We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Talalla Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Talalla Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Start your review of Talalla Retreat
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Yes, there are a few lovely things about the Talalla retreat that would be only fair to mention: lovely grounds, clean rooms, free filtered water, cool outdoor showers. However for us, there were more cons than pros about this place. The two biggest are about price and food. The Talalla retreat seems like a bargain from the western world standpoint......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heathrmaye
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for the first three sentences.....now your complaints.....I will just say if you think $15 is delusional for the quality classes and teachers we have then lets just leave it at that.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would urge anyone to read the description and reviews of this place. It tells you exactly what it's like. I had a room at the back of the hotel- yes it is noisey- but any where without windows is going to be! The rooms are nice and you have to adapt to the environment- don't leave anything out in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rlglenn652
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review....explaining to people that how the hotel is described is how the hotel is are very comforting words...well done...and see you next time.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely spot very reasonably priced, the budget rooms and the intermediate rooms are excellent value and the food and yoga are what you would expect from a large resort. Don't go for the all inclusive option as the restaurants along the beach, especially the Freedom Resort (neon lights on the right side of the beach) is worth a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wakadaka
laurie432, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi and so happy you enjoyed your stay....hope to see you again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I attended the 5 day yoga retreat here and had a fantastic time. The yoga teachers were extremely knowledgeable and were a joy to spend time with. The buffet here is ridiculously good and certainly make the exercise you do here a touch moot. I stayed in the dorm and found it to be very spacious. It would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geelongexpat
laurie432, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your kind words....good news for our WiFi.....Telecom has finally agreed to install a cable just for us....which will give us fast internet....they say a few weeks,which can mean anything.....but it is and will happen soon.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is just amazing. The beach is beautiful and the yoga teachers are really good (15$). They have a 7:30 class and a 5:00 class. I would suggest the beach villas, it was really quiet at night, we didn't ear the noise from village at all, only the waves! The food is also good (specially the buffet for diner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steftravel2017
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Stef....I am happy you enjoyed Talalla....we are so proud of our yoga teachers....Talalla yoga is such an asset and joy for us....and the shop is a work in progress...we had a great designer from New York...Nicki Poulos....spend time at Talalla to design the shop and the clothing range....see you next time.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There are so many great things to say about Talalla Retreat. My only stumbling block are the rooms. Very few look out onto the ocean and justify the 'open air' cabana style. Ultimately, there is a troop of Talk Monkeys who are happy to entertain and ransack your open air room along with a whole load of squirrels who also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoJo036
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Jo Jo...glad you enjoyed Talalla and sad you didn't enjoy the rooms...of course I'm biased as I designed them but I love the rooms.....we do have squirrels and we do have monkeys ...life in a tropical island.....we also have eighty rooms...five different styles...and the management would be happy to find something you liked..but again thank you for your kind...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room away from the sea in the 'big house' and had a horrible time. Loud music from the property next door until 2am, toilet is basically next to the bed with no separation, and no privacy at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankTult
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Frank....The big house is close to the village...and sometimes village people can be heard...it can be chanting from the temple,a party or dogs or just people living life.....in saying this the big house surrounds are quiet most of the time...and it must be remembered that big house is one of our least expensive room choices....we are happy to find...

liverpool
Reviewed March 18, 2017

We had been led to believe by our tour organiser that we would be staying in open sided Cabanas , open to sea breezes and hearing the ocean ....In reality we had the open sided rooms with no air conditioning, but no breeze as our rooms were as far away from the ocean as possible...too hot to sleep.We needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank her177
laurie432, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi....thanks for enjoying Talalla...sorry you found it warm at night....the temperature at night is nearly always 25/25 degrees...some find this fine and I guess some find this to warm....Talalla is seven acres...not all rooms can be on the beachfront....when you book next time book a beachfront room...all the best.

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed March 12, 2017

While being there for 2 nights, lots of noisy guests were there, occupying the pool. WI-FI working only in the restaurant/lobby. No minibar nor kettle in the room. Open shower part of the bathroom. The room itself is also "open", in a sense of partly open walls, so only fan is cooling. The morning light falls right on the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea n
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Andrea...I am glad you enjoyed the beach....enjoy your travels.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

I went to Talalla Retreat with friends hoping to relax and do yoga. It's a rustic place. The yoga teachers are great and I really enjoyed being part of the camp. The retreat is closed off and has easy access to the beach. I enjoyed the buffet dinners and there was always something I could eat (vegetarian). Some areas for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Tricia....Let me be clear that we have no business arrangement with the Ayurvedic clinic over the road....I guess you could say they are competition for our spa....but we do recommend them because they are good. We take all complaints very seriously...many emails were sent to owners ,managers,the owners of the Ayurvedic spa......the therapist was so upset...he explained you seemed...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

448 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (412)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talalla
12.1 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
12.7 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
321 reviews
4.0 mi away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
84 reviews
10.4 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Talalla Bay Beach Boutique Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places we do not merely visit, we become a part of! Places that touch your spirit, and replenish your soul. Where time fades, and your only schedule is the turning of the tides! Welcome to an undiscovered Beach Resort Sri Lanka paradise. Welcome to Talalla. Talalla retreat is a boutique hotel, offering barefoot rustic charm on the Southern Beaches of Sri Lanka. The retreat sits on Talalla Beach, an undiscovered cove of crystal clear turquoise water, spotless golden sand and mesmerizing sunrises and sunsets. Of all the resorts in Sri Lanka, Talalla offers its guests a level of elegant simplicity just metres from the lapping waters of a secluded cove. Here, time is measured in moments of serenity and pleasure. It is a place to get away from it all and to absorb the unsurpassed natural beauty of Sri Lanka. A jungle paradise, Talalla is built low rise, and set into lush gardens, resplendent with tropical flora. Monkeys play in the coconut palms as they sway softly in the breeze. Monitor lizards roam freely as they have since the days of the dinosaurs. Squirrels twitter as they dart through the grass. And at night, fireflies light­up the surrounds, guiding you lightly to your villa.... Relax in the 20 metre freshwater pool, swing in a hammock or lounge on a sun­chair by day and by night indulge in a cocktail at the bar, or lounge on the sofa nearby. Sri Lanka’s best kept secret is waiting for you, are you ready to replenish your soul and get in touch with nature? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Sampaya House, Talalla 60604, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Price Range: $43 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talalla Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Talalla Retreat staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Bunbury, Australia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Talalla Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to get a room facing pool / ocean , or opt for one with Air Con”
her177, Mar 18, 2017 | Read review
“A warning about open air rooms. If you're a light sleeper and rooms are close together or the hotel is near the road, don't. Just don't.”
ERSFBayArea, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the pool”
SharonT668, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“the beach bungalows are amazing”
zoes466, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
JussiViking, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question