We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee

Save
Chaltenbodenstrasse 16, Schindellegi 8834 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save More on Your Rate
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
$151
View Deal
Booking.com$151
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (74)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The business hotel Holiday Inn Schindellegi-Zurichsee is perfectly located between Lake of Zurich and the pilgrimage destination Einsiedeln. All modern 82 rooms are 28-92m2 and feature wooden floors, a safe, tea and coffee-making facilities, and a bathroom with a hairdryer. Some units have a corner bath tub in the living room. WiFi internet connection, as well as a bottle of mineral water is free of charge in each room. All 4 meeting rooms have daylight and offer great meeting possibilities up to 70 people. A wide range of grilled dishes is served at the Fuego Steakhouse. A smoking lounge is also at guests' disposal where cigars can be enjoyed. The nice spa and fitness area has 3000m2 and is operated by Shilpark Wellness AG. The pool and the spa facilities can be used by hotel guests (above 16 years) at special rates.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
177Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 52
  • 89
  • 20
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
i stayed in this hotel 9 years ago, when it was a ramada, and my stay was satisfactory now, i was not satisfied to start, lack of enough staff is a problem. the reception is almost always emty, which is unacceptable for a medium size (around 70 rooms) hotel. the receptinist has to do a lot of administrative work at the office, or clean dishes from the tables at the restaurant, so the guest need to dial an extension at the reception telephone to get the receptionist, which sometimes takes several minutes to arrive. the rceptionist was always friendly and professional when the person was / arrived there the facilities themselves do not meet the "holiday inn" standards, what you will find in the room will be "holiday inn express" level: no minibar, no air connditioned <8and lack of a fan in my case, in a hot day)... the safety box had no battery and there was no staff to change the battery till the day after (unacceptable lack of staff again) the room itself had acceptable size and decoration, good bathroom (with very limited amenities), good bed and pillows to be improved sundproofing should improve cleanliness at the room could improve. same applies to common areas the property claims to be a "spa", however, the gym is for free -a good gym- but swimming pool and wellness area have an extra charge of 56 chf. i can understand that the wellness area has an extra, but not the swimming pool the restaurant is good, but during my stay, again, there was unsufficient staff. furthermore, there was a small fire at the kitchen, which did not have any connsequences but created unconviniences as the receptioonist had to abandone her place and attend the fire brigade. due to the architectre of the hotel, it is not simple to know which stairs to use while the lifts were blocked due to safety measures after the small fire, and i spent 20 minutes waiting to know how to get up to my room by the staris the keys were continiously misfunctioning, for which the receptionist had to reprogramme it several times a day (again, waiting due to lack of receptinist at the reception) breakfast was average for the price paid dogs are accepted for a fee parking was free for me, however when you reach the barrier, there is signal saying that the cost is 15 sfr. furthermore, the carpark is confusing, many places are reserved for workers of offices in the building and it is not easy to know if the car is left in a right place or not my general impression is that the management try to save too much money in staff salaries and the guests suffer the consequences the price is average, considering that switzerland is expensive, but the hotel is located in an industrial zone 25 minutes walking from the nearest village / railway station in the future, i would avoid this hotel
Read more
A nice hotel: big rooms, decent staff, very generous breakfast. We found it to be clean if bland: it's a business hotel without a hint of warmth or charm. By Swiss standards, the price is reasonable. But then it is out in the boonies, with no public transportation nearby. Cons: Why charge guests for parking? The only way you can get to or from this hotel is by cab (150 CHF to Zurich!) or rental car. In effect, you're punishing guests for staying in your countryside hotel. I understand parking fees in the middle of a city. But this hotel is on a strip mall out in the middle of nowhere. Biggest issue: No air-conditioning. There's some b.s. claim about an "eco friendly" ventilation system. There was nothing. It was 90 degrees outside, 95 degrees in the lobby, and 100 degrees in our room. The next day, the temperatures went up. We got a small oscillating desk fan. It's 2019. Humans now realize that summers are only getting hotter. If you want guests to stay in your hotel, you have to stop pretending that global warming is a passing fad.
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee
Responded Jul 13, 2019
Hello ronhY6037IH, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad breakfast went well for you and that you found the room received spacious. I want all areas of your stays with us to be pleasant, I am sorry you found the lack of air-conditioning unit an issue. Along with your observations about parking, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. We'll surely use these as a reference during the periodic review of the property. I trust that the steps taken will improve your next stays with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This hotel is really far away from the city but the peace and quiet one experiences here is commendable. The staff was very nice. The rooms were very spacious and thankfully they have the option of opening the window. So it was breezy and cool during the summer month. The room has no view as such, just the inner square area was visible from ur window. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. It’s pretty modern and luxurious property. But a definite stop over place only as it’s far far away from the main city.
Read more
I was travelling as a member of a conducted group tour for the first time, and the tour operator had booked this hotel for the three-night stay of our group in Zurich. Everything here - reception, lobby, service etc - was different (inferior) from what I have seen in Holiday Inn properties in India (from where I come). However, the room was spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was large and clean but the water drained very slowly in the shower cubicle. Toiletries were limited. Breakfast was good - a variety of cheeses, meats, breads, fruits, fruit juices etc - but identical on all the three days.
Read more
Let's be clear from the outset - promotional pictures of ski slopes and pretty views are entirely misleading. This is a hotel in an office building off a busy dual carriageway, with no views to speak of, that could be anywhere. It's an odd place. I try to be frugal when travelling on business so took the train to Schindellegi station. I knew it was optimistic but I'd hoped for a taxi to be available there, or nearby, or for a bus as it was school time. Alas nothing was available, so I hiked up the hill. It took about 20 minutes and was safe enough, with a pavement/sidewalk up the side of the dual carriageway. It wasn't pretty though. The next morning the hotel arranged a taxi to Pfaeffikon which was around CHF40, so unless you have a car and want to pay their parking fee you'll need to budget about that much on top of the room rate. On arrival I met a receptionist who looked like a rabbit in headlights, and I was welcomed as a Spire Elite member. I wasn't asked whether I'd like a drink or points, and points appeared in my account that evening. The lobby is odd. Switzerland is all about nature and light, and the lobby was dark and dingy. Randomly, there were cars on display, a VW minivan and a Seat MPV, which seemed a bit bizarre. It's easy to get lost in this hotel because it basically occupies half an office building, you can access office areas by opening doors from corridors that have hotel rooms. Take a wrong turn downstairs looking for the lift and you'll end up in someone's office too. It's weird. I was upgraded to a junior suite, which was nice enough but had a view of the internal courtyard. Naively I hoped for a view of the lake or mountains, but the receptionist said the road noise is so loud I'd be best with a courtyard view. That courtyard had a view of weeds and the shutters of other rooms. The room had an odd layout, a triangular bath in the room, a separate WC, and an open bathroom. There was no climate control but there were radiator controls, so in summer it must get stifling. The TV in the room didn't work, it had a red light but neither remote nor TV button made it work. The hotel inspected it and offered me a new room, but I was working anyway so it wasn't a dealbreaker. The room was dirty. I wanted to run a bath, but when I turned on the water 3 spiders ran out the drain, and I then noticed that the bottom of the bath was carpeted in cobwebs. Not wanting to clean the bath, I gave up. The WC was also dirty. The walls are painted dark grey, and it looked like liquid was sprayed from a nozzle in patterns on the walls. Not intentionally, it basically looked like a previous gentleman resident tried to leave his mark on the wall, if you get my drift. Not good. The bed was comfortable enough and I slept OK. The gym was very good, run by a third party. Confusion struck though. Apparently I needed a voucher to access the gym, which reception said I got from the Spa reception, which the spa reception said I got from hotel reception. Not a good impression, and in the end the gym/spa chap let me in the gym. It's big with plenty of weights machines, freeweights and cardio equipment. I asked about using the pool and was given a pricelist for the spa by the spa reception, and when I asked about just swimming I was given a wink and a 'I'll let you in this time. Weird. The on-site restaurant is crazy money. There was no means of eating in the hotel when travelling for work, and there is no way I would bridge the CHF50+ from my reasonable daily allowance to allow me to eat their pretentious beef. It seems like a massive oversight. Luckily I went for a walk and at the other end of the industrial estate found the Moonshine pub, which was weird in itself but great value and good quality. There's also a regional minimart at the petrol station next door that could get you sandwiches and snacks, so you won't starve, but the usual worldwide Holiday Inn bar food menu is sorely missed here. The clientele in this hotel seemed to be foreign coach tour groups, which maybe explains why standards are low - they must have block bookings for the season. If I was on such a tour I'd be very disappointed. Ultimately, this hotel serves little purpose. If you're in the area, stay on the lakeside and drive the extra 10 minutes. I'll be wise to sacrifice the IHG points in future.
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee
Responded Jun 12, 2019
Hi andreww912, Thank you for taking the time and consideration to let us know about how your stay was at our hotel. We consistently strive to achieve high standards of a combined sense of comfort and happiness, I am sorry you were disappointed with the room cleanliness, amenities and and felt we failed to meet your expectations. The issues you had with some aspects of the room and service experience is forwarded to the upper management for review. We want to dazzle you with a unique encounter where you are immersed with exemplary care, management will be sure to address these points with the involved team. Your feedback is so important to us and we are so grateful you took the time out of your schedule to provide us with your constructive review. We are honored serve you, our valued Spire Elite member and we hope to have you as our guest in the future so we can provide you an awesome and amazing hotel experience that you'd expect from our brand. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Feusisberg Einsiedeln
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of SchwyzSchindellegi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Nearby attractions include Kloster Einsiedeln (3.1 miles), Escape Einsiedeln (2.7 miles), and Schafbock- und Lebkuchenmuseum Goldapfel (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Conveniently located restaurants include da Debbie al Freihof - Ristorante Italiano e Pinseria, Doppio Gusto, and Villa Sunneschy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Schindellegi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Panorama (2.7 miles).