We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queens Head

Travelocity$93*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$96*
$93*
$96*
$93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Queens Head
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Very nice pub very friendly staff, Had one night here after my grandmother's funeral, We had the barn room, very spacious nice bed modern bathroom, but some bits didn't work in the room. The food for dinner was very reasonable priced and tasted nice. Lovely view from out the back across the fields, Breakfast was very good. I would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorldTraveller82uk
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Went for Sunday lunch, never been before, what an eye opener it's like a tardis. We were served our drinks and taken to the lounge we were given a menu and told someone would come to take our order as soon as, which is what happened. When our food was ready we were taken to our table, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R4833HTmichaele
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

This is our local pub restaurant with rooms The bar area is very cosy and inviting and there is a more formal restaurant behind that Always good choices including early diners menu We had the charcuterie platter to share for starters. Lovely slices of chorizo and salami plus chicken liver parfait hot smoked salmon, crayfish tails and 2 cheeses all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2016

having the pleasure of staying at the Queens Head two years ago i booked again for four nights, again it was first class both in accommodtion and the wonderful food, Ian the owner/chef dose a fantastic job from breakfast to dinner, also the rooms are great really well pesented right down to the home made biscuits, not forgetting Helen Ian's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebigduke220953
Scotland
Reviewed October 3, 2016

I don't know where the three previous reviewers have been, but it doesn't sound like the same place we ate at on Friday night. We had the early bird menu, wide choice, all delicious and great value. A lovely white Viognier by the glass as well. Couldn't fault it, lovely rustic setting too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryds
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We very recently had a six day stay at the "Queens Head" We have stayed several times before . I had been unwell and we just knew the Queens Head would be a perfect pick me up. It certainly was. We toured a little, ate lots of lovely meals at the "Queens Head", read and slept a lot...... perfect convalescence.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katewW5818KO
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016

The food served for each of our party of three was at best graded as poor. I entirely support the previous review of my colleague. In contradiction of the managers reply to my friends report I personally complained to the person running the bar and acting as waiter. He stated he would pass on my remarks to his manager! How...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunnricknjeny
Ian V, Owner at Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you for adding you comments to the previous review. I am fully aware that you had a telephone conversation following your departure with Craig which he did indeed pass onto me. Unfortunately you didn't leave a number, nor did we have a booking with a telephone number that I could use to contact you..... I reiterate, had you brought...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We had been told many times how good this pub was so thought we would give it a try. My husbands starter of goats cheese and salad very dry no dressing on the salad. I had mushrooms with blue cheese it was very nice. My main course was sea bream which was tasteless, but nothing wrong with the fish. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazzy60
Bedale
Reviewed September 23, 2016

Having read all the reviews we were looking forward to our lunch .But what happened?The fish and chips were the worst I have ever been served ,dry tasteless and peas with no mush.I left most of it and for £12.95 a waste of good money.My friend left nearly all of his meal and his dear wife struggled with a salad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samcatBedale
Ian V, Owner at Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Queens Head. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal and wish that you had brought it to our attention at the time, either when Craig checked your satisfaction during your meal, or when he checked again as you paid the bill. The former would have...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We caught the Wensleydale train to Finghall Station and after a pleasant 15 minute walk we were at the fabled Queens Head after making our way through this lovely wee village. The bar area is delightfully rustic and fairly ' genuine' in appearance. The inn has limited accommodation, a dining room, private dining and an outdoor area with views across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rossergruffydd
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finghall
3.2 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
423 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Countryman's Inn
Countryman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Hunton
124 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queens Head

Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Price Range: $90 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Queens Head staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dundee, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Queens Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Check reviews”
Albahungry, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“did not stay”
469martinn, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Stayed in Bramble,lovely”
YorkshirePollywolly, Apr 3, 2017 | Read review
“Two new build rooms at the back - very quiet. Interior romm not seen.”
wilkinsonkevan1, Dec 22, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are stunningly quite and peaceful, with great views of the country side .”
680kevn, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$93* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
TripAdvisor$93
Booking.com$96
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates