Shearwater Resort & Marina

1 Shearwater Road Shearwater BC, British Columbia V0T 1B0 Canada
Traveler (44)
The main!
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 lodges in Denny Island
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
This property has identified as Indigenous-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Shearwater is located in the Great Bear Rainforest on the West Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Situated on Denny Island about 450km north of Vancouver, 3.5km East of Bella Bella and 100km West of Bella Coola. We offer all-inclusive fishing packages, ecotours, accommodations, bar & grill, 1500 ft of moorage space in our marina, a shipyard, fuel services and retail stores including grocery, liquor and marine hardware and water taxi services throughout the central coast of BC.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1 Shearwater Road Shearwater BC, British Columbia V0T 1B0 Canada
63Reviews3Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 34
  • 14
  • 5
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shannon1137 wrote a review Aug 2017
Vancouver, Canada4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
By far the most adventurous ecotour fishing trip we’ve ever taken. Heli-hiking flightseeing was unbelievable! We had an incredible introduction to the Great Bear Rainforest. The guides are incredibly knowledgable. A long time dream was answered as we saw a Spirit Bear. Beyond amazing we hiked, and climbed around the shore to our perfect chosen spot to picnic and later traverse through this untouched exhilarating sanctuary.

Shearwater Resort also showed us the most amazing fishing experience we’ve have ever had...And yes I caught a Monster 33lb Salmon!

Great tasty food and acommodation was comfortable, clean, well appointed and exceeded our expectations. Our new friends at the hotel and fish guides are wonderful. Interesting clientele to mingle with, likely the top 5% of the world. This ecotour fishing trip was absolutely fantastic. A vacation of a lifetime. We will be back. Well worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nathandholmes wrote a review Jul 2017
Petersfield, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every aspect of the whole trip was excellent, the resort, the staff, the food and the fishing was exceptional . The scenery and wildlife is amazing. Way exceeded my expectations in every way. Hopefully will be back some day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bhavy L wrote a review Jul 2017
18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort was by far the best Salmon & Halibut fishing trip we had ever experienced. Never a dull moment! We were ever so delighted with the amount of massive salmon and halibut we caught. They weren't kidding about monster salmon found there. The fishing is absolutely fantastic, the food good, the staff is friendly, and the sense of pure bliss was when we took their helicopter hiking ecotours. We will be sure to come back for over many more future trips. Thank you all for many fantastic memories!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne D wrote a review Feb 2023
Williams Lake, Canada24 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Locals party hard and keep you awake all night, this used to be a high end resort but it’s gone really down hill with the new management. The gas station that fills your boat total rips you off , prices have increased and services have down hill.
Our family used to go here every year but won’t even bother now anymore after not being able to get any sleep when the management is keeping all the guest awake while they are drunk around a fire pit until 4am yelling , laughing and carrying on.
Definitely no respect for people waking at first light to go fishing.
I don’t think they want customers!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ConC wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a total rip off. Disgusting hotel, restaurant is awful. Overpriced gouge town. Boats are unsafe. On top of all this Shearwater also has very shady business practices in relation to the local fisheries, local environment, business operations, and fails to consult properly with the local Heiltsuk Nation whose territory is where the resort lies. Take your money elsewhere, there are plenty of local options that provide way better service and value!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OnTheRoadALot45 wrote a review Jun 2013
Victoria, Canada6 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is tiny, dirty, TV barely worked, you have to share a bathroom. Overpriced but I guess they figure they are the only game in town (which they are not). The inn keepers were extremely odd and rude. Did I tell you how dirty this place was? It looked like the comforters hadn't been washed and they smelled horrible. I was hoping the food at the restaurant was better. It was overpriced and not very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: There are many bed and breakfasts and house rentals. I would never recommend this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h k wrote a review Sep 2017
6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted good current info and the web site only has 2016 stuff. If the web site is out of date what is the true goings on at the resort. If you can't update the web site what else is needing updated>?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRaininSpain wrote a review Aug 2017
Seattle, WA93 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped in Shearwater twice this summer on our boat. Dock accommodations were great, but restaurant and other infrastructure need work. Food both times in the restaurant were barely edible...fish tacos were tired and chewy, salad greens were dirty and unwashed. When I mentioned it to our waitstaff, she was apologetic and comped our salad, to her credit. Returned something at the grocery and rather than credit my account, I was charged again. The place just seems to be a bit slipshod and needs a facelift. But the ice cream cafe is outstanding!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tappityjones wrote a review Jul 2016
San Francisco, California8 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I arrived in shearwater with our dogs to move a yacht. I called ahead, told the manager that I'd like to book a pet friendly room as we have dogs. The hotel website declares that "Pets are free!".

When we arrived the hotel manager was visibly upset that we had dogs. His attitude and demeanor let us know that with pets, we were really not welcome. He opened a side door which walked past the garbage dumpsters and suggested we use that as our entrance and exit rather than walking through the hallways. He let us know that he had spent $3,000 to get the smell of dog out of a previous room. I'm not sure how that's possible as this was easily the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. You could have spent $3000 and replaced the entire contents of several rooms in this hotel.

Perhaps they have some nice rooms somewhere but we didn't see them.

The hotel manager acted as if the condition of the hotel had nothing to do with him or his team. When I expressed dismay on arrival about the size, smell and condition of the room, the manager said something along the lines of "Oh, I know when I first got here to work, I wanted to turn right around and leave".

Just to make clear the condition of our room:
1) The shower had a several inches wide ring of slime around the base.
2) The bed cover had several patches of large white crusty stains
3) The "human" towels were slightly moldy
4) The walls had bits of hair and dust stuck all over them, especially in the corner
The room smelled very strongly of mold

And really, that's just the big stuff. There was literally nowhere you could look in the room that was actually clean. My husband and I slept in our clothes and we are not what you would call neat freaks.

The hotel gave us towels to cover the floor and a “dog blanket” to cover the bed as the manager did not want our dogs to mess this room up!! Uh… did my dogs refuse to clean the shower for the last several months?

The manager did call several local pet friendly establishments to try to get us another room, which was very nice. We checked out of the room after only a night. Also very nicely- The hotel only charged us for a single night even though we did check out around 5pm on the 2nd day we were there.

Overall, the manager was nice-ish but in a very hands off, this isn’t my responsibility kind of way. Complaints were met with a passive aggressively “Hey what can I do about it?” kind of attitude. While I appreciated the phone calls to try to get us placed elsewhere and the fact that we weren’t charged for a 2nd night at the hotel, I still hold the manager responsible for the low standards of cleanliness in the hotel which is more than he seems to do himself.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded Jul 26, 2016
Dear Tappityjones, We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Of the hundreds of guests that we cater to each year, we were very shocked to read your review. I can assure you that we have looked into your situation very carefully and we have spoken to the hotel staff to determine areas for improvement. Should you return to Shearwater, we will take the time to inspect your room with you to make sure that it is up to your standards. Our apologies that we fell short of your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elderlyones wrote a review Aug 2014
arizona, british columbia122 contributions68 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on the way to Spirit Bear Lodge for several days after arriving on the ferry from Bella Coola. Because of water taxi schedules our package included a night at the Shearwater Lodge. Actually there are two lodges, and old one with tiny rooms and NO coziness or charm, and a new one on the water (pictured on their website). The new one seems to be seriously restricted to fishing charter packages. We were not even allowed to sit on the (empty) deck for a glass of wine. Kind of a new experience for us to be considered "not good enough."
Our room at the old building was very tiny but clean and the bed was good, but there is nowhere to sit except at the one restaurant (same owners as both lodges) or on the bed.
All other lodging was booked, but I will try Whiskey Cove if we go back - good reviews from multiple sources.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: be sure to ask for a private bath if that's important
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn N, Manager at Shearwater Resort & Marina
Responded Sep 8, 2014
Dear ElderlyJones, We are really sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't a great experience and that you felt you weren't good enough to frequent our Shearwater Waterfront Lodge and so we apologize if that's the way we made you feel, we just wanted to let you know that in no way do we like our guests to feel that way. Just to let you know a little about our resort, the Shearwater Waterfront Lodge is a self-contained private resort for our all-inclusive guests that pay one price for 3 – 7 day vacations that include their return flights, accommodations, all meals and activities which is all contained in the one lodge and is not open for the general public like the rest of the resort, since we have food, beverages, alcohol and items that are left available at all times to our all-inclusive guests we cannot have it available to the general public to be able to access these amenities at any time. For independent travelers we offer the Cedar Lodge for accommodations and meals and beverages can be purchased at the local restaurant and stores, and once the all-inclusive vacation trips end (our summer season for these trips tend to end in early September) then it is open and available to the general public for hotel accommodations. We hope this explains things better on how our resort community works and we really hope one day we have the opportunity to host you again. Sincerely, The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dream24371786702 asked a question Jun 2020
Armstrong, Canada
how does the tipping work?
WinterSunners asked a question Jan 2015
Quesnel, Canada13 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, is there parking available and if so, please provide cost for 31 days
Answer from RougeChefBC
Oliver, Canada71 contributions20 helpful votes
There is limited free parking. Sorry no one has answered this for you before.
Mike C wrote a tip Nov 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stay on the Pacific Lure but we can say that Roman..who runs the food at the lodge..is VERY GOOD......."
Read full review
Beerchaser1 wrote a tip Nov 2018
Vancouver, Canada4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing water and bay are excellent"
Read full review
Iso_Fam wrote a tip Oct 2018
New Westminster, Canada17 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room overlooking the water was nice."
Read full review
damiand10 wrote a tip May 2018
222 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overlooking the water."
Read full review
RougeChefBC wrote a tip Jul 2017
Oliver, Canada71 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ocean View in Cedar and Ocean front in Shearwater Lodge is best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Denny Island area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaDenny Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHEARWATER RESORT & MARINA

Frequently Asked Questions about Shearwater Resort & Marina
What are some of the property amenities at Shearwater Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Shearwater Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Shearwater Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Does Shearwater Resort & Marina have airport transportation?
Yes, Shearwater Resort & Marina offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shearwater Resort & Marina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Shearwater Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.