We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 792: English reviews
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Sunday carvery here is very tasty, it is always hot. There is a decent selection if veg from which to choose. I have only had the beef but it was very nice and you always end up with a very generous portion. I would recommend this place for your Sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Biggles266
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Biggles266, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review about our Sunday carvery. I am pleased that you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Rachel More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This 'hotel' is not as it seems, it is more like a pub with rooms. The building could be beautiful but the lovely stone windows have been painted grey gloss and the rooms are not well equipped. We paid over £250.00 for two rooms, one of which was a four poster room with two, 4 socket extension leads attached to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nebulate123
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nebulate123, I am sorry that you were disappointed with our hotel. We are a well established 3 star hotel and we provide everything which is expected at a hotel. If there was anything at the time which was not to your satisfaction, you could have let us know and we would have done our utmost to resolve any issues... More 

Lincoln
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walworth Castle Hotel, is not exactly in anywhere but in open countryside a few miles from Newton Aycliffe and Darlington and the A1 and in my opinion well worth the drive, The hotel is a statement building, it says I am a castle. I have been coming here for eight years on and off, it was one of the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank fiftythousand
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fiftythousand, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all the business you have given us over the eight years you have been staying with us. I will pass your comments onto Brenda, I am sure she will be thrilled to receive a mention in your review. Being a family run hotel we do pride ourselves on giving great... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The castle was great! The birds of prey were awesome! The staff and service was fantastic!! I enjoyed the food and dinning while there. The surrounding country side is wonderful!! I am glad I chose this place!!

Helpful?
Thank Perry D
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Perry D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and give us 5 stars. It really is appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Rachel More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went to the carvery on Sunday didn't have to wait long to be served and the carvery had a great selection. gammon beef pork roast pots, new pots 4 veg Yorkshire pudding to dye for and 5/6 different sauces. the beef melted in your mouth. £9,50 and was lovely and filling, the staff were efficient and lovely the restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5tracie
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 5tracie, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent meal at our hotel. The carvery is very popular locally and I am pleased you have taken the time to let us know how much you enjoyed it. Kind regards Rachel More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Before I go any further I must say the food there is excellent, the best quality I've had in a long time and very generous proportions....and the Staff are very good too. However... The room we had was in the annexe, very small and a bit ragged around the edges. The bath panel was loose, the grouting around the bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony G, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you thought the staff were very good and that you enjoyed the food. I do take on board your comments regarding your bedroom, and I will take your comments to the management meeting in order to improve the service. I am however pleased that you had a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One morning there was no fish on the breakfast menu, the staff made sure it was there for the next morning so definitely very helpful!! They was a lovely atmosphere throughout our stay! Looking forward to visiting again

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor B, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in the Darlington area. Kind regards Rachel More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited for 2 nights over a weekend. Our room was in the annexe and was very nice.Breakfast on both mornings was excellent with helpful staff. We had afternoon tea which was delicious with plenty of choice. Only slight niggles were the dust behind the bedside tables and on the lamps and the bathroom needed a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa K, I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed both the breakfast and the afternoon tea. I will take your feedback to our housekeeping team in order for us to improve the service we offer with regards the cleanliness of your room. I am however delighted that you thought all... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second review of Walworth castle on trip advisor. In my previous review i mentioned that we had booked our wedding to be held at Walworth Castle and that day finally came around on September 3rd 2016. We had an absolutely amazing day and although the weather wasn't the best, the staff and location were second to none.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Rachel S, Owner at BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding reception, and again thank you for choosing to have your special day at the castle. I am delighted that all the staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed the food. I am sorry that there was some disappointment with the charge for the room which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

279 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (258)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walworth
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Darlington's only castle hotel, nestled in 18 acres of lawns and woodland yet only 5 minutes drive from J58 the A1(M). It is the ideal location for your overnight stay and is perfect for both business accommodation, meetings and conferences, as well as wedding receptions and romantic getaways. We have 32 individually designed bedrooms and complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Address: Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Price Range: $66 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay