We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Old Colonial

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 232: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The food is very reasonably priced, with a good choice of drinks. We went in for a meal primarily and found the menu to be varied with a good choice of meals at very good prices. The staff were friendly, and service was quite fast.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped here for 3 nights. I was pleasantly surprised by actual hotel. I believe there are 9 rooms attached to the pub. The rooms are very spacious, clean, modern looking, good views and a big bathroom. We had a nice view of the sea as well. The only downsides, were you could hear people in the other rooms and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark1966
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

How can so.many staff and management not know what's happening around them food maybe ok if you got what you ordered lack of any management and organisations directson needs a new management team urgent

Helpful?
Thank Dave P

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible service and terrible food. Was also very dirty. Could do with employing staff other than teenage boys! We were made to feel like serving our food was a hassle and had to ask for sauce which was delivered when we'd nearly finished our meals.

Helpful?
Thank Kean016
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have often had a latte at the Old Colonial but we will not be going back again. I went to the bar to order 2 lattes as usual. A young man was moving chairs outside and putting out menus. He eventually came inside to serve me. He did not wash his hands but took 2 glass latte mugs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeto45
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had room 1 was very spacious and clean with lovely view's of the seafront, bed very comfortable with good tea and coffee facilities,en-suite very clean and quite roomy the shower was lovely with loads of hot water.Breakfasts very good but if you wanted extra sausage and bacon you had to pay an extra pound,my husband had extra each day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I often come for food at the old colonial and ten times out of ten the food is fantastic but 9 times out of 10 I'm severed by a little boy/girl with short black hair and glasses takes 30min for my order to be taken then u get dirty glasses always rude breath smells like an ash tray (an yes... More 

Helpful?
Thank barnsjhon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a Kickboxing/Karate summer course weekend away in Weston. From reading all the reviews I was concerned about staying here however due to being so last minute there was no where else available so I went for it! Our bedroom was massive & modern! Two double beds, loads of wardrobe space, working TV, desk area, drink making... More 

Helpful?
Thank emilyrosetay94
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi emilyrosetay94 Thanks for the review and what a title to lead with... I'm really pleased that you had such a nice stay with us and I shall pass on to the staff your compliments of how polite they were. The rooms here at the Colonial are big by normal standards. I shall raise with the housekeepers about paying a... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had room number 1 with a sea view. Room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed, tea making facilities, nice size ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price and was freshly cooked and tasty (full English with toast, also cereal and yoghurts available). Would stay here again when in Weston 😎

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Jenny B I like the little smiley face... It's great to read you would stay here again, and thanks for the positive comments. I shall pass on to all the staff your review. Next time you choose to stay with us please book directly through the hotel mentioning this review and I'll be happy to give you a 20%... More 

Anglesey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights for the Wurzels and the cider festival. We were in room 8 and had a nice side view overlooking the sea. The stairs (no lift) kept us fit lol. The room was clean and roomy. The breakfast was excellent. A full cooked breakfast. The staff were also very helpful. I had one problem with my evening meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanwales
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi jeanwales Thanks for the great 5 star review. It is always nice to get positive feedback. I'm glad we could help towards burning of calories with the stairs.... I'm glad you thought the staff were helpful and we dealt with the mentioned issue quickly. It is excellent to hear you would stay again and I hope you choose to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#11 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay