We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Pilmore Mews, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$281
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/26/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams$283
Booking.com$283
CheapTickets$281
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1422)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (337)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rockliffe Hall
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Patio
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3,441Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,685
  • 429
  • 197
  • 74
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark F wrote a review Nov 2020
Richmond, United Kingdom6 contributions
Although my wife and I were unable to visit Rockliffe Hall this time due to the new national Covid-19 restrictions for November, I was very impressed with their communication and ‘no quibble’ refund for our full dinner, bed and breakfast. Having dined, stayed and used both the spa and golf facilities a number of times in the past I have always found it to be excellent and the staff, without exception, friendly and helpful at all times. I look forward to being able to visit again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded Nov 9, 2020
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. I appreciate your kind words regarding how your reservation was handled and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Reservations team who will be delighted to read your comments. We are sorry that we could not accommodate you this time due to the recently announced national lockdown. However, we do very much look forward to being able to welcome you both back once restrictions are lifted again. Kind Regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
Geeknowles wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I don’t leave many reviews but felt it was needed for here, our stay was fabulous on the whole like you would expect from a hotel of this level but the assistant manager in the club house (tall, dark hair) and the night porter/concierge (dark hair and beard was wearing a black mask) made it exceptional. In the clubhouse I didn’t like my Mojito (sorry!) and he instantly without any problem swapped it. after working in the bistro at hotel du vin for two years I’ve always loved New Zealand SB which isn’t on your glass menu but he still got me one anyway! Just wanted to say thank you very much it’s the best SB I think I’ve had. The night porter/concierge was perfect all night/day with the best humour and presentation whilst also having to deal with all protocol for Covid, they are both glowing representations of your hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded Nov 8, 2020
Dear Geeknowles, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Rockliffe Hall and for finding time to share your experience in this way. I am sorry that the Mojito was not to your taste but I was thrilled to learn how this was resolved swiftly and professionally. I do agree that it is our wonderful team members that make Rockliffe Hall so special and I am delighted that the Clubhouse, Concierge and Nights team looked after you so well. It is always uplifting for the team to hear from our guests and it will be my pleasure to share these delightful compliments with them. I hope we can welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the near future. Kind Regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
lygr20 wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked a night here as a surprise for my husband's birthday and, after checking the various menus, decided to book the Clubhouse restaurant for our evening meal (The Orangery, although I'm sure lovely, isn't really to our taste). The morning of our arrival I received a phone call from the hotel to say that, due to a member of kitchen staff being told to isolate due to Covid, the Clubhouse restaurant would not be open that evening. Obviously this could not helped, I totally appreciate that there might be issues whilst travelling during a pandemic! (although dubious as to why the entire restaurant had to close unless someone had actually tested positive). Anyway, it was the attitude of the staff which upset me. They told me I could book The Orangery instead, but I pointed out that not only did I not like the menu (plus I don't eat meat so options there are very limited) but it was going to cost me 3 times the price to eat there as opposed to in the Clubhouse. I asked whether it would be possible to get something from the Clubhouse menu but I was told No, it was either The Orangery or room service (which wasn't an option when we were going for a surprise birthday trip). I asked whether, if the room service menu is still available, then perhaps I could order from that but eat in the restaurant? Again, No. I find it difficult to comprehend that a 5* hotel with a Michelin star chef cannot even provide a simple meal just because it's not on the menu. I asked to speak to a Manager but the receptionist instead put me on hold and then came back and said she had just spoken to the Manager, and there was nothing they could do. We were literally on our way out of our house at this point so I had to tell my husband what was going on and tell him to pack a different outfit, as the dress code is different in The Orangery. This completely took the shine off what was meant to be a lovely, relaxing trip, and I hadn't budgeted on spending £110 just on food that night. So, on arrival, I asked the receptionist whether we could perhaps get a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner, to compensate for the inconvenience. Her response? "there's pubs in the village you can eat at instead" ! So we did! We had to pay £8.50 each way for a 3 minute taxi journey, but I'd pay it again rather than give any more money to Rockliffe. On a positive note, the spa was very quiet and clean, and the reception staff there were very friendly. Our room was lovely - however we know that other guests stayed in the same room the night before (we saw this on the spa signing-in sheet) - when the hotel was nowhere near its capacity, and given the current Covid guidelines, why were we not given a room which had been left unattended for at least 24 hours? There's no way everything in that room had been disinfected before our arrival (there was dust around the bedside lamps so they hadn't even been wiped). A very disappointing stay, the hotel certainly didn't live up to expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded Nov 8, 2020
Dear lygr20, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us in September to celebrate your husband’s birthday. At Rockliffe Hall, our utmost priority is to deliver special and memorable experiences and to know that we missed this opportunity is disappointing and I offer you my personal apologies. It is very unfortunate that you were not able to experience the Clubhouse during your stay on this occasion. At the end of September, a number of our kitchen team members were contacted by NHS test and trace and asked to self-isolate. With this in mind, we took the difficult decision to immediately close the Clubhouse for a short period of time. This decision was made so that we could allow team members to stay safe and rest at home. Also, so that we could undergo a professional deep clean of all back of house and front of house areas. These decisions may seem drastic but ultimately the safety of our team members and guests had to come first. I am sorry to hear how the staff upset you; I am sure this would never have been their intention. Our team always strive to deliver exceptional customer service and they will be saddened to hear your comments. I do appreciate that you may not have budgeted to dine in the Orangery and I am disappointed that you decided to dine elsewhere. Having investigated the points you raised; I was pleased to find that you were in fact offered a complimentary bottle of wine to accompany a meal in the Orangery, but this has sadly not been acknowledged in your review. I am pleased to read, however, that you loved the facilities in the Spa and that you enjoyed the room. I can assure you that we do have exhaustive cleaning procedures and we have been awarded number of accolades for our extensive Covid-19 safety measures and your room was completely disinfected before you stayed. I do hope that you would consider returning to Rockliffe Hall in the future, so we can provide you and your husband with a stay to remember for all the right reasons and restore your faith in us. Kind regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
Georgina R wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights over half term (family of four with two small children). I had read reviews that Rockliffe wasn’t overly family friendly but in our experience- the reviews couldn’t be more wrong! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel very welcome by everyone. The COVID procedures in place made us feel very safe- the “well being” package in our rooms which included face masks, hand sanitiser and gloves was a really nice touch. We had to book into the swimming pool but we had no issues getting a space and the pool never felt over crowded. The kids playground was great and really well maintained and there was plenty to keep the boys entertained. We spotted a splash pad which would be really lovely when the weather is a bit warmer! Overall, we had a great stay, the rooms are big and the beds comfortable, the children loved the televisions in the bath!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded Nov 6, 2020
Dear Georgina, Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review following your recent stay at Rockliffe Hall! We always value feedback, and I am so glad that you enjoyed the time with your family within the exquisite surroundings of our beautiful hotel, and were looked after so well by our outstanding team. Of course, our priority is to ensure that we deliver exceptional experiences for our guests but we are also working very hard to ensure that all of our guests and team members are protected during these troubling times. I am delighted that your family felt very safe with our COVID procedures and that you appreciated the additional measures and little touches. We hope to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall again in the near future. Kind regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
Helen B wrote a review Nov 2020
Newcastle, United Kingdom20 contributions34 helpful votes
I brought my daughter for a spa day and overnight stay with dinner in the orangery for her 21st birthday. The room was very comfortable with a nice view. We enjoyed our spa treatments and time in the spa area. We had a two hour time slot which was adequate and we didn't feel that there were too many people in there at the same time as us. Dinner in the orangery was very nice. The 3 course meal was enough for me and my daughter but would have definitely have left my husband hungry if he had been there. For that reason I felt it was a little pricey. What was really exceptional was the service we received at dinner and breakfast the next day. A big recommendation to Harold and Owen who served us and were so friendly. I felt that the hotel dealt very well with the current covid restrictions and didn't allow it to spoil your stay at all. It was a really special treat for my daughter.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Cooper, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded Nov 6, 2020
Dear Helen, We are most grateful to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary and positive review about your visit to Rockliffe Hall. Thank you for choosing us to spend such valuable time with your daughter. I am pleased that you both loved the room and the whole experience at our lovely Spa. I was delighted to read that the team in the Orangery looked after you so well and it will be my pleasure to share your feedback with them. I know that both Harold and Owen will be touched by your lovely comments, thank you for sharing them. I do hope we can welcome you back for another 'special treat'! Kind regards Chris Cooper Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$260 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rockliffe hall hotel hurworth-on-tees
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlingtonHurworth-on-Tees
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rockliffe Hall
What are some of the property amenities at Rockliffe Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rockliffe Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orangery, The Brasserie, and The Clubhouse Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rockliffe Hall located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Hurworth-on-Tees.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rockliffe Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rockliffe Hall?
Many travelers enjoy visiting David Mach's Train sculpture, Darlington (3.3 miles), Durham Town Hall (3.1 miles), and Tees Cottage Pumping Station (3.6 miles).
Does Rockliffe Hall have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.