We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Marahau Beach Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marahau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marahau Beach Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Well located site at the gateway to Abel Tasman with easy access to water taxis, kayaking & the beaches. Camp sites are nicely spaced. Far cheaper than for eg Top 10 sites at about $45 for a family of 4/night. Showers are extra ($1), so is wifi, which makes sense as not everyone needs it. Facilities such as bathrooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank salamandersingapore
Brendan A, Owner at Marahau Beach Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed having the activities and cafe right next to the camp. We have spent the winter season renovating the entire camp. Since you visited in April we have sealed all of the roadways, have redone the entire electrical network and power supplies for each site. As I...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed March 27, 2016

We just spent Easter weekend camping here,great spot ,close to beach ,cafes ,and lots of activities to do.Why people complain about Internet connection always amazes me when you are out amongst hills in the countryside why worry.Just need to walk down to beach about two minutes and you get enough reception to do the important stuff.You are on holiday and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stinky101
Brendan A, Owner at Marahau Beach Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the positive review. Yes, as promised the entire ablution block is being renovated ready for the summer season. In fact, the whole camp is being renovated with new roading, electrical system, fencing etc. etc. I like to think we've maintained the look and feel of our classic Kiwi camping ground, but everything now shinny and new!...

Brandon, Vermont
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Forced to pay a $5 internet connection fee that allowed only 1 device at a time, which is very frustrating. Connection was spotty at best and would cut out often. Facilities were sub-par. I would avoid this rip-off.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CrowHopper
Brendan A, Owner at Marahau Beach Camp, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt so let down by the internet service at the camp and this affected your entire experience with us so badly. I know it sounds like I'm making excuses; but country NZ just does not seem to get world-class internet service. We have spent the winter season renovating the entire camp. If you were to give our...

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Really nice set up, all sites based around the facilities. Spacious kitchen, loads of powerpoints to charge your gadgets. Very big freezer available and several washing machines. You have to pay for a hot shower though, which I always find a bit silly to be honest. You wonder where you pay at the reception for. Downside: mosquitos. Bring a mosquito...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanfey85
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Nice spot near the sea. The camperspots are a good size. The facilities are clean. The staff is very friendly. We booked a trip with the watertaxi but due to fysical problems we had to cancel. No problem and we've got a full refund.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert V
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Fantastic location, not too expensive although we had to book activities to actually stay here which were quite costly. Calling the facilities mediocre is being very generous! Showers were awful, only 1 bbq for whole site and extremely basic kitchen. We spent a lot of our holiday queuing for showers and bbq. The reception desk for check in was chaotic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fludlle
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 27, 2015

My husband and I stayed in our caravan labour weekend 2015 and really loved the camp. It was quiet and with nice kitchen, laundry. There was a great little playground for the kids. We didnt mind paying for hot showers as it does stop people having long showers and wasting water. $1 for 6 mins was really good. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jencooke2015
Bois-d'Arcy, France
Reviewed April 12, 2015

The camp is well located, especially if you want to go kayaking or walking in the Abel Tasman National Park. Kitchen is big and well equipped. Amenities are clean. Hot shower for 1$ (about 6 minutes).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauriaorana
Stromstad, Sweden
Reviewed April 11, 2015

Stayed 3 nights there on a powered spot with our rented campervan. The place was busy but not overcrowded. We appreciated the shade on those warm sunny days. The amenities have seen better days, but were kept reasonably clean. Here we did not have to queue for a shower and considering the affordable fee charged for the site itself we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nordlysMH
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed March 16, 2015

We love camping because you get away from the set-up of home, things feel relaxed so you can relax. This is how Marahau feels. Not perfect but relaxing. Thank you for a great stay. A central point for exploring the Abel Tasman.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marahau
0.0 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Barn
The Barn
#1 of 3 in Marahau
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 4 in Kaiteriteri
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Marahau Beach Camp

Address: Waterfront, RD 2, Marahau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Marahau
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marahau Beach Camp Nelson-Tasman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marahau Beach Camp staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marahau Beach Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book in Advance”
 of 5 bubbles Bcogswell, Feb 8, 2012 | Read review
1 of 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question