We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Ferrara Hotel

Largo Castello 36, 44121, Ferrara Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
Official Website$116
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (176)
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (10)


Located within the enchanting framework of the 14th-century Estense Castle, Mercure Ferrara Hotel is one of the most prestigious establishments in the city. Each room features a full HD LED TV with international channels and free Wi-Fi.A public shuttle to and from Marconi Airport is provided. The service runs from 05:00 until 23:00.Rooms have a classic design with wood floors and elegant furnishings. Suites includes a private wellness area.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Street parking
Free internet
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Family rooms
VIP room facilities
Show more
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
634Reviews4Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 192
  • 294
  • 99
  • 38
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lovely hotel in a perfect city centre location opposite the old castle. Staff were nice and very helpful. Superior room (502) was very spacious and well equipped with coffee making machine etc. What took the edge off the experience was no shower in the bathroom. There was a hand held shower above the bath but no shower curtain and at times the water pressure disappeared completely!! No water out of the tap. We told reception but it didn’t improve. A real shame as everything else about the hotel was perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Response from ValerioM1292, Direttore at Mercure Ferrara Hotel
Responded Jul 28, 2019
Dear JRB2, thank you for having stayed in our Hotel and for your welcome review. We are happy that you enjoyed the room location and services. Regarding the shower curtain we are sorry, the bathroom would actually only have the jacuzzi, the shower is been added for an extra service, in other rooms the showers have their box, the curtains are not hygienic the reason why it was not in your bathroom. As for the lack of water detected in his accommodation during his stay, unfortunately the reception also came to know very late considering that it was an emergency block that lasted a few hours due to a pipe rupture in the road that is right next to the structure. We are really sorry for the inconvenience and we invite you to come back and see us so that we have the opportunity to show you how much we have to offer and how much care our staff has towards our welcome guests. Best regards Armando Front Office
Read more
The location of the hotel is unbeatable. The bed and pillow was very hard and the blanket was hard and rough. I asked for a substitution, or even a duvet to sleep on, but they told me that they did not have any spare and that is their standard hotel bed linen. It was really bad. My room was reasonably quiet, but some of my colleagues stayed in the out-building and all complained about the terrible noise of bottles clanging and rubbish bins all night. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Response from ValerioM1292, Direttore at Mercure Ferrara Hotel
Responded Jun 23, 2019
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for this comment about your stay in our Mercure Ferrara. We hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Anna FRONT OFFICE
Read more
Our Tour Group arrived quite late one evening - and the Hotel provided us with a really good meal. Our room was clean and functional. Breakfasts were "continental" - adequate but not outstanding. (we stayed 3 nights). The BIG advantage of this quite small hotel is its LOCATION just across the road from Castle d'Este. Would be quite happy to use again.
Read more
Response from ValerioM1292, Direttore at Mercure Ferrara Hotel
Responded May 29, 2019
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your kind words! Our best regards from Mercure Ferrara Hotel!
Read more
We stayed here for two nights, the location is excellent, room small but clean, breakfast average. However the bad attitude and behaviour of several staff members ruined our stay. It started on arrival at 11.00 am when the receptionist just answered “no” to every single question including the possibility of an early check in. She had a curt angry manner. We spent three hours outside on a cold rainy day. Posters in the lift advertise that the bar is open from 8.00 am to 9.00 pm however it was unattended when we arrived at 11.00 and when we checked in at 2.00 pm. We did not want a drink at that time.Later, at 7.30 my husband went down to have a beer before dinner and called to attract the attention of a staff member whom he could hear in the bar work area. There was no sign to say that the bar was closed. No response so he approached the work area saying buona sera. The female staff member emerged and screamed loudly “out! Out! Stop! Stop! You cannot enter” My husband sat at a table to wait and five minutes later she told him the bar was closed. As tourists from Australia who speak reasonable Italian and travel regularly in Italy we were shocked and appalled to be treated like this. We have never experienced such rudeness and lack of professionalism in ANY hotel in Italy, at ANY level in the past fifteen years. There is obviously a management problem when staff have got to the point of treating guests with this level of open hostility and aggression. Even the breakfast staff were sullen and uncooperative. Our friends too, separately experienced this behaviour .
Read more
It was a nice time to stay here. The staff was attentious. The location is also really good, close to restaurants, castle and stores. Unfortunately, the parking lot is or on the street or in a place close to 500 m far from hotel. I recommend to stay here.
Read more
Response from ValerioM1292, Direttore at Mercure Ferrara Hotel
Responded Feb 11, 2019
Dear Guest, an heartfelt thanks for your review! Our best regards!
Read more
$55 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of FerraraFerrara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing