We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pier House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pier House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Relaxing, good food and service, made to feel you could stay all day and chat and enjoy the view. Easy to find amidst a caravan park, but not spoilt by this. Views overlooking the sea, on two levels outside or sit in if preferred. Caters for wedding functions, but not during the summer holidays. Entertainment for holiday makers in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Pier House and we hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family went to the pier house for a meal, the food was great and the fact they have a gluten free menu was even better. I could actually sit and eat my whole meal without feeling ill. Will definitely eat there again soon.

Helpful?
Thank RSTONE16
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our gluten free menu and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at The Pier House More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sea views from this restaurant are superb. We went for sunday lunch. Both the a la carte menu and a carvery were available. We chose to have the carvery where there was a good choice of roasts and vegetables. The food could have been hotter. Booking advisable as it did get very busy.

Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

That you for taking the time to offer a review of your visit with us for a Sunday carvery. We thank you for your feedback and will be sure to pass your comment onto the relevant department. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Amazing place to grab a drink or something to eat whilst watching the sunset. The views are breathtaking on the large outdoor glass fronted terrace. We went as a family - kids were very made to feel welcome. Menu was extensive - something for everyone - probably best described as good pub food but I think there's another restaurant inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank cvl333
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us at The Pier House and we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Visited the Pier House again for Sunday Lunch Carvery which is always great but the service was absolutely terrible; once finished our meals we just sat waiting for the staff to ask for the desert menu which after another 30 minutes didn't arrive so decided to skip desert and asked for the bill which we then had to wait another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devonfamily2015
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. We are sorry to learn of your experience with us on Sunday and can only apologise for the length in time that you had to wait for service. Please be assured that we take customer satisfaction very seriously and we are disappointed to learn that on this occasion we did not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Westward Ho hotels

Appledore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

The service was excellent the waiters were friendly and answered all our questions about the dishes. There is a varied selection of fish starters and mains dishes. I hope that local caught fish is available as much as possible.

Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed the crab and cod cakes. We really hope to welcome you back again soon More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

The good and drinks were really nice and they had a wide range of selection i definitely think you should go to have a lovely relaxing night out, also they serve your food amazingly quick and you do not find and uncooked bits altogether i think this restaurant is awesome

Helpful?
Thank Kaden T
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of The Pier House following your recent visit with us. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for saying you think we are 'awesome'. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch,have had better sunday lunch beef was tough,veg limited no parsnips,soggy Yorkshire would try something off the menu next time if went again,staff was good though,Great position wounderful view

Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following you recent visit with us for Sunday lunch. We are sorry to hear of the issues raised within your review. We take all feedback seriously and will be sure to pass your review onto the head chef. We do hope that this experience doesn't put you off returning to The Pier House and we... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

We visited The Pier House this evening for my birthday meal and the food was absolutely excellent. The service was also very good and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute :) highly recommended. We were very pleased that there was steak on the kids menu too. The gluten free menu was very good which is fantastic!! The Gluten free menu was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Many happy returns for yesterday. We hope that you had a great day and we are pleased you chose to celebrate your birthday at The Pier House. Thank you for your review following your meal with us and thank you also for the recommendation. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Visited yesterday & enjoyed a superb lunch in fantastic surroundings.Great menu to choose from. Restaurant decor is very good, with wonderful views over the bay. Brilliant outdoor seating areas. The staff were so friendly & efficient. We will certainly recommend the Pier House to friends & will return soon ,

Helpful?
1 Thank docodevon
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on The Pier House - Lovely to hear that your meal with us and we thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
1.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 6 in Westward Ho
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Pier House Hotel

Address: Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford > Westward Ho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing