We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tregarthen's Hotel

Save
Share
Garrison Hill, Hugh Town TR21 OPP England
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (139)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (24)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Hugh Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
With Outstanding sea views and the best position on St Mary’s, just yards from the Quay, Tregarthen’s Hotel is a perfect base for a holiday on the Isles of Scilly. Overlooking the clear waters of St Mary’s Harbour and enjoying stunning panoramic vistas of the islands of Treso, Bryher, Samson and St Martins. Many of our bedrooms have breath-taking sea views and can accommodate family’s. With St Mary’s Quay on our doorstep, a lounge and an elegant garden terrace and patio overlooking the ocean there is no better place to experience the unspoilt beauty of Scilly. So if your looking for peace, tranquility and relaxation in an unspoilt paradise – be our guest! Our team will be delighted to arrange your stay and journey to the islands.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Laundry service
Ironing service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Afrikaans, Danish and 6 more
406Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 200
  • 111
  • 57
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NatBel wrote a review Jun 9
Guildford, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 4 nights beginning if June 2021. We had room 25 facing inland. The room was clean and comfortable, there was a bathtub in the bathroom - perfect for soaking on a colder day or after a cold sea swim. There was a modern electric radiator in the room and the window opens so it was comfortable temperature wise. Our room was turned out every morning while we were at breakfast. The breakfast options are good and tables spaced out, good quick service. The staff are really helpful and you can see the day boat timetable at the reception every morning and purchase boat tickets at the reception. Our hold luggage was delivered from the ferry to our hotel room door when we arrived. and collected from outside the room to be taken to the ferry when we checked out. The location is very close to the quay and pretty central for walks and eating out. I picked up a leaflet for Thai massage at the reception - called Sabai Sabai - booked a session and really enjoyed it, so booked another one, great professional authentic massage. Had a great holiday overall and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tregarthens Hotel, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for posting your comments here and it is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay ... and especially impressed that you were swimming in the sea ! It sounds as though you had a relaxing break. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Tregarthen's again in the future.
Read more
Andrew Williamson wrote a review May 2021
Heswall, United Kingdom81 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in the 3-bedroom starboard light cottage, just below the hotel and a very short walk from the Quay. The cottage is very well positioned and well equipped. The main issue is that it needs some love, care and attention. It could be a truly magnificent and high-quality accommodation, but the hallway, shabby flooring, scuff marks on the walls and old-fashioned cloakroom etc. really let's it down, especially for the price you pay. See the pictures to get a sense of what I mean.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tregarthens Hotel, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel
Responded May 11, 2021
Dear Mr Willamson. Thank you for your feedback and comments which we take on board. Some aspects are in hand (eg touching up the scuff marks on the paintwork in the hall and staircase will be done as soon as our maintenance team can get access, and a replacement back door is being made by a local carpenter - it is not a standard size). Things are slightly more difficult at the moment as we cannot access a property whilst it is occupied. But for the more major works like the hall flooring, this would normally be a part of a rolling winter maintenance programme where we deal with issues in all the cottages on a rolling basis. Unfortunately, for obvious reasons, some of the normal works could not happen over the most recent winter and need to be carried forward. I hope that this did not detract from your time with us and that you enjoyed your break on the Isles of Scilly. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Jill B wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions
Lovely hotel shame had to eat out for dinner as restaurant shut for evenings, bar shut at 6pm also, rooms good, WiFi a pain as had to keep logging on every time, would still stay again, staff very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tregarthens Hotel, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel
Responded Oct 25, 2020
Thanks for your feedback. We very much plan to be back to full service next season. Thanks also for reporting the WiFi issue - we had our IT people look at it and it should all be working again fully now. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Isles of Scilly again soon.
Read more
sarahb wrote a review Oct 2020
Aldershot, United Kingdom18 contributions3 helpful votes
Just back from a 4 day stay. We had a very warm welcome from all the staff who were friendly. Despite the Covid restrictions on housekeeping, this did not affect our stay, you only had to ask and supplies were topped up. The breakfast was a highlight of the day, with an extensive choice of fresh, local ingredients. We were aware prior to arrival that there would be no evening restaurant service, we saw this as an opportunity to support other local venues. Despite this particular difficult and challenging time,the staff remained professional with a good sense of humour We certainly will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tregarthens Hotel, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel
Responded Oct 25, 2020
Thank you for your kind comments which will be passed on the the team. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
nandd2 wrote a review Oct 2020
Beaworthy, United Kingdom31 contributions14 helpful votes
We were really impressed by the staff and the cottage. Every detail had been thought about and some lovely treats, bottle of wine, a cream tea, milk bread and butter..very much appreciated. The cottage was really comfortable and cosy, we have already recommended it to friends. The view from the lounge and bedrooms were fabulous.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tregarthens Hotel, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thanks for your feedback and so good to hear how much you love Hendra Cottage. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tregarthens hotel st marys
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsles of ScillySt Mary'sHugh Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tregarthen's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tregarthen's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Garrison Walls (0.3 miles), Porthcressa Beach (0.2 miles), and Isles of Scilly Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tregarthen's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Tregarthen's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Tregarthen's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dibble & Grub, On the Quay, and The Mermaid.
Are pets allowed at Tregarthen's Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tregarthen's Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, Polish, Greek, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Tregarthen's Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tresco Abbey Garden & Valhalla Collection (2.2 miles), Cromwell's Castle (3.5 miles), and Old Blockhouse (3.0 miles).
Does Tregarthen's Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.