We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pemba Lodge

Save
Share
Traveler (113)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (17)
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“low tide”(12 reviews)
“octopus”(7 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
64
9
0
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
64
9
0
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tideoctopusuntouched naturefishcrabspiced teaan adventurenatural settingboat driveunforgettable experienceblue lagoonstayed longerhis teammilky waydesert islandmosquito netmango
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best eco lodge we have ever been to on our travels and we highly recommend this to any traveler coming to Pemba Island. The lodge is built with everything as you would imagine an eco lodge to be. Masood who is an all rounder...More

Thank Natasha D
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We stayed at Pemba Lodge in Januari. We have had an absolutely amazing time there. Ali and Masoud and their team did everything they could to make our stay unforgettable. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. A mosquito net is provided, as are...More

1  Thank vakantie27
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded July 10, 2018

Dear vakantie27, Thank you for such a lovely review. We are extra-pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at Pemba Lodge . I will personally pass your regards to the named staff members and I'm sure that it will make their...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

This is my second time staying at Pemba Lodge and will continue to go as it combines the most natural setting, peaceful uncrowded beach, ecological lodging and the best staff willing to accommodate any of your requirements! Plan on visiting the village and ask about...More

1  Thank Ka F
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded May 16, 2018

Dear Ka F, We are truly honored to host you for the second time and happy that you always take home wonderful memories of Pemba Lodge... We certainly look forward to your many returns.

Reviewed February 21, 2018

We were horizontal after our relaxing, stress-free time at the lodge .Ali, Becka, Masoud and all the staff looked after us so well and gave us great experiences. Our trip to Masali Island was definitely a highlight. Masoud was so patient with the snorkelling and...More

Thank BryonyThorn
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you, so much Byrony for your comments, Pemba is certainly a place to get away from the stresses and strains of normal life. I am pleased to hear the the staff looked after you all in a special way. We hope to have the...More

Reviewed February 19, 2018

We arrived by boat and the staff were waiting on the beach for us. Our room was huge, clean and airy. It was my first experience with solar panel heating, lighting and composting toilets and I am hooked. The food during the weekend was simple...More

Thank wifeinmidlifecrisis
Response from Nassor M, Owner at Pemba LodgeResponded March 7, 2018

Dear wifeinmidlifecrisis, Thank you very much for such a lovely review ...It was a plesure hosting you and we definately look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$184 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$184 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (113)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cloHammamet
i would like to tell a few words to Mr Nasser who came in the lodge very quickly while we were there: 1- do you know that if you want to have clean ans unsmelling eco toilets you should separate urine and sheet 2- when you wetre there the whale was already smelling so badly that we change room, buried ourselves the whale body but the pieces of the whale were still al over the place , you did look like taking care of it 3- fortunately you have Ali trying to do as much as he can 4- the price is absolutely too high for what you offer ; bad food, smells , service, almost no lights in the rooms, water so little you cannot wash your hair or your teeth, plus this few water is dark brown well i am traveling a lot especially in these kind of places and i was very disappointed and i can see i am not alone in this case but you did not put any answer on my review ( nov 2014)
December 20, 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nassor M | Property representative |
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your reply. Here are the detailed answers to the issues you have raised: Conservation laws say that we are not allowed to remove the beached whale. It is bound to take its natural course... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All room are quiet"
Read review
"I liked the houses closest to the main building where we ate because the wifi signal was pretty strong..."
Read review
"All cottages are the same, spacious and beautiful."
Read review
"None required. Sound of surf lulls you to sleep. Enjoy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing