Samahita Retreat

Samahita Retreat

Traveler (489)
Organic coffee
Dining (48)
Samahita Retreat
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 4 lodges in Taling Ngam
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Samahita Retreat, the lifestyle retreat center for yoga and wellness, was established in 2003 on the island of Koh Samui, and has been called by many a "hidden gem" located on the quiet beach of Bang Kao on the southern coast of Koh Samui island. Owned and directed by Master yogi, educator, and researcher, Dr. Paul Dallaghan, our yoga and wellness retreat center has been a location for practice, learning, and holiday for literally tens of thousands of guests from all walks of life over the years. Being the original Yoga Thailand, our center has grown and developed over the years and now encompasses a wellness center as well as its traditional yoga offerings. The name Samahita is translated from Sanskrit as "centered" or "balanced". Finding balance is key - in daily habits, weight management, and dealing with stress. Samahita Retreat's clear and dedicated purpose is 'to provide both the tools to work on yourself through specific practices and dedicated programs as well as the environment within to learn, change and renew. Choose from Fixed-date programs such as group yoga retreats or trainings or all-year-round programs such as the integrated yoga & fitness YogaCoreCycle, health-focused programs: Total self-care, De-stress, or Brain health upgrade. This all-inclusive beach resort features 40 rooms suited for single travelers, couples, and families.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkeling
Highchairs available
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Entertainment staff
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Light therapy
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

55/20-24 Moo 4 T. Namuang, 84140 Thailand
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles388 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Samahita Retreat is celebrated for its attentive and friendly staff, with only occasional mentions of unprofessionalism. The tranquil atmosphere and elegantly decorated rooms are a hit among many guests seeking relaxation, enhanced by the peaceful beachfront location ideal for yoga. Opinions on value are divided; while some appreciate the affordable therapies, others find the mattresses hard and some spa treatments pricey. The retreat's cleanliness and comprehensive amenities, including a praised yoga facility and exceptional food, receive consistently high marks from visitors.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
388Reviews12Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 310
  • 50
  • 15
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Penny R wrote a review Feb 2023
+1
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the most wonderful stay at Samahita. It took me a few days to settle into - I'm not used to travelling alone and am used to a bit of spoiling on holiday and having a few drinks! It took a day or two to get used to the fact that there was no wine with dinner and that you served yourself and cleared your own plates etc - however, I quickly came to see that this was an advantage! The food was delicious and you could eat as much as you liked. After a couple of days, I found that I did not need the wine either - I enjoyed giving my body a break!
The yoga and fitness at the resort was fabulous. The instructors were all so knowledgable and built everything up step by step so that you believed it was all possible and found that you could actually do more than you might have thought. So a huge thank you to Kirsten, Daniel, Jack and So! If there was one tiny niggle about the yoga classes it was that on occasion it felt a little crowded and it was a bit difficult to see the instructor but this was minor.
The treatments (included in the self care package) were fantastic! I don't know how they do it but the strength of the women was incredible and the massages really made a difference. The infra red sauna and floatation were also a wonderful way of relaxing and detoxing. I felt that these really added to the whole programme.
The room was lovely and comfortable. Large room with a huge bathroom.
I did a couple of trips during my stay which were also good and enabled me to see a bit of the island.
My only slight negative (and this is really personal - there will be a lot of people who disagree!) was that I felt that this was not a place for small children and I would have like to have known that children may be there. It was only a couple of days at the end when one family with two small children arrived. They were lovely, the parents attentive and considerate and the children well behaved but with children that small it is inevitable that there will be some noise and disturbance and I personally would have preferred for it to be adults only - just my own thoughts!
Overall the resort was fabulous - well priced with some excellent teaching, fantastic food and wonderful treatments. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Feb 19, 2023
Dear Penny, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Your feedback is really valuable and we are glad that you had such a transformational time. Thank you for your review regarding children onsite. We have very strict family guidelines and limit the number of children allowed onsite at a time to maximize the experience for our adult guests. We are glad that you were able to resonate with the transformational space here at Samahita and the wonderful sense of community created by our guests and team, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Much love from, Our Samahita Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liz101Worthing wrote a review Feb 2020
Worthing
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a couple in our fifties and spent 6 nights in the retreat . It was the first time we had been anywhere like it and we absolutely loved it . All the instructors were great they are attentive and helpful and alongside the main teacher there was always another trainee teacher helping to make sure we were in the correct positions during the yoga classes . You don’t have to have done a lot of yoga to be in the classes , you do what you can and you’re helped to get the best out of your individual practice .The core and cycling in the afternooon were great with music and fun . The food - well it was fabulous I also did a cooking lesson with Chef Nui and made 3 delicious dishes and ate them later for dinner which was great and the flavours were amazing but also healthy and natural . Our room was comfortable clean and everything we needed . The communal areas were well looked after ( nice little shop with gifts ) and it was nice to share tables at mealtimes with people from all different parts of the world it added a new dimension to the experience . We also had a massage which was great for the tired muscles .All in all an amazing place to get away from it all and have some thinking time which we all need these days !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Johanna Lundstrom, Owner at Samahita Retreat
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. It is lovely to hear you had such a wonderful time with us on all levels. We hope we will be given the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back to Samahita. Until then stay healthy and happy, all the best from all of us here, Johanna & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Karen W wrote a review Feb 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
booked the newly renovated beach private room with a total-self care program for 7 nights, the room does not have a view of the beach, but looking out onto a green courtyard which was also very peaceful. the mattress is probably one of the best i have ever slept in. (and i travel a lot)

overall i liked the experience, its a mixture of a resort with all the comfort one seeks, and access to yoga and HITT classes. however if one is looking for a true yogi type of retreat, this is probably not it.

i particularly like the Respect Silence rule in the mornings, it really adds to the calmness of the retreat, however if it could be reinforced a bit better would be ideal.

and the food/meals were delicious, for a carnivore and foodie like myself, it was very easy and cleansing to go 100% vegetarian during my entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Feb 15, 2024
Thank you for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Samahita. Silence is also my favorite part of the day and so glad that you felt the immense benefit of the experience and fabulous that you had a great sleep on our brand new, super supportive and comfortable mattresses! Please know that if you ever want to deepen your practice we do offer trainings and advanced training for people who teach or would like to deepen their own yoga practice. You can find the details on our website. We hope to welcome you back to our center in the future, Much love from Our Samahita Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna Z wrote a review Mar 2023
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very excited when I booked my 3 day yoga program at Samahita and I was really looking forward to it. Regrettably, our stay at Samahita left a lot to be desired. When we arrived the front desk staff was unwelcome and unaccommodating. Our accommodations were very basic. The private room was lacking the type of amenities you would expect at 4 star property such as blackout shades or curtains. When I asked for it I was informed that Samahita is not a 5 star resort. That much was obvious but even 2 star motels offer blinds or curtains in their rooms. I asked for window curtains but I was dismissed and then ignored. Our bed was small and firm like a park bench. I woke up every day at 6:00 AM with a migraine headache. (I never have headaches) I asked for a quiet room overlooking a "garden" but instead I was checked into a room overlooking a road with zero privacy. Our room was very spartan and not conducive to rest or relaxation. For a $256 per night I was expecting a bit higher standard than a cramped dorm room. Room was also never cleaned. When I asked for fresh towels the receptionist seemed baffled. FYI, all rooms are off the property across the road. The common facilities were well appointed and quite adequate, but closed after 9:00 PM. We were also not allowed to use pool before 10:00 AM and after 9:00 PM. Samahita is promoted as a yoga retreat but offers only two basic yoga classes per day. On any rainy day there's really not much to do at Samahita. It is very secluded and there are no nearby attractions or sites to visit without costly transportation. It would be nice if in addition to meditation, hatha and restorative yoga Samahita offered Vinyasa, Nidra, Bikram or any other yoga class to provide participants with more options and variety. The beach unfortunately was not very clean. The piling garbage and carpets of seaweed right on the beachfront were rather off-putting and discouraged us from lounging on the beach and swimming. The pool, though rather small was a nice alternative. The food was abundant and healthy but a bit bland and monotonous. The kitchen staff was very friendly and accommodating, but I feel like the entire facility was understaffed and service was inadequate if not nonexistent. Guests had to clean up their own plates and utensils after every meal. I didn't use the spa or experienced any wellness services because apparently all treatments during the day were booked up. Overall we felt that what was offered at Samahita did not justify the cost. We were glad we had stayed at Samahita only 3 nights and couldn't wait to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Mar 20, 2023
Dear Joanna, Samahita opened 20 years ago as the first yoga focused retreat center in Asia. We have always been committed to the guest, the experience, staying true to what yoga, health, meditation, and other aspects of well-being are. We have helped lead the study and practice of these areas on a global level. We are also a dedicated small, sustainable retreat center, avoiding the corporate push and offers of other money. We offer good value at a fair price. One stays and receives not just a hotel room, but all meals, and up to 5-hours of class per day. Many of our staff have been with us for over ten years. We are family. We took care of all staff and the center at tremendous expense through two years of closure due to the pandemic. We understand the Thai people and treat them equally and respectfully so it is always a disappointment when someone comes from overseas and talks rudely to our staff with what can only be described as the colonial mindset, talking down and expecting things to go their way. This is your behavior with our staff and family, revealed when here and in this inaccurate and unfair review, purely on ill-informed opinion. You are entitled to an opinion but when making it public then you must be called out on this inappropriate colonial attitude. Given that most reviews here praise our staff we stand even more so by them and stand up to your inappropriate treatment of these wonderful people. When humans pollute the seas and nature throws it up on the beach, we organize weekly “love the beach” clean up sessions which many staff and guests happily partake in. Apparently you did not. We continue to upgrade our facilities and will be doing so over this year. Our rates include accommodation, all meals, and 5+ hours of quality programming, not just a hotel room as hotels offer. The rate you write was for two people, not one. We are extremely transparent and take care of a whole local community of staff, never sacrificing. Our daily 5-hour offering of yoga, breath, meditative, and fitness classes are based on decades of experience, study and practice. We would not just throw in a variety of brandname asana classes and dilute a carefully developed offering. Actually, staying more than three days would reveal this and allows one to to benefit from a well-developed professional approach. Thousands have stayed, many of them reviewing positively here, thanking our staff, and many extending their stay to experience all we offer even more. We will continue to stay true to the small, sustainable, noncorporate offering, give our guests a genuine experience, and honor our family of staff. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyss wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles
spent 5 nights at Vikasa Yoga Retreat, before moving to Samahita retreat to join my yoga group for 4 nights there. We did not participate in Samahita’s yogacorecycle classes, so I will not comment there.
However, after experiencing the healthy, almost-vegan but absolutely, so very delicious and grnerous food at Vikasa, the food game at Samahita was a major disappointment. Healthy food does not have to be tasteless, or bland, or unimaginative, as proven by Vikasa. Samahita needs to up their culinary game, in my opinion.
Also, after observeing the PR officer standing at the buffet table to wipe up non-existant mess after each guest help themselves to food, is off putting and frankly, quite rude of her. Was it her intention to shame or make your guest embarrassed? Not good guest relation skills at all. Please do better. Paying guest do not like to be treated like misbehaving kids.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Johanna Lundstrom, Owner at Samahita Retreat
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Teri, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not like our food offering. We do generally get very good feedback both on the food, and the cleanliness of our facilities. Cleanliness is of importance to us, and especially so in these coronavirus times. We are sorry to hear you perceived our efforts as shaming or misbehaving towards guest. That was certainly not the intention. We will, like many business, close for a period of time now and we will take this time to reflectupon our offering and do our utmost to upgrade and improve everywhere we can, including our buffet. Thank you for your feedback, it is important for us to receive all feedback to be able to constantly improve. We wish you health and peace in these turbulent times. Warmest regards, Johanna & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FeyR66 wrote a review Mar 2020
Baar, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed 2 weeks of relaxation in a very peaceful environment.
We started with 8 days of detox. The information and support from the team were really perfect. The menu, although it was a detox program, was fresh and tasteful.
The core and cycle training were perfect to get rid of the remaining toxins. Yoga and meditation were really helpful.
After the detox, we enjoyed the total care program with sauna and massage on top of the core and cycle training and for sure the yoga and meditation part.
The trainers were really excellent and motivating.
The food was really tasteful and the chef was doing a really great job!
If you are looking for a peaceful oasis disconnected from our crazy world, just go there, relax and enjoy the sound of silence!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Apr 20, 2020
It was such a pleasure having you both with us and supporting you through your wellness journey. Thank you for choosing to spend part of your anniversary trip at Samahita. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul O wrote a review Jan 2020
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been visiting Samahita on a regular basis since I found it by accident 6 years ago. Apart from being an amazing experience with the quality staff, other guests and facilities, I love that they continue to introduce little enhancements (and some big ones too!). This year was no different and what stood out for me was Chef Nui. Apart from leading the team who produce fantastic fresh healthy food and drinks, she also now finds the time to personally welcome guests, find out about their preferences and talk to them about the food. Next visit I must attend her cooking class and discover her secrets. Samahita continues to exceed my expectations on every visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samahita108, General Manager at Samahita Retreat
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words Paul. We are happy to see you return time and time again. You bring us lots of joy and we love the personalised chocolate delivery! :-) Chef is excited to teach you some of her secret recipes next time you come visit. Until then, stay well, and see you soon. Lots of love from all of us, Johanna & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travellingisfuel wrote a review Mar 2024
Møre og Romsdal, Norway
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went here for 10 days (and I’m at Vikasa now, can already tell that Samahita is the better option for my liking!), and my shoulders dropped during the first day. The atmosphere is relaxed, everyone greets each other (without meaning you have to chat, unless you’d like to), and there is plenty of space to just hang out - alone or together. Samahita attracts decent and nice people it seems, in all ages (the youngest in his early twenties and the eldest in his seventees). No influencers (and if there were any, they weren’t filming and photographing in classes. I find that disturbing here at Vikasa).

I stayed in a beachview villa, and is was very nice, with a lot of space for clothes and other stuff.

Had three massages, all with Jaebsi - she is a very skilled therapist, highly recommended!

Food on buffet is homemade and fresh, and the chai tea was sooo good! Spicy and rich!

In the Yoga and meditation classes, you can adjust everything to your level. Something that was nice for me as a rookie. Staff is very pleasent and helpful.

The location of Samahita is so peaceful and quiet. No noise from roads, airplanes or powergenerators (all of the mentioned make plenty of noise at Vikasa).

Why am I mentioning Vikasa in my review of Samahita? Because it seems they are competitors regarding pricerange, services offered and crowds they cater to. I would have liked a review like this when I booked my holiday. And needless to say, I would have spent all my time at Samahita, instead of sharing my time between the two resorts.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Rooms 51-60 is either beachview or beachfront (all adjacent)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded May 8, 2024
It was wonderful having you here for us and thank you for completely embracing all that Samhaita has to offer. The community are so integral to making Samahita everything it is, from our wonderful team to our incredible guests, We hope to welcome you back again soon, Much love from, Our Samahita Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malka K wrote a review Feb 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to Samahita as part of a yoga retreat and was quite uncomfortable the whole time. I even felt the desire to end my trip early… The staff were not very friendly or communicative which is highly unusual based on my stays at other Thai hotels. Often when asking the front desk manager or head of restaurant staff for something, they seemed annoyed.

We were placed in rooms across the road with the hardest mattresses I’ve ever slept on and the shower drain was clogged.

Every meal was VERY similar to the next and sadly not very tasty in my opinion (I am vegetarian and used to plant based meals.) On a daily basis the kitchen ran out of food during meal time and if you weren’t there early you were left with scraps for a while. There were many hours when there was nothing readily available to eat or drink other than water.

The beach in front of Samahita is the filthiest I have ever seen in my entire life, and I have been to many places around the world. I even cleaned a bit on the beach with my daughter but the amount of garbage was so extreme we realized we couldn’t make much of a dent despite our efforts. Yet on the other side of the island at our other hotels the beaches were pristine….

I also found it annoying that we had to carry our yoga mats around and there wasn’t a designated place for them inside the yoga area.

Additionally the on site spa is very plain and there seems to be an IT room in there which adds a weird vibe. The massages were good though.

Finally upon checkout the hotel didn’t properly charge us and then a few days later came chasing us (to the wrong email) which I found really disorganized.

Samahita is the main reason I have no interest in returning to Ko Samui.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip:  I would simply would not ever stay at this hotel again. Much better places to find all over the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Feb 15, 2024
Dear Malka, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and only wish that you had reached out to our team, or your group leaders during your stay as I am sure many of your grievances could have been addressed. Our mattresses are brand new and were carefully tested for the comfort factor, many guests describe these as their best sleep ever however we are fully aware that people have different tastes here and our house keeping team provide matress toppers for anyone who requires a softer touch. We have lockers and mat cubby holes beside our main Yoga Shala where guests are abla to leave mats. There is currently space for around 40 mats and this is in the process of being upgraded to hold more. Some guests choose to leave mats here and others prefer to keep their mats in their rooms. Our food focuses on fresh, wholesome, local ingredients and local healthy Thai flavors and as you can see from reviews usually hits the mark. Food is served, abundantly from 10am to 1:30pm and again from 6 - 8pm. As for the beach, you arrived at an unfortunate time strong winds and high tides fiercely spat back the trash that people have dumped in it adn a lot of seaweed. This can happen at this time of the year however, as we know, unfortunately this dumping is happening all over the world every day. Our team sweep and clean the beach daily and we organize karma yoga sessions weekly where our team and guests clear the beach and many of our guests do this every day as they walk the beach this time of year. I am sorry that you were contacted after check out due to the payment for your onsite room upgrade. This is not normal protocol however unfortunately we did not receive any response to the email address that was provided to our reception team and payment had not been collected before you left. We have a small, hardworking, dedicated team here at Samahita that do our best to make sure that all our guests feel supported during their stay. We are sorry that you did not experience that during your time with us. Wishing you all the best as you find a retreat center that is a great fit for you, Gill Director of Programs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace C wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Samahita is my new favourite place, I’m so happy to have discovered it and I will definitely be back there as soon as I can get away from London again. Where to start… The first people I met were the receptionists who were SO efficient with the booking process and everything beyond. They are extremely friendly and I knew I was in a beautiful place full of love even upon arriving in the reception! The room was everything I needed: very clean, very comfortable bed, great air conditioning, powerful shower, little fridge, large wardrobe. The whole place is very quiet and peaceful. I slept so well. The next thing to mention is the chef: I wished him could take her home with me!! She made THE most delicious healthy food. Plates of vegetables were prepared in the most heavenly way, and there was always fish on offer at dinner. As someone who has quite unhealthy eating habits, I thought I was going to crave junk, but I didn’t at all because everything tasted so, so good. Then most importantly. I come to the movement of the body. I was on the YogaCoreCycle programme, which means you can participate in as many or as little classes as you like every day. The classes happen in the most beautiful spot right on the beach almost IN the ocean, the breeze and the waves absolutely beautiful on the skin. I did yoga at 8am, with either Daniel or Gill leading, whose teaching was very loving and skilled. The people in the class were a complete mix of people of all ages and shapes and sizes, some who had never practiced any yoga before, and some with an ashtanga practice. Daniel and Gill managed to guide classes in a way that helped everyone. Personally I have practiced a fair amount with teachers taught my Pattabhi Jois, but I had stopped and not really come to the mat in about a year. I don’t know exactly what the style of asana practice taught on the yogacorecycle programme is called, but it was clear that the teachers had a deep knowledge of the ashtanga practice and I found this holding but it doesn’t matter what it is called… I just felt very amazing after every morning session, and ready to sit in a meditation. In the afternoons there is a fitness class, ranging from spin cycling looking out to the sea, to core and body weight exercises. Led by Daniel or So, whose energy was beautiful too. Then a restorative yoga class every evening before dinner. After just four days of these classes and beautiful food and being by the ocean, I felt totally renewed and reset. I was there alone, which I recommend. But there were lots of couples, one with baby :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gill Breetzke, Other at Samahita Retreat
Responded Feb 2, 2022
Dear Grace, It was wonderful having you with us and so glad that you found our Engaged Dynamic Asana classes to support your journey back onto your mat! We hope to see you back at Samahita again int he future and wish you al the best on your journey back into wellness. Much love, Our Samahita Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Gill
Ko Samui, Thailand1 contribution
Hi there, check in is at 2pm
Answer from Samahita108
4 contributions
Hi Mouna K, Please see some answers to your question: What is on average the weight loss in 15 days? There are many factors that affect weight loss, it is not just about, burn more calories than you consume. Our metabolism plays a major role, hormones, muscle mass and stress. Our weight loss program offers healthy food, supplements, many exercise options and practices to help address these factors so you can achieve the best results possible. Stress plays a big role in weight gain and whether or not you can lose weight. By just taking time out for yourself and attending a program like our weight loss program, you are heading in the right direction to healing your body, long term, rather than a short fix, like many weight loss programs offer. Do you have personal trainers and do boxing/Kick boxing training? Yes, we have personal trainers that can work with you to help with your personal goals. We do not do boxing but we use a variety of equipment and modalities such as functional training, TRX, bosu balls, kettle bells, and cycling on our indoor bikes. How far is it from the beach? Our facilities are located on the beach. Can I juice for the first week? We have a detox program that consists of juices, broths and soups. Also supporting supplements, practices and treatments that support the detox process. Do you do hot/Bikram yoga? Our yoga is a dynamic, core, vinyasa style, that creates heat in the body. It works on both strength, and flexibility, with attention on the breath, mind and alignment. thank you and look forward to welcoming you soon. warm regards
Julie K asked a question Jan 2018
Chico, California350 contributions71 helpful votes
Has anyone been here for Candida detox? Thanks!
Answer from Samahita108
4 contributions
Hi Julie, let me know if you have any particular question about the Candida Detox ? Feel free to contact me through our website. I wish you a nice day and hope to welcome you soon on Samui.
Answer from KingLouisXIV
New York City, New York13 contributions35 helpful votes
Beach is ok. You can totally swim!
Mallygal wrote a tip Jul 4
Canberra, Australia24 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For the full experience, try participating in all the activities, include the spin/HIIT classes. There is plenty of down and recovery time."
Read full review
Compass34559918066 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s hot and sweaty. Bring lots of extra change of clothes "
Read full review
Olivierada wrote a tip May 2024
Paris, France70 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I recommend taking an inclusive package including wellness. Alone/couple go for front sea rooms, friends go for loft rooms. "
Read full review
Travellingisfuel wrote a tip Mar 2024
Møre og Romsdal, Norway314 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 51-60 is either beachview or beachfront (all adjacent)"
Read full review
Bertrand P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Nice, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better staying more than 3/4 days."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taling Ngam area.
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
samahita yoga thailand retreat hotel koh samui
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiTaling Ngam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAMAHITA RETREAT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Samahita Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Samahita Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Tony Tailor Fishrman Village (2.4 miles), Samui Elephant Spa (5.0 miles), and Ta Nim Magic Garden (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Samahita Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Samahita Retreat?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Samahita Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Samahita Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samahita Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include EVA Cafe & Restaurant, The Fisherman's Outlet, and The Island View Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Samahita Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Samahita Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Samahita Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Samahita Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Samahita Retreat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wat Khao Chedi (1.0 miles) and Wat Sitlaram (2.4 miles).
All Taling Ngam HotelsTaling Ngam Hotel DealsHotels near Samahita Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars