We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Handun Villas

Save
Mudiyansewatte Kottegoda, Talalla 81170 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$60
View Deal
Tripadvisor$60
Nustay.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (132)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (10)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Talalla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Our spacious luxury villas are part of a restored 120 year old manor in Talalla, a quiet village along the sun-kissed southern coast of Sri Lanka. At Handun Villas we strive to preserve this tranquil atmosphere for guests who wish to escape from the hustle and bustle of day to day life. From delicious home cooked meals to yoga sessions in the garden, you will find that wellness is a habit here, where we take care to nourish both body and soul. With frequent visits from local bird-life, our garden provides the perfect backdrop to a relaxing afternoon nap or even a memorable destination wedding. Amidst the sounds of tropical birdsong and the serenading sea, the rhythm of coastal village life continues as it has for generations. Combined with our seamless services and well maintained facilities, your stay at our family friendly villa is sure to be an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5 stars
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
70Reviews3Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Conveniently located along the Matara-Tangalle route. Easy access to Talalla beach. Colonial style Villa situated in a coconut estate (with peacocks and other birds, squirrels often showing up). Clean rooms and decent food. Spa treatment for 35USD/p. Had a whale of a time in the swing 😍. Staff and Manager were very accommodating. Happy stay overall!
Read more
Response from Nayomi H, Guest Relations Manager at Handun Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SharpshooterEDR, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in Talalla soon. Warm regards, The team at Handun Villas
Read more
+1
We stayed for two nights in handun villas and spent most of our time bathing and eating in this place and beach. The staff are very professional and friendly, yet genuine. Communication was smooth because they speak english well. The room we stayed in felt very luxurious and well maintained to us. We do not have any negatives to share. Especially the restaurant staff really went the extra mile to give us everything we wished for in a heartbeat. The food is amazing, if you have the chance, order your curries more than an hour upfront; we ate so much we became unable to move. The food is cooked with daily fresh produce and left us speechless.
Read more
Response from Nayomi H, Guest Relations Manager at Handun Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear NielS775 Thank you for your review. Looks like you had a great time at Handun Villas and we are happy about it. We would love to have you back in Talalla soon. Take care and safe travels. Warm regards, The team at Handun Villas
Read more
+ Hotel has a long driveway so it’s a distance away from the main road. + Room had good air con unit + Mosquito repellant plugs were provided + Filtered water machine available + Very much appreciated it’s stance on single use plastic - WiFi: codes provided in the room were incorrect and after getting the right code from front desk the connection was terrible - Bathroom: is partially open which meant it was open to bugs and mosquitoes. Whilst I understand the appeal of an open bathroom we found three huge cockroaches at night and the bath tub was very dirty. - Noise: whilst it’s away from the street we were woken up every morning by the clanging of cutlery and crockery. The ceiling fan was also very noisy. - Pool: was dirty went we arrived and as a result wasn’t very appealing. The back drop to the pool isn’t appealing either - does not look like the photos. Looked like an unkempt area full of dead leaves and faces a breeze block wall.
Read more
Response from Nayomi H, General Manager at Handun Villas
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear lemondifficult, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and giving feed back which help us to improve further. We do accept the fact that past few days we have had some house keeping issues which we have taken action to eliminate in future. We would like to address the issues you have mentioned. - WIFI - We in Talalla use 4G connections and there maybe signal drops. We do not have the fibre cables yet which the government if Sri Lanka is working on Laying as we speak. Until such time we are left with the 4G connection. Therefore, thank you for baring with us. - Bathrooms - Yes indeed the open bathrooms are a guests favourite. But there is no excuse to find Cockroaches and like we mentioned earlier the house keeping team is now strengthened to improve cleanliness of the Villa. - Noise - We will look into this matter and advise our staff about the inconvenience caused to you. - Pool - the backdrop is an unfortunate event. Due to heavy rains last year the two big trees fell down and this year its so dry it takes a lot of resources to keep the left over grass green. Thank you for your feedback. Once more thank you for your feedback and we encourage all our guests to tell us in person or write to us on how we can improve further. Warm regards, The management at Handun Villas
Read more
+1
Had a great stay at handun villas.good customer support and delicious food.pool side and beach side both are very calm and cool,manager and the owner of the company provided us a fabulous stay.room is very clean and beautiful,in additionally bathroom is perfect to open to the natural air.great villa experience in Handun Villas
Read more
Response from Nayomi H, Guest Relations Manager at Handun Villas
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear kanishkp, Thank you for your review. Hope you will stay with us again soon. Warm regards, The team at Handun Villas
Read more
The pool and garden area are really nice, and clean. Staff is very friendly. The property is on the other side of the street from the beach, but the rooms are far enough from the road so there is no noise disturbance. The standard room has all the needed amenities, and the bed is comfy. Only minus point, sometimes there was a little smell from the pipes, but with the AC on it goes away quickly. We would go back anytime.
Read more
Response from Nayomi H, Guest Relations Manager at Handun Villas
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Anne-cha7, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again in Talalla. Warm regards, The team at Handun Villas
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceTalalla
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Handun Villas
What are some of the property amenities at Handun Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Handun Villas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Handun Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Handun Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Talalla Juices & Curry, Zephyr Talalla Restaurant & Bar, and Canilro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Handun Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Handun Villas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Handun Villas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Handun Villas located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Talalla.
Are pets allowed at Handun Villas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Handun Villas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Handun Villas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Star Fort (5.7 miles).