We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moorhayes House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macclesfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moorhayes House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Moorhayes House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 21: English reviews
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week and I loved the twin bedroom room that I was given (for single occupancy). Room was big enough for me although it might be a little small for double occupancy. Nice and comfortable beds, clean and dry carpets & towels and a very pleasant host. Breakfast was excellent every morning. They also provided a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran S
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Thanks very much Kiran. We enjoyed having you to stay. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all this is a clean place with an excellent breakfast. That's the only positive, the owner seemed to have issues with personal space and quizzed me a number of times. The place is treated like their house and you shouldn't be there even though you are paying over the odds to stay there. I would not stay again... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pete s
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

This is a b and b and our home - no confusion there. Many of our guests like to chat, although occasionally guests prefer to keep themselves to themselves. We don't know who this reviewer is, but presumably on this occasion we got the balance wrong so can only apologise. Don't understand the comment about personal space, but our guests... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thanks Moorhayes House for our wonderful stay. This was the best breakfast we've been offered in the UK...absolutely del;icious. Our host Helen has been very helpful with directions and maps. We'd be happy to stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank KazBeau
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. It's always a pleasure having guests from Australia. Helen More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was driving down from Scotland to stay a night here. I was delayed and as travelling alone I couldn't phone ahead to say I’d be late. I arrived at 10pm (which was after the 9pm cut-off) and rang the bell but there was no answer. I admit that it was my fault for arriving late and therefore missing my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stevensonag
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Yes, we do ask guests to arrive by 9 pm. This is our home, and we think it is a reasonable request. Obviously delays happen - we accept that, but normally guests let us know. On this occasion we could not contact the person concerned and went to bed at 10 pm, having decided that the guest was a "no... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

From Oct 2011 to May 2012 I stayed at this B&B Mon - Fri as I was working in the area. It was first class. Helen and Roy, the proprietors, are excellent hosts. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. I would recommend this establishment to anyone looking to stay and explore the local area. Always a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with everything... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme D
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Thanks very much Graham - we enjoyed having you to stay. All the best, Helen and Roy x More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a nice b&b but we were staying for a week at a time.on the checkout times it says 10.30 but at 10.10 I had a very loud banging at the door it was the owners partner who come across very rude and told us to leave so we will not be staying here again so if you are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Centromatt
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Wow! Just found this (Jan 2012). Very sorry to have caused such deep offence over what was a minor misunderstanding. However, I don’t do loud and especially I don’t do rude, but I do – direct. I would be glad to share a nice cup of tea and a calm chat if you pass this way again. Roy More 

Loanhead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our group stayed at the Moorhayes whilst visiting a friend in the area. The accommodation does 'exactly what it says on the tin' and provides excellent bed and breakfast facilities. The owner, Helen, was very welcoming and ensured we were happily settled. The room was clean and had everything we needed as our base for the weekend. The breakfasts were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MetallicAl
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review. H More 

Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Helen was an excellent host and made myself and my companions most welcome right from the moment we arrived. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our two night stay. The cooked breakfasts were absolutely fabulous and set us up well for the day ahead. In fact we're going back to Macclesfield in August 2009 and will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Snerk68
Helen H, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Macclesfield. H More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Moorhayes was a good location for my entire family of 16 to stay while in the area for a family party. It was one of only a few places with enough rooms to accomodate all of us. It was fine for the 2 nights we were there, but would not recommend it as a base camp for a longer stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank L0vie
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

Please note, anyone reading this review, that we do NOT accept pets. My husband is allergic to both dogs and cats. On this occasion, the guests turned up at the door with their dog, not having asked in advance. As my husband was away, I allowed the dog in rather than make it sleep in the car, but this will... More 

Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

What a horrid place. I first was put in a room so small and dreary I just could not stay in. I told the lady to move me or i was taking my group and we were moved. She had put us downstairs in the worst rooms she had. We were the only guests. Up stairs where she moved me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank certifiedtraveler
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this review

I accept constructive criticism, but I remember this woman well. She was the most difficult guest we have ever had, finding fault from the moment she entered our home. She was placed in the single room because she had insisted in advance that she wanted the cheapest room (we only have one single). When she complained, she was upgraded at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macclesfield hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
0.5 mi away
Chadwick House Hotel
Chadwick House Hotel
#8 of 8 in Macclesfield
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Macclesfield
3.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly welcome at non-smoking guest house just north of Macclesfield in Tytherington. Ample car parking. Free wifi. All rooms with small en-suite shower rooms, TV, tea/coffee facilities etc. Hearty full English breakfasts or lighter alternatives. One single room, four doubles, two twin rooms and one family room (double and single bed). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorhayes House

Address: 27 Manchester Road, Macclesfield SK10 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Price Range: $46 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhayes House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Moorhayes House Macclesfield, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing