We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snells Beach Motel

Certificate of Excellence
289 Mahurangi East Rd, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Snells Beach Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late at night after travelling from Auckland airport. We were tired and it was really a place to put our head down for the night as we were off again early the next morning. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The only reason for the 3* review... More 

Helpful?
Thank BumbleBeeBuzz
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an upstairs room, which was extremely clean, well-appointed and was a pleasure to stay in. The management and staff are very efficient, helful and vert friendly. A great place to stay and highly recommeneded.

Helpful?
Thank Rob K
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying under sad circumstances. The hosts were solicitous, welcoming, warm and wonderful, even on one occasion giving us a lift to avoid us having to hire a taxi. The rooms are very clean and tidy, and the prices were most reasonable. The property is close to the shops, restaurants and beach. Thank you for looking after us so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
kathleeng_11, Manager at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Thank you the kind words, hope to see you back soon under happier circumstances. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was a little gem and our first stop and we were very happy with our accommodation. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was very much appreciated. The rooms were comfortable and homely. The kitchen was large and well stocked. The bathroom was clean and tidy. We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend to all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
kathleeng_11, Manager at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Stephanie, we look forward to see you again, Regards Jo More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

The unit we had was spacious, clean and tidy with full kitchen facilities. Free wi fi was also included. Staff were very friendly and helpful - had a good knowledge of the area. This motel was an ideal location for day trips to the many popular beaches/places in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Dianne61_11
kathleeng_11, Manager at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, kind regards Jo More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The room was very nice well appointed , The people running it were very friendly. swimming pool and spa pool, 10 minutes to Matakana and wineries. just across the road from restaurant's and shops walk to the beach would happily stay again

Helpful?
Thank dav014
kathleeng_11, Manager at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Jo More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Our room was on the ground floor, clean and tidy. Amenities worked. Had a bathroom for disabled which suited us well. Safe environment, quiet. Some neighbour guests had a bbq outside our room and the smell drifted through the closed window. Staff were helpful and pleasant. The motel is opposite eateries - all very tasty and ranged from a licensed... More 

Helpful?
Thank hbaw
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. See you next time. More 

Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We stayed in the Snells Beach Motel for one night in a 2 bedroom suite. It was surprisingly spacious and well set out. There is a wrap around balcony with sea views. I recommend asking for upstairs rooms if possible. The room was very clean and tidy and the fit-out modern and still new looking. The kitchen was very functional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Camblake
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Cam. It's always so gratifying to have 5/5 guests. It makes all the hard work, so worthwhile. See you soon. Cheers, Robin More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Pros: - Clean and tidy - all amenities apart from an oven but has a microwave - good location opposite shops - Friendly owners - fairly close to the beach Cons: - My bed in lounge not very comfortable, a hospital bed (workings underneath) mattress kept slipping off bed (we were put in disabled unit, only noticed later, we weren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandals_n_the_sand
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Just to clarify the points you raised. All our WiFi is free, I'll make sure that compendium is corrected - if only it was free in all large hotels ! I'm sorry your electric bed was not to your specs, we will certainly review it, and as always it will be replaced if that is the... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This place is always good and staff are so friendly and helpful. We have stayed here 4 times. We always come back to this Motel - so convenient to go to Matakana markets, wineries or just walk along the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
kathleeng_11, Manager at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Susan. We always try so hard to please. Make sure you phone us next time for our SRG rates (Special Repeat Guests). Many thanks, Jo More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
3.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
11.2 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
15.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Snells Beach Motel is only 50 minutes north of Auckland, near Warkworth and Matakana Coast Wine Country. 12 stylish self-contained one and two bedroom unit/apartments. Swimming Pool. Located a short stroll to safe swimming beach, adjacent to shops and restaurants. Close to stunning beaches & parks, famous vineyards, farmers market, Kawau Island ferry & Goat Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Snells Beach Motel

Address: 289 Mahurangi East Rd, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range: $90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snells Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Snells Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snells Beach Motel Motor Hotel Snells Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay