We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chateau de Codignat, 63190 Bort-l'Etang France
E-mail hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (189)
Dining (37)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Come and spend some time in a truly exceptional location nestling just a few kilometers from Clermont-Ferrand. A medieval castle situated on 15 acres of natural park in the heart of France, in the Auvergne region, with its volcanoes, meandering rivers and pristine lakes. This area is also known for the historic and artistic heritage with its castle and Romanesque churches, museums and local arts and crafts.The Château de Codignat offers one of its 14 rooms and 5 suites spread between the castle, the Chalet Myrtille and the Cottage situated in the park (Verveine and Cassis).Come and enjoy the swimming pool surrounded by the nature, a regular size tennis court located in the shade of old trees, acres of park for jogging or long walks.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese
370Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 107
  • 38
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
no1stargazer wrote a review Sep 2020
Cheshire32 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night as part of a leisurely trip through France. Admittedly the weather was not great so the Chateau was not seen in all its glory but I am afraid it is in much need of some TLC. The grounds were untidy and overgrown. The room was nice but shabby and there is no lounge area other than outside the bedroom to sit (which on a miserable day was unfortunate). The food was ok but expensive. The room was, we feel, way overpriced and we felt somewhat shortchanged to find out that fellow diners (from Germany) had paid a fraction of the price!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianluca CUGNETTO, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear Guest, First of all , I wish to thank you very much for your review posted after your stay with us. I am very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and I deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. I really hope you will give us another opportunity to stay with us to enjoy a great experience. Best regards,
Read more
ClarkieBDA wrote a review Jul 2019
Hamilton, Bermuda29 contributions38 helpful votes
We stayed for one night on our drive from the west coast of France to the Alps. The hotel is beautiful and in a very quiet/secluded spot outside Clermont-Ferrand. Beautiful grounds & a lovely swimming pool area. The staff were all fantastic from arrival to departure. The decor is heavy and ornate but largely in keeping with the medieval nature of the Chateau. We ate dinner outside on the terrace which was first class - highly recommended and again, the staff were very attentive. All in all a beautiful setting. Our only negatives would be that, in this day and age, given that it is advertised as a 5 star hotel and is not cheap, a more modern bathroom setup would be more appropriate - by all means keep the traditional nature but add proper showers (ours was a hand shower in a bath). My wife noted that the hairdryer (wall mounted) was cheap & would be more at home in an Ibis hotel. Finally, again for the level of hotel/price, a couple of complimentary bottles of water would be welcome - €12 for a mid-sized bottle! Otherwise, a beautiful country hotel with great food and wonderful service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Maître de Maison at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Dear Clarkie, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. Please be assured that we will be very pleased to welcome you at the Château de Codignat in the future. Very best regards, Julien MOURA General Manager
Read more
krysteau wrote a review Jun 2019
Petit-Bersac, France2 contributions
We spent a night at Château Codignat. We were welcomed warmly and efficiently and shown to our room which was comfortable and clean, in a manorial style. We dined in the restaurant which was superb, wiht wines and food of very high quality; the atmosphere was relaxed and intimate, the staff were professional and attentive without fussiness. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Our clean and comfortable room had an over-bath shower which was slightly inconvenient.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Jun 24, 2019
Dear Krysteau, Dear Guest, Please let us express how thankful we are for this awesome comment about the Chateau de Codignat. We are so pleased to hear about your wonderful experience during your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a unique and memorable experience and we are happy that we were able to meet this for you. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Very best regards, Julien MOURA General Manager
Read more
PstarTraveler wrote a review May 2019
Clovis, California136 contributions83 helpful votes
Isolated and quiet location and an old rebuilt castle. Authentic furnishing make it feel like it's 500 years old and we enjoyed the vibe. Unfortunately the mattress in our room felt like it was 500 years old too. Nice bathroom but no stand up shower. Breakfast was just okay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Direttore generale at Chateau De Codignat
Responded May 29, 2019
Dear Guest, First of all , we wish to thank you very much for your review posted after your stay with us. We are very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. We promise our guest a singular experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I would be delighted if you contact me directly in order to communicate me the name of the room that you have had during your stay in order to make the necessary changes Looking forward to the pleasure of receiving you at the Château de Codignat in the future. Very best regards Julien MOURA General Manager direction@codignat.com
Read more
Clement CH wrote a review May 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland389 contributions104 helpful votes
We wanted a quiet week end in a special place and got just that. Our room was small but it is a 10th century castle not a NYC condo! The bathroom was a bit awkward I have to say but the rest was great authentic and thoughtful. We enjoyed the garden, the swimming pool and tea time outside. The dinner experience was very good although the quality of the service varies greatly from one person to another. Food was excellent. The equivalent 5 stars is for me overrated but it is definitely worth 4+. Charming week end ! Thank you !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded May 14, 2019
Cher Client, Nous sommes très heureux d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable séjour et que vous avez apprécié notre Château mediéval. Néanmoins, nous sommes désolés de ne pas vous avoir donné entière satisfaction et vous présentons nos excuses pour les désagréments rencontrés lors de votre séjour. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager cette expérience avec nos équipes, dans un souci d’amélioration constante de la qualité de notre service. Nous espérons donc sincèrement que nous aurons l’opportunité de vous recevoir de nouveau au Château de Codignat. Cordialement, Julien MOURA Maître de Maison
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de codignat hotel clermont-ferrand
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesPuy-de-DomeBort-l'Etang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau De Codignat
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau De Codignat?
Nearby attractions include Chateau d'Aulteribe (4.1 miles), Musée Départemental de la Céramique (3.4 miles), and Circuit Kart Escale (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau De Codignat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau De Codignat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau De Codignat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau De Codignat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Tour De Cou, Auberge du Ver Luisant, and Saveurs des Iles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau De Codignat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Bort-l'Etang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau De Codignat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Portuguese.