We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Salty Dog Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Salty Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of The Salty Dog Inn
 Click to rate
Wellington New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Whangaparoa for a wedding and booked a deal on the Salty Dog Inn Site which included breakfast and 1 nights accomodation for 3 people. Modern Clean units and the Inn was fully booked with all car parks full that night . It was raining the morning we arrived so bought an Umbrella at The Warehouse next door...perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyfs4travLn
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope you will return in better weather. Warm regards Debbie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just 35 minutes north of Auckland's North Shore is the lovely little seaside enclave of Snells Beach, home to The Salty Dog Inn! The accomodation is lovely and the bedrooms are larger than most one would find at a County Inn. The Pub is a typical English Pub serving Guinness from the very traditional tap! The Bistro menu has something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wyntonalan5
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you will both be back one day soon. We say we are 45 mins north of Auckland but I like you 35 mins north of Auckland's north Shore for marketing. Take care and look forward to your safe return. Warm Regards Debbie and...

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

I had seen reviews but I wanted to see for myself, I am so glad I stayed at this lovely place, the accommodation was lovely, clean and fresh, the room was serviced every day.😊 The Salty Dog team were fantastic, friendly, helpful and you can tell they enjoy working at the Salty Dog. The complimentary breakfast every day was fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heronartist
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and your wonderful comments. We have a great team and glad you were able to enjoy our environment. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon. Warm Regards Debbie and the Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed January 16, 2017

I only had a short one night stay here with friends over the Christmas break however we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and affordable. I think some of the rooms could do with a bit of an update especially the couches in the studio rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarabNZ
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your rating and comments. Point taken, with hotels it is one of those things you are for ever spending money in different areas. Take care and we hope to see you again some time soon. Warm

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed January 11, 2017

The owner and staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs//wishes as we had just come in from fishing with ute & boat in tow. From talking on the phone to when we left we could not fault the friendly service.The unit was roomy & pleasant. We had a great sleep & a lovely complementary breakfast to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baylife132
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased we suited your needs and hope you will return again sometime. Warm regards Debbie

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Situated in the small town of Snells Beach, which is not far from Warkworth & SH1. Accommodation is in a purpose built block away from the Salty Dog Tavern. As such no noise from the pub. Separate car park too. Good clean room although the shower curtain was, for unknown reasons, missing. Giant comfortable bed. The included buffet breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alannevillenz
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly head over for an inspection of your bathroom to find out why you had no shower curtain. I am surprised you were disappointed with breakfast and again will need to ask about why this was. Breakfast come with eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon, spaghetti, 4 different cereals, orange juice, bread white and...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed December 27, 2016

The room was clean and spacious. Was a bit dissappointed as they advertised a breakfast but because we were there boxing day they didn't have the buffet but instead put 4 slices of bread wrapped in gladwrap, butter and jam sachets in the room with 2 small packets 1 of cornflakes and 1 of weetbix plus some fruit juice in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize you didn't get a room downstairs there was no mention of this in the notes. I do have the email that was sent to you via our booking engine little hotelier so I am unsure why you didn't get it. We also did advise all customer of the...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Planned a weekend getaway to snells beach and as snells beach motel was booked out Salty Dog was the next best thing. The room was tidy, clean and had everything we needed. However if we were to visit again would definitely request an upstairs room. We were woken in the morning to very loud running water while the upstairs guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katbilly
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do hope you will be back and get to stay in one of the upstairs rooms. Happy New Year.

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Lovely, comfortable room. We had a disappointing meal in the bar, however, breakfast was fantastic. So, all in all, our stay was very pleasant and would certainly recommend The Salty Dog to anyone wishing to stay in this area. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing bar meal. If you get some time could you email me so we can address this. We hope to see you again some time soon Fiona. Warm Regards Debbie

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We tried this place again as I have had fond memories of this place in years gone by . The public lounge has changed and it was rowdy and not somewhere I would choose to have a drink now. We were in a group of six in booked in for dinner and accommodation. Now the dinner we had was LOVELY!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinoeaves
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
70 reviews
3.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 22 in Warkworth
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
36 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 22 in Warkworth
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range: $101 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Salty Dog Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We satyed in room 3 in was not too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles S3813NOraym, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“we ask for studio 1, so private”
 of 5 bubbles 4765625, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“We could hear the people in the room above moving around, but not too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles AucklandWino, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“quiet room, and located near sandspit and vineyards”
 of 5 bubbles murrayd487, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“If you can't climb stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles morecambegirl60, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question