We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chateau de Codignat, 63190 Bort-l'Etang France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (189)
Dining (41)
Room & Suite (13)

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.7
Come and spend some time in a truly exceptional location nestling just a few kilometers from Clermont-Ferrand. A medieval castle situated on 15 acres of natural park in the heart of France, in the Auvergne region, with its volcanoes, meandering rivers and pristine lakes. This area is also known for the historic and artistic heritage with its castle and Romanesque churches, museums and local arts and crafts.The Château de Codignat offers one of its 14 rooms and 5 suites spread between the castle, the Chalet Myrtille and the Cottage situated in the park (Verveine and Cassis).Come and enjoy the swimming pool surrounded by the nature, a regular size tennis court located in the shade of old trees, acres of park for jogging or long walks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese
370Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 107
  • 38
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
no1stargazer wrote a review Sep 2020
Cheshire32 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night as part of a leisurely trip through France. Admittedly the weather was not great so the Chateau was not seen in all its glory but I am afraid it is in much need of some TLC. The grounds were untidy and overgrown. The room was nice but shabby and there is no lounge area other than outside the bedroom to sit (which on a miserable day was unfortunate). The food was ok but expensive. The room was, we feel, way overpriced and we felt somewhat shortchanged to find out that fellow diners (from Germany) had paid a fraction of the price!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianluca CUGNETTO, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear Guest, First of all , I wish to thank you very much for your review posted after your stay with us. I am very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and I deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. I really hope you will give us another opportunity to stay with us to enjoy a great experience. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClarkieBDA wrote a review Jul 2019
Hamilton, Bermuda30 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed for one night on our drive from the west coast of France to the Alps. The hotel is beautiful and in a very quiet/secluded spot outside Clermont-Ferrand. Beautiful grounds & a lovely swimming pool area. The staff were all fantastic from arrival to departure. The decor is heavy and ornate but largely in keeping with the medieval nature of the Chateau. We ate dinner outside on the terrace which was first class - highly recommended and again, the staff were very attentive. All in all a beautiful setting. Our only negatives would be that, in this day and age, given that it is advertised as a 5 star hotel and is not cheap, a more modern bathroom setup would be more appropriate - by all means keep the traditional nature but add proper showers (ours was a hand shower in a bath). My wife noted that the hairdryer (wall mounted) was cheap & would be more at home in an Ibis hotel. Finally, again for the level of hotel/price, a couple of complimentary bottles of water would be welcome - €12 for a mid-sized bottle! Otherwise, a beautiful country hotel with great food and wonderful service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Maître de Maison at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Dear Clarkie, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. Please be assured that we will be very pleased to welcome you at the Château de Codignat in the future. Very best regards, Julien MOURA General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
krysteau wrote a review Jun 2019
Petit-Bersac, France2 contributions
We spent a night at Château Codignat. We were welcomed warmly and efficiently and shown to our room which was comfortable and clean, in a manorial style. We dined in the restaurant which was superb, wiht wines and food of very high quality; the atmosphere was relaxed and intimate, the staff were professional and attentive without fussiness. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Our clean and comfortable room had an over-bath shower which was slightly inconvenient.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Jun 24, 2019
Dear Krysteau, Dear Guest, Please let us express how thankful we are for this awesome comment about the Chateau de Codignat. We are so pleased to hear about your wonderful experience during your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a unique and memorable experience and we are happy that we were able to meet this for you. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Very best regards, Julien MOURA General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PstarTraveler wrote a review May 2019
Clovis, California136 contributions105 helpful votes
Isolated and quiet location and an old rebuilt castle. Authentic furnishing make it feel like it's 500 years old and we enjoyed the vibe. Unfortunately the mattress in our room felt like it was 500 years old too. Nice bathroom but no stand up shower. Breakfast was just okay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Direttore generale at Chateau De Codignat
Responded May 29, 2019
Dear Guest, First of all , we wish to thank you very much for your review posted after your stay with us. We are very sorry if we did not completely meet your expectations and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. We promise our guest a singular experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I would be delighted if you contact me directly in order to communicate me the name of the room that you have had during your stay in order to make the necessary changes Looking forward to the pleasure of receiving you at the Château de Codignat in the future. Very best regards Julien MOURA General Manager direction@codignat.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clement CH wrote a review May 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland400 contributions124 helpful votes
We wanted a quiet week end in a special place and got just that. Our room was small but it is a 10th century castle not a NYC condo! The bathroom was a bit awkward I have to say but the rest was great authentic and thoughtful. We enjoyed the garden, the swimming pool and tea time outside. The dinner experience was very good although the quality of the service varies greatly from one person to another. Food was excellent. The equivalent 5 stars is for me overrated but it is definitely worth 4+. Charming week end ! Thank you !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, Directeur général at Chateau De Codignat
Responded May 14, 2019
Cher Client, Nous sommes très heureux d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable séjour et que vous avez apprécié notre Château mediéval. Néanmoins, nous sommes désolés de ne pas vous avoir donné entière satisfaction et vous présentons nos excuses pour les désagréments rencontrés lors de votre séjour. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager cette expérience avec nos équipes, dans un souci d’amélioration constante de la qualité de notre service. Nous espérons donc sincèrement que nous aurons l’opportunité de vous recevoir de nouveau au Château de Codignat. Cordialement, Julien MOURA Maître de Maison
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PointerDetroit wrote a review Sep 2018
Detroit, Michigan762 contributions258 helpful votes
It really looks and feels exactly like an ancient castle. Spiral stone staircases, weapons as decorations, antique portraits abound. The rooms are furnished with old authentic furniture. All the interior decor is charming. The grounds exude charm as well. The food is outstanding, so go for dinner, breakfast, room package. The only drawback is the plumbing. It’s noisy, slow and no showers, only baths.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, General Manager at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Oct 17, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay. We are very glad to know that you had an exceptional experience and that you appreciated our rooms, location and service. We well noted your feedback regarding the plumbing, we will certainly transmit your comment to the Ownership to better our future guests experience. We truly hope you will have many more opportunities to stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau de Codignat. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nyvoice wrote a review Sep 2018
NY, NY70 contributions99 helpful votes
After you leave the Autoroute, you really need your car's GPS to find this place !! Codignac is another medieval castle with a long, tangled noble history..including a relative of the Czar who bought it after the Russian Revolution. The ever-presence of a hands-on General Manager assured the smooth delivery of quality service..including a front-desk employee (Stefan), who volunteered to drive us around ..to Vichy and a picturesque small village..when we arrived too late to get a next-day driver. Excellent food..both breakfast and dinner..promptly served. The only negative..as in other very-old properties... no elevators. Our bags had to be dragged up three flights of stairs to our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The lowest floor possible..since there is no elevator..only a narrow winding staircase
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from julien m, General Manager at Chateau De Codignat
Responded Oct 17, 2018
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you very much for your review about your recent stay. We are so glad to learn you loved our sincere attentions dedicated to our valuable Guests, and particularly that we were able to over exceed your expectation with our services. Each member of our staff is eager to be of assistance in order to make your stay unforgettable and they will be very happy to read how much their dedication has been appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau de Codignat. Very Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alejandra A wrote a review Aug 2018
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions
My husband and I were so excited to stay at the chateau during a quick getaway to France. I will start by saying that my review is no reflection of the hotel staff, who were wonderful and approachable throughout our stay. Unfortunately, the hotel is simply misqualified as a 5-star hotel. The toilet in our room barely flushed (we had to wait around to flush 5-6 times every time we used it), the bathroom door was impossible to open and close (I had to make sure my husband was nearby whenever I used the restroom so he could let me out and I didn’t remain trapped in the bathroom- fun!), and the decor extremely outdated. I understand the “charm” of preserving the antique, but many hotels of this class have been able to preserve their history while bringing their hotel and amenities into the 21st century. The drapery, linens, carpeting, and fixtures all felt worn and drab. As a frequent traveler, I never expect hotels to be everything they claim, but for the price and acclaim of a 5-star hotel, this place is not worth it and disappointing. I would stay elsewhere in the future and would recommend others to the same.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bill_W_NZ wrote a review Aug 2018
Turangi, New Zealand38 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed two nights at this chateau. The room was very comfortable, with wi-fi, air con and a nice ensuite including a bath. The grounds are well kept, and there is the added bonus of a swimming pool. Check-in and check-out were both very easy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
fionahobbsbath wrote a review Aug 2018
Bath, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here on our way north from the south of France, relying on the Relais and Chateaux and Michelin ratings. It didn’t live up to either. Although the building itself and grounds are beautiful the bathrooms are tiny and in great need of updating. Food was massively overpriced and certainly didn’t live up to the Michelin star whilst service was erratic and flustered with very long waits. We decided against breakfast....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de codignat hotel clermont-ferrand
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesPuy-de-DomeBort-l'Etang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau De Codignat
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau De Codignat?
Nearby attractions include Chateau d'Aulteribe (4.1 miles), Musée Départemental de la Céramique (3.4 miles), and Circuit Kart Escale (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau De Codignat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau De Codignat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau De Codignat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau De Codignat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Tour De Cou, Saveurs des Iles, and La Tour du Chateau - Chateau de Codignat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau De Codignat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Bort-l'Etang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau De Codignat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau De Codignat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Portuguese.