dirty, bathroom old and breaking down. On the way to the beach from the cottage there is a extreme faul smell of sewage. The beach is a peppled little stretch and is extremelly littered with all sort of plastics and rubbish in general. The beach bar is non-existent. We dinned over the smell of sewage in the main restaurant and listening to tacky wedding music as they rented the front area of the hotel and the bar to outside guests for a wedding. The night ended up with italians singing elton john. Luckily we do not have a financial problem and have left the next morning first hour. I can imagine how much more damage this hotel would have inflicted on us had we stayed. I was the right decision to leave, i will be requesting my money back from tomorrow as i did not have the time to do so before.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Daniel wrote a review Aug 2020
Monza, Italy3 contributions8 helpful votes
I arrived I saw that nothing was as if he saw! Old room! All in bad taste! Horrible faucet! Clean 0, horrible beach! Bad beach bar! Perfect restaurant! Then the old pool, always dirty! Bad organization! I believe in exchange needs, in general!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ottone hotel portoferraio
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LivornoElba IslandPortoferraio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Villa Ottone
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Villa Ottone?
Nearby attractions include Spiaggia di Sansone (4.5 miles), Sottobomba Beach (3.0 miles), and Spiaggia di Capo Bianco (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Villa Ottone?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria di pesce il giardino, Magn'Etico Bistrò, and Altaluna Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Villa Ottone have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Villa Ottone offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Villa Ottone have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Villa Ottone offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Villa Ottone?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.