We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Molveno

Savings alert: 13% below average rate
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (218)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#9 of 29 hotels in Molveno
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
411Reviews
6Q+A
7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 269
  • 102
  • 30
  • 9
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We recently stayed for 10 days in the Grand Hotel Molveno and are very excited! We booked a room with a view on the lake. Awesome sight, quiet 'paradise' spot in the garden at the lake, and located only 10 minutes by footh from the centre of Molveno. We enjoyed their hospitality, food and service a lot. We highly recommend this hotel! Ideal base for walkers and mountainlovers.
Read more
The friendly family, who have run the hotel for over 100 years, are able to communicate in at least 3 languages , iGerman and English - which helps in this lesser known part of Südtirol. Although the hotel is over 100 years old, the rooms have been tastefully modernised with an accent on wood. Both the window and the balcony overlooked both the lake and the impressive surrounding mountains. Room was a decent size and the bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was more plentiful than one expects in Italy and dinner was of excellent quality. Only minus point: the bathroom was large and generally well equipped, but there was only a bathtub with a shower hose which led to some wet surroundings.hose. The hotel outdoor pool must be a lovey place to pass the time in summer but, unfortunately the weather was to cold for us to take advantage of it.
Read more
Just returned from a weeks stay at The Grand Hotel Molveno and it did not disappoint! Molveno is the most beautiful place we have ever been.. Stunning views at every turn and plenty to see and do in nearby areas. On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who shared local information and the things we needed to know with regards to meals etc at the hotel. We were a little disappointed we couldn't eat there on our arrival at lunchtime but Molveno village is a short 10-15 minute walk along the lake with local eateries. Be aware if you visit out of season as we did that many shops close between 12-4pm! Rooms have recenctly been refurbished giving them a clean and spacious look. We had a beautiful lake view from our room which was stunning. Our bathroom was a little dated but this didn't effect its purpose. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast, all self service and pleasant. Evening meals were pre chosen from a different menu each day - we enjoyed our meals but are not fussy eaters at all. All meals were traditional Italian meals which we found interesting, particularly the Sunday set menu meal. All in all we had a fabulous stay and we would like to thank Alessandro and the team for their kind hospitality and hard work. Mr and Mrs Johnson x
Read more
I stayed in this stunning and hotel in May half term with my 9 year old son and was absolutely delighted with every aspect of the stay. We had travelled to Molveno to take part in the yearly cycling event around the lake on electric mountain bikes, which was incredible fun. The Grand Hotel Molveno is situated in an idyllic, peaceful setting right on the lake's shore and is perfect for walkers and nature lovers. The views are absolutely to die for everywhere you look and easily surpass Como and Garda. We had breakfast on the hotel's terrace each morning with an utterly breathtaking mountain backdrop and we swam in the stunning pool, again with the same views. There is also easy access into the crystal clear lake waters from the steps by the pool which was a welcome surprise we hadn't expected. The hotel service was impeccable and food superb throughout our stay. I loved the contemporary furnishings throughout the hotel albeit still with a genuine homely family run feel. We stayed in a sumptous large room at the rear of the hotel with an enormous comfy bed, huge bathroom and walk in dressing room. It was perfect for us and surpassed any other 3 star hotel in Italy I have stayed in. My son loved Molveno so much that he said he'd like to live there one day! I will be returning and hope to spend more time relaxing on the naturally fine shell beach around the lake and dipping my toes into the clearest of waters! He wishes to come back in the winter and take the cable car up again into the mountains but for skiing this time! Thank you sincerely to the Grand Hotel for welcoming us so warmly and for making our stay really special. We will be back.
Read more
This traditional lakeside hotel is beautifully situated above the lake and enjoys spectacular views. For summer visitors there is a small sheltered beach with day beds and the pool is great for kids. The owners had taken trouble to re-invest and renew, yet somehow the hotel seemed to us strangely lacking in comfort out-of-doors. Molveno and nearby Andalo are extremely busy resorts both summer and winter, catering strongly for children and families (and parking is as difficult as around the large lakes). Many guests return year on year so you should be aware that as people book all the best rooms a year in advance, you may not get what you expect. Of course, most hotels have rooms which they find very difficult to sell and only utilise in peak season. Accordingly, though our booking bore a request for a lake-view it was made as late as March for an August break, so our room in a dark corner up under the roof at the rear, had instead spectacular views of the carpark and garages. The opposing walls amplified the sound so the peace was constantly broken by heated discussions on the bar terrace below and out of control children running in screaming circuits around the cars late into the night - but mainly by merry guests arriving and leaving late, the sliding doors of the delivery vans in the early hours and the shouts of the 6.00am dog walkers breaking up dog-fights (for, as these bedrooms have no a/c, open windows are a necessity in summer). Although we requested a change of room, it was explained that the lake-side rooms were already taken by local and returning guests. The busy restaurant's bright acoustic was reminiscent of a motorway services after a coachload had arrived - although the food wasn't quite up to motorway standards; more like the canteen of a school in special measures. As it only operates for one hour in the evening, the queue can tend to descend on the buffet at 7.30pm like the first day of the sales and frequently by the time those used to more relaxed meals gained access, only the less popular remains were to be had - but in fairness, as the manager pointed out, "It is only 3 star hotel". The important thing which (if you are English) you may not be told is that you order tomorrow's food at the end of each meal: the menu on the table is tomorrow's, not today's. The exception is the 'Special Saturday Meal' which is more of a set meal. Here the main course (following a starter of boiled barley with stuffing balls) was Osso bucco a traditional Milanese dish - but in this case a giant slice of hard bone with bits of gristle attached around the outside and a stuffing ball (see photo). The table next to us sent theirs back. We should have done so but I believe we were suffering from shock. You should also note that because of the tight time slot, 7.30pm to 8.30pm, you may well have small children on either side of you, complaining about the food throughout the meal with ear piercing shrieks. However, the head waiter is both efficient and attentive and the manageress is friendly and obliging. They did their very best given the poor resources. The restaurant is perhaps best suited for large family groups - be they boisterous hill walkers or mountain bikers, but if you want a relaxed, palatable meal, we recommend eating in the nearby towns where the food seemed generally good. On the plus side, the car park is free (often not the case in the smarter lakeside hotels around Garda, Como and Maggiore). Some of the staff were friendly. The rooms seem clean, recently decorated and the en-suite was perfectly adequate with a good shower. The WiFi (which like many these days is terribly overloaded, so painfully slow) is also free. Breakfast on the lakeside terrace is very pleasant and is adequate for a three-star hotel. It is a very child friendly hotel and many of the guests brought dogs. Nevertheless, although we had paid for 7 nights, half board, we felt we simply had to leave early and purchased superb rooms in a wonderful hotel near Lake Iseo, called 'I Due Roccoli'.
Read more
Response from hotelmolveno, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Molveno
Responded Aug 28, 2018
Dear Mr Michael S. We were so disappointed to read your review and feel sorry that your experience was different to all our other guests, many whom you mention, have been returning to us for successive years. You stayed with us at our utmost busiest time of the year which is, ‘Ferragosto', an Italian national holiday and for this reason there were extra 'smaller guests' staying with us enjoying family time. Regarding your room, you were aware on booking that you had booked a standard room and there was no guarantee of a lake room. We understood you were disappointed with your room so made sure you had a beautiful lake view table in our dining room. As you pointed out, our dining room has one long sitting. The restaurant as mentioned was particularly busy in those days but we take pride in the fact that it is normally an entirely relaxing experience for our guests accompanied by the most breathtaking of lake views. The 'Osso Bucco’ dish you mentioned is a traditional Italian specialitiy comprising a cross-cut veal shank and thus often has a higher proportion of bone to meat. It is very slowly cooked so the meat falls off the bone. It is accompanied by braised vegetables and normally delights our guests. We are sorry that it wasn’t to your liking. We receive a multitude of compliments from our guests regarding their dining experience at the Grand Hotel Molveno so are naturally disappointed to read your comments. In any case, as a suggestion, you mentioned few times that you have travelled the world and in many occasion you have been staying in 5 stars hotel. It has to be clear that we are a 3 star hotel. From your words it is easy to understand a little bit of frustration, part of it due to the room without a lake view, part of it becasue you were disappointed about rented car and about the long travel to get here. You can understand that it wasn't our fall about this 2 issues. Last thing a little suggestion: at the check out it was not possible to speak diretly to you because you went away without walking through the reception. I spoke with you wife and sayed to her that I was sorry you didn'thave the holiday you were hoping for....she didn't answear anything. I would have liked to hear directly from you about this problems, not only reading such a discrediting and unlikely review. The Grand Hotel Molveno is a family run hotel and we take immense pride in our historically excellent ratings on TripAdvisor.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTrentino-Alto AdigeProvince of TrentoMolveno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing